Cefiro Club

ongteckweng said:
after delivery la coz later half way up...his wife wanna give birth susah lor...:smile:

No problem, leh...I'm a trained Zoologist...for real... :laugh:

If got issues, just put on long rubber gloves, reach in and pull out by foreleg lor... :laugh:

defcon1 said:
No problem, leh...I'm a trained Zoologist...for real... :laugh:

If got issues, just put on long rubber gloves, reach in and pull out by foreleg lor... :laugh:
usually dream's wife wont come one...stay @ home....
scare get emergency call halfway up the hill....:biggrin:

then it shall be after :)
colin i think if someone can contact the jockey at the firstworld hotel there
then tell them when we going
probably can park for free.
and i think usually it is free also.

cgui said:
so guys .. when r we going to organize a convoy to genting? joey's wife will be expecting anytime .. want to wait after delivery or before? u guys decide .. i know 0123 & my place to genting only takes about 45 minutes ..

when almost the member can join wth us, i really hope to drive up to genting n sit at coffee beam there have a nice ice blender mocha. :_: :_: :_:

ongteckweng said:
usually dream's wife wont come one...stay @ home....
scare get emergency call halfway up the hill....:biggrin:

got emergency also no a problem, coz some brother told me tat the feilo 3.0 can go til 240km/h, sure can arrive in hospital o any medical centre wthin 15 minutes.....more faster then bi bu bi bu.......:retarded: :retarded: :retarded:

defcon1 said:
Here's a little tip...

Accelerate to cruising speed with "OD OFF" .... set "OD ON" only once you have reached the top of the speed band of your gearbox.

"OD OFF" is similar to dropping 1 gear in a manual car. Use it when you need to accelerate harder than usual...like when you are overtaking.

if set the od off, wth wasting the petrol o no??:emoticon_U: :emoticon_U: :emoticon_U:

0909 said:
pater, in your quest to identify which ignition coil is faulty & it's subsequent replacement, take my advice...find a mech that's pro with cefiro & get him to buy from your preferred spareparts shop rather than yourself. otherwise, you'll be in hot soup when a situation like mine happens. here goes...if you've read my created posts, you'll notice that I experience vibration/jerkiness when idle. it was a result of changed plugs but the earlier mech knew nuts about cefiros (and bear in mind that i didn't pay peanuts...so shouldn't expect monkeys doing it!!). they swore by their bloody heads that the plugs were fine. yet, after sending to a new mech that changed the plugs back to my old ones, whoalla!! the prob's solved! fyi, the new plugs were original as attested by TC. the ratings were correct. it's NGK Platinum TFR 6G-11.

now, the supplier rebutted my claims by saying for electrical stuffs, no warranty. coupled with the delay in informing them, it's impossible to make claim from their supplier, they say. however, the delay was attributed to the 'monkeys' that told me to "try & see for another few days-lor.." afterwhich the new plugs were installed resulting the vibration problem. after voicing out my dismay, they revert back asking me to check which plug out of the six I bought is faulty. WHAT??!! which mech will do this dirty & time-consuming job? (unless no business) it's not a mere un-plug & re-plug affair. yet, they have the audacity to ask this...jeez..i suggest that we should create a sticky for "blacklisted suppliers/mechs" coz i know a lot of us went thru' this stage, right?

you see, the essence of the story is that you check price, ask your preffered mech to buy from that particular shop & subsequently install it. if the parts don't work or cannot rectify the apparent problem, suppliers must accept the returns. if not, no mechs would not even pay (coz they have credit terms), let alone to buy again from them. and mechs talk around...they would spread the news fast amongst themselves when such a case happens. in short, the mech's bargaining power is significantly above ours (consumers).

now, i'm awaiting the autoparts shop's response from their supplier. fingers crossed that they won't "tai-chi" me around. otherwise, i'm bringing this matter up to the consumers tribunal court for my due refund!

thanks fr ur advise, i really appreciate on tat, if i replace wgth denso platinum? will it b different if compare wth NGK platinum?

patersonia said:
if set the od off, wth wasting the petrol o no??:emoticon_U: :emoticon_U: :emoticon_U:
haha erm well when od off high rpm so more petrol used lo
thats what i think hehe :P
engine working harder to give u the boost ma lol
but must know the od speed limit lo
if travelling too fast dont switch to od off
i'm not sure thats top speed for od off but ya i know 2nd gear 140km max edi
but dont recommend anyone to do it lol.
kills the gearbox n car :S

patersonia said:

Actually, if you know how your gearbox responds, accelerating with OD off is more efficient. Cos you are optimizing the efficiency of your gearing ratio.

When accelerating from a low speed...

With OD off, your car would accelerate faster, hence, you would depress the accelerator pedal less. Once you reach the comfortable limit (not the absolute limit) of your gearbox, you switch it on, and your rpm drops allowing you to cruise normally.

With OD on, you would press harder on the accelerator pedal, and basically waste fuel trying to accelerate faster.

