Carburetor Section

gavan said:
i dunno? beats me....

eh? "huh?" you studying in MMU ka?? ahahaha, going back too often susah rite? =þ toll also mahal liow..petrol samor...i sure pengsan wan =( ehhehee =þ really miss the food there lo....

hehehe...im studying at lagenda college..around nilai arrr...ya lorrrr...the toll price is high..plus fuel price is shoooting up like a rocket..uwaaaa..

bio fuel for can replace the diesel if i not mistaken..

summore the combustion style of petrol and diesel is different...but my lecture said some developed country doing research by adding in ethanol to reduce the petrol consumtion..but dunno how the end result

yes hatta... u r right....... now US are investing heavily in brazil n other countries to plant corn corps... these corns are used to produce methanol (like fermentation of malt to produce alcohol)... pumping of alcohol is used widely in CART Championship over the States... as addition of alcohol can increase the octane number drastically..

mrmm...from what i learned... alcohol ( etanol, methanol,bla bla bla ) is a much better fuel than petrol itself...it burns faster...

gavan said:
that silver thing with the cover is called your AFR screw, it is use to control the air-fuel ratio that is fed into your engine =)
If i wanna adjust the AFR screw, which direction should i turn? Which turning direction makes it too lean or too rich? And any precautions or advice from you guys regarding about this matter will be accepted. Thanks for your time.

fats said:
If i wanna adjust the AFR screw, which direction should i turn? Which turning direction makes it too lean or too rich? And any precautions or advice from you guys regarding about this matter will be accepted. Thanks for your time.

when you turn it and you noticed your engine is slowly starting to stall, then its leaning out of the fuel, then if the RPM increases then you are making it rich :)

tips to tune?

off your engine turn your AFR screw to the tightest you could, then unscrew it bout 3 rounds. then start your engine and adjust the idling screw(the biggest one there for proton) make sure the idling is stable(around 900rpm? dun forget to rev the engine abit each time you do an adjustment)

then you slowly adjust your ARF screw lo lean it...noticing the engine sound each time you turn the screw wether the engine pings(knock) turn it till you notice a drop in RPM(like the engine is choking) then turn the screw half way out(richen it) then it should be okie laa after that, adjust the idling again then you should be fine. do tune it after driving a while to suit your needs =)

if you feel the RPM is hard to climb (eg:it only climbs at early RPM then the engine feels like it doesnt wanna rev) then you should richen the fuel mixture a lil more =)

hope this helps....

just my two cents....if any sifoo out there got better tuning method please help our fren here too ya +)

huh? said:
mrmm...from what i learned... alcohol ( etanol, methanol,bla bla bla ) is a much better fuel than petrol itself...it burns faster...

ey? sure anot? then if i put some bombay sapphire/dewars/chivas into the petrol mixture the car can jalan anot ar?

gud ones la gavan......

add a bit...if it involved tuning don't forget about timing also...advanced(clockwise) or retard(anti clockwise) the distributor....if got timing light more keng......:shades_smile:

gavan said:
ey ey, back to the fuel pump, so if i wana upgrade fuel pump what type i should get? external fuel pump rite? what type aR? or maybe brand ke someting, at least i got a slight idea whats it like lo =)

get external fuel pump.
high volume low pressure (4-5psi)

i`m using carter rotary fuel pump
crt-p4070_w.jpg

hey bro...how much did you bought it???i need an external fuel pump badly cause my standard pump is failing me..haih..

gavan...muahahahaa...how bout you give it a try first??

dont get me wrong...when i said alcohol..that means PURE 100% alcohol...no the ones that can be bougt at the bars...hehehe..those alcoholc drinks is not 100% alcohol right?? ( i dont drink btw, so i dont know.. )

bro i'm a carbie user is we use or electric fuel pump instead of ac pump,wat is the max pressure for it?and can we put fuel pressure regulator?

erictan30 said:
bro i'm a carbie user is we use or electric fuel pump instead of ac pump,wat is the max pressure for it?and can we put fuel pressure regulator?

u can use fuel regulator since I know ppl who use weber + fuel regular set around 32 psi :_:

huh? said:
gavan...muahahahaa...how bout you give it a try first??

dont get me wrong...when i said alcohol..that means PURE 100% alcohol...no the ones that can be bougt at the bars...hehehe..those alcoholc drinks is not 100% alcohol right?? ( i dont drink btw, so i dont know.. )

the only high contain alchohol i heard so far was absinth which contains 80% alchohol in it :_:

anywayz, so bout the fuel pump thing, i would need to get a high volume low presurre pump am i right? is there anyways like what master cookie has said wether we could use a fuel pressure regulator to control the pressure of the pump and sorts? or the main thing is to get a high volume low pressure pump?

gosh, this pump pump thing is really confusing me, i think i go pumping on bed also easier :shocked: hehehee :confused_smile: kidding bro.... :X-:

i want to ask all carb sifu inhere...hope this is not a stupid question...
i'm using 4G37 engine and its original carb as well... recently, a friend of mine told me that my carb can be modded to get extra power kick-in while cruising above 3k rpm like mivec or vtec system when it kicks-in. I'd say the feel and surely not the power...

My Qs...

1. What to do with the carb? (i asked my mech but he refused to answer, he just said "bagi je aku buat, ko rasa je nanti carb ko power")

2. Any side effect on doing this modification?

3. How about the FC?

4. Is it can be restored easily to standard back if i'm not satisfy with the modification i.e the FC is too high?

Thanks sifuuss....