Cefiro Club

ongteckweng said:
chris...back from sg? got anything? hehe
mine are aluminium...

nlexis...i do have the front n rear bumper from 3.0...both r in mid condition...of course needs new paint coz its in original blue...interested? hehe...

No time leh!... By the time I got my wheels sorted out, already late. Got there only in time for supper. Sunday, just spent time with friends...perf shops all closed... :(

Your friend still got that momo?

ignition coil is broken?

i have send to tan chong last saturday fr tuning, they told me the ignition coils are broken, 6 of them. i also find out tat my car totally no power when i pick up tat moment, somemore when i run til 140.....the engine start vibrate, something inside my engine got cho....cho.....a light pick up....cho....cho.....then when push more harder....the engine totally lost power, vibrate.........

the technician told me is ignition coil, bt they say need replace 6 of them. tanchong selling rm289 fr 1 unit, v6 need 6 unit, outside spare part shop is selling rm175 each.....

i have check wth my foreman, he say ignition coil if broken cannot check.....just replace all of them....anybody could help>??:retarded: :retarded: :retarded:

coz i need to 100 percent sure wats the main problem? will becoz the sensor?

anybody pls...

patersonia said:
i have send to tan chong last saturday fr tuning, they told me the ignition coils are broken, 6 of them. i also find out tat my car totally no power when i pick up tat moment, somemore when i run til 140.....the engine start vibrate, something inside my engine got cho....cho.....a light pick up....cho....cho.....then when push more harder....the engine totally lost power, vibrate.........

the technician told me is ignition coil, bt they say need replace 6 of them. tanchong selling rm289 fr 1 unit, v6 need 6 unit, outside spare part shop is selling rm175 each.....

i have check wth my foreman, he say ignition coil if broken cannot check.....just replace all of them....anybody could help>??:retarded: :retarded: :retarded:

anybody pls...

Firstly...the procedure for ignition coil check has been posted. Whilst I have not done it myself, I can vouch that, as an electronics professional, this IS the correct way to check discharge coils. The difference is only in the value of the resistance.

Next, when they say "broken", do they mean physically broken or just not firing properly? Cos the coil pack has a long neck leading down to the spark plugs, and I have broken one or two of them before removing them to replace my plugs. After a number of years, the plastic becomes brittle, and you have to remove them very carefully.

Finally you said "a light pick up". What does this mean? Did you have a dashboard warning light? And if you did, which light was it?

What your description implies is that you somehow triggered the knock sensor. A lot of vibration, and then you push harder and then lose all power implies that your car went into "limp" mode in order to protect the engine. What we must determine now is HOW you managed to trigger the knock sensor.

I have no idea if misfiring coil packs will trigger the knock sensor. I suppose it is possible if you miss repeatedly and the fuel somehow ignites at the wrong time causing mis-firing or back-firing. This is because I HAVE NEVER PUSHED MY CAR FURTHER IF I DETECT MISFIRING OR IF AN ENGINE WARNING LIGHT COMES ON!!!

It is a sure way to destroy your engine...

You have to check the coil packs again. If they are broken, then there's not a lot you can do. However, I do have one or two pieces of old packs with me that you might be able to scrounge the long neck off and reuse your original coil pack. If some are burnt out...and to my knowledge, I have never seen ALL 6 burn out together at the same time, then my spares may come in handy.

AND DO NOT PUSH YOUR ENGINE LIKE THAT AGAIN WHEN THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG!!!

patersonia said:

anybody pls...
bro pater...u wanna change engine izzit? hehe...coz usually ppl wont push the engine when theres a prob...fix it b4 doin a fast lap!!!