Actually, this is one of the skills you need to train if you drive a car with an OD function... :smile:

defcon1 said:
Actually, if you know how your gearbox responds, accelerating with OD off is more efficient. Cos you are optimizing the efficiency of your gearing ratio.

When accelerating from a low speed...

With OD off, your car would accelerate faster, hence, you would depress the accelerator pedal less. Once you reach the comfortable limit (not the absolute limit) of your gearbox, you switch it on, and your rpm drops allowing you to cruise normally.

With OD on, you would press harder on the accelerator pedal, and basically waste fuel trying to accelerate faster.

Actually, this is one of the skills you need to train if you drive a car with an OD function... :smile:

That is an interesting observation defcon. I shall try it. Btw, the ride is ok at the mo, so I'm just gonna let it slide and pray that all is well.

Btw bros...I was told recently by a Sentra owner (who used to drive a Toyota) coincidentally, that the Nissans are prone to gearbox problems so the chap took out an extended 3 year warranty from TC even though he bought the car used over a year ago.

Any truth to that claim, you guys think?

Spyderco said:
That is an interesting observation defcon. I shall try it. Btw, the ride is ok at the mo, so I'm just gonna let it slide and pray that all is well.

Btw bros...I was told recently by a Sentra owner (who used to drive a Toyota) coincidentally, that the Nissans are prone to gearbox problems so the chap took out an extended 3 year warranty from TC even though he bought the car used over a year ago.

Heh...playing with the OD on/off button is the one thrill you can get out of an otherwise boring auto gearbox... :laugh:

Gearbox problems? Well, I haven't heard anything alarming. I do know that my mechanic friend in SG changed his gearbox recently. His is an A32 2l 1999 Cefiro. Then again, it could be his driving style. He could teach Schumacher a few things...

Certainly nothing in the same horror class as Protons, Mitsus and Subarus....

But, certainly, the general opinion is that they are not as reliable as Toyotas. This again, could be plain sentimentalism as Toyotas are known to be "reliable".

I have heard two mechanics say that the Cefiro gearbox is very strong...how so, I didn't think to ask at the time.

BUT, also consider that in my encounter that 40 footer trailer, my front left tyre exploded immediately after it was mashed by the trailer's wheel...my rim hit the ground and shattered (not easy considering it was a Sebring), my lower arm bent back as the knuckle bent...ripping the drive shaft out of the gearbox at 160 kmh...

...yet today, the gearbox functions just as well as before the accident. Certainly the initial impact must have compressed the drive shaft into the gearbox. Also, the rim shattering would have jammed the drive shaft's rotation a moment before it was ripped out...

...I'm quite convinced that a lesser gearbox would not have survived...

cgui said:
so guys .. when r we going to organize a convoy to genting? joey's wife will be expecting anytime .. want to wait after delivery or before? u guys decide .. i know 0123 & my place to genting only takes about 45 minutes ..

Bro! Thanks for thinking of me....

Yup! my wife now is really "big"!! seriously...scary...can't imagine she can be this big before! hhhhh

Spyderco said:

I think everyone that drives a car hope that they will not see a toasted gearbox....Truth is that i think i heard the equal amount of horror stories from any brand of cars....

So, i think it's about how you take care of your gearbox, your driving style and a bit of luck.

So far, i've not come across any database that shows number of toasted gearbox vs. make of cars so far.

(I'm interested to build one in ZTH though!! hhhhh)

Let's call for TOM!!!

Start a Voting page, user have to key in data but has to make sure it's valid and authentic claims though!

Well....my driving style when i'm real in the angry mood....

OD/OFF first...
Gear all the way to L, full throttle and burn some Hankook rubber and till it hits 5500rpm, push gear up to 2...
(let off throttle a bit to let the 2nd gear engage smoothly)
Then hold the bloody 2nd gear till 5500rpm which will put me about 130~140km/h...i think! hhh don't really look at speedo but more on the RPM though....
3rd Gear would bring me to about 180~190km/h.....(thumb on the OD button now)
4th Gear will be all the way to 250km/h but RPM now about 4000RPM....can push somemore.....usually running out of road....hhhhhh

And boys and girls.....before doing this stunt...change your gearbox oil every 30,000km or lesser ok!!!
Else you can kiss your gearbox goodbye in no time!

Oh....actually i don't get angry alot these days...(Petrol price cools me down...)

Hmmm...so far, all I've ever built are very powerful gas guzzlers... :sad_smile:

Maybe for my next project, I should try to build a motor that runs on vapour...would be an interesting project. Probably have to re-think everything I know about internal combustion engines... :smile:

dream.tent said:
And boys and girls.....before doing this stunt...change your gearbox oil every 30,000km or lesser ok!!!
Else you can kiss your gearbox goodbye in no time!

Oh....actually i don't get angry alot these days...(Petrol price cools me down...)
dream....convert to LPG lor...even cooler...:biggrin:

hhhh, ya. 30km per tank full. Diu.
I better put a trialer like LPG tanker. Then think how to make the tank aerodynamic.