anyway, if u r sure its the coils...get it from chop shop! lawcc got those for rm60 each (i think) and if it dont work, just return it to them for a new one....worth a try coz with rm175, u might as well get a VQ25DE engine! :evil:

try to contact lawcc and he might be able to help u...cheers

0123 said:
hey guys
went to genting on friday
my tyre kena a SCREW O.o"
blardee screw punctured my tyre on the way downhill on the highway
was with colin lol the tyre cannot repair wor :S
i think cause the screw too big.
anyone got any idea?
if not order 1 new tyre :S $100+ O.o"
0123 ..wah everytime u come back from aus sure go to genting huh..... maybe 1 day we go up together .. enjoy coffee bean there .. hahaha

pater, in your quest to identify which ignition coil is faulty & it's subsequent replacement, take my advice...find a mech that's pro with cefiro & get him to buy from your preferred spareparts shop rather than yourself. otherwise, you'll be in hot soup when a situation like mine happens. here goes...if you've read my created posts, you'll notice that I experience vibration/jerkiness when idle. it was a result of changed plugs but the earlier mech knew nuts about cefiros (and bear in mind that i didn't pay peanuts...so shouldn't expect monkeys doing it!!). they swore by their bloody heads that the plugs were fine. yet, after sending to a new mech that changed the plugs back to my old ones, whoalla!! the prob's solved! fyi, the new plugs were original as attested by TC. the ratings were correct. it's NGK Platinum TFR 6G-11.

now, the supplier rebutted my claims by saying for electrical stuffs, no warranty. coupled with the delay in informing them, it's impossible to make claim from their supplier, they say. however, the delay was attributed to the 'monkeys' that told me to "try & see for another few days-lor.." afterwhich the new plugs were installed resulting the vibration problem. after voicing out my dismay, they revert back asking me to check which plug out of the six I bought is faulty. WHAT??!! which mech will do this dirty & time-consuming job? (unless no business) it's not a mere un-plug & re-plug affair. yet, they have the audacity to ask this...jeez..i suggest that we should create a sticky for "blacklisted suppliers/mechs" coz i know a lot of us went thru' this stage, right?

you see, the essence of the story is that you check price, ask your preffered mech to buy from that particular shop & subsequently install it. if the parts don't work or cannot rectify the apparent problem, suppliers must accept the returns. if not, no mechs would not even pay (coz they have credit terms), let alone to buy again from them. and mechs talk around...they would spread the news fast amongst themselves when such a case happens. in short, the mech's bargaining power is significantly above ours (consumers).

now, i'm awaiting the autoparts shop's response from their supplier. fingers crossed that they won't "tai-chi" me around. otherwise, i'm bringing this matter up to the consumers tribunal court for my due refund!

patersonia said:
wah, brother, then is becoz im too fat sitting inside ur car is it? anywhere u fit ur tyre already? anything tat need my help just give me a call? ok? anywhere tat's a nice trip, thanks to u n i really appreciate about tat. :_: :_: :_:
beauty cefiro a33.....:_: :_: :_:
no problem hehe we go again with cgui? hehehe
no la better we all cruise up genting?
wan? lol

ongteckweng said:
0123...if sidewall, no cure..have to get new tyres...
r u sure the new tyres only rm100++? more likely around rm200+/-

hey its not at the side wor it punctured the middle like that
anyway its around 160 RM i think
its the stock tyre came with the cefiro wan lo
i want to change all la haha but no $$ haha
put18" lol but $$$ saving it for Y pipe n K&N air filter

defcon1 said:
Only way to use it is to put in a rubber tube, like the old days. It will allow you to use it like normal, but unlike tubeless tyres, it will deflate the moment you get another nail...

Still...it will allow you to maximize the use of your tyre until you are ready to get another one.

Also, NEVER just change one tyre...ALWAYS change them 2 at a time, or all four together. You need to balance the left and right tyre wear to keep your car in balance... :)
hey thanks
i think i'll just put the right back tyre for spare and put a new tyre there
so both rear tyres are new
cheers and thanks for the tips guys :)

0123 said:
no problem hehe we go again with cgui? hehehe
no la better we all cruise up genting?
wan? lol

this time is no go together, this time is each member drive his own feilo to genting, n c who is the loser at last. then he need spent all the member fr coffee beam ice blender mocha plus 1 pcs cheese cake......:_: :_: :_:

patersonia said:
this time is no go together, this time is each member drive his own feilo to genting, n c who is the loser at last. then he need spent all the member fr coffee beam ice blender mocha plus 1 pcs cheese cake......:_: :_: :_:
can i join? hehe

0909 said:
here goes...if you've read my created posts, you'll notice that I experience vibration/jerkiness when idle. it was a result of changed plugs

So what I guessed was right, huh!!!! New plug can have problem too...

ongteckweng said:
if u r sure its the coils...get it from chop shop! lawcc got those for rm60 each (i think) and if it dont work, just return it to them for a new one....worth a try coz with rm175, u might as well get a VQ25DE engine! :evil:

try to contact lawcc and he might be able to help u...cheers

Hehehe I did not replace my coils yet, I did ask mechanic to get 6 pcs of coils to test, but the result was the same, so still pending.....I even bring my ohm meter to spart parts shop to test the new coils resistance level but the reading is about the same as mine. So may not be coils leh.....

patersonia said:
wa wan like this meh lol
dangerous la brother lol.
too many cars
i think go steady better lol
actually my kar 2.0 la 150hp only after 1 corner will stuck there cannot move wan lol like turtle lol.
if want we can organise lo haha but if many cars maybe we go starbucks there better cause the first world there got jockey area allour cars can park there
then can promote cefiros :)
shall we start a genting convoy trip?

0123 said:
wa wan like this meh lol
dangerous la brother lol.
too many cars
i think go steady better lol
actually my kar 2.0 la 150hp only after 1 corner will stuck there cannot move wan lol like turtle lol.
if want we can organise lo haha but if many cars maybe we go starbucks there better cause the first world there got jockey area allour cars can park there
then can promote cefiros :)
shall we start a genting convoy trip?

ok wat, the 2.0, very powerful as well. no bad, park at jockey? sure very expensive 1.....dont think the 3.0 is really powerful, mayb my engine got some problem....bt auto really no tat powerful if compare wth manual.......hopefully can convert my 3.0 auto to manual 1 day....bt less hopes.......

:Not_Impressed: :Not_Impressed: :Not_Impressed:

patersonia said:
ok wat, the 2.0, very powerful as well. no bad, park at jockey? sure very expensive 1.....dont think the 3.0 is really powerful, mayb my engine got some problem....bt auto really no tat powerful if compare wth manual.......hopefully can convert my 3.0 auto to manual 1 day....bt less hopes.......

:Not_Impressed: :Not_Impressed: :Not_Impressed:
pater...3.0 has a rated power of 210hp while 2.0 has 150hp...try to fix ur car's prob n c the diff between 2.0 n 3.0....:evil:

the driving style would be diff compare to manual but u would be suprise how fast the 3.0 can reach its top speed although its auto...

ongteckweng said:
pater...3.0 has a rated power of 210hp while 2.0 has 150hp...try to fix ur car's prob n c the diff between 2.0 n 3.0....:evil:

the driving style would be diff compare to manual but u would be suprise how fast the 3.0 can reach its top speed although its auto...

Here's a little tip...

Accelerate to cruising speed with "OD OFF" .... set "OD ON" only once you have reached the top of the speed band of your gearbox.

"OD OFF" is similar to dropping 1 gear in a manual car. Use it when you need to accelerate harder than usual...like when you are overtaking.

so guys .. when r we going to organize a convoy to genting? joey's wife will be expecting anytime .. want to wait after delivery or before? u guys decide .. i know 0123 & my place to genting only takes about 45 minutes ..

cgui said:
so guys .. when r we going to organize a convoy to genting? joey's wife will be expecting anytime .. want to wait after delivery or before? u guys decide .. i know 0123 & my place to genting only takes about 45 minutes ..
after delivery la coz later half way up...his wife wanna give birth susah lor...:smile: