actually, i feel what jeremy says has its valid points. He provided a third party and totally independent point of view of the kelisa (though he is kinda sacarstic). While other car manufacturers are already producing cars that not only cheap and reliable vehicles and breath takingly designed, malaysian's proton/perodua are still struggling to produce a car that is reliable and problem free. Already the basic fundamental issue of quality is still elusive to Proton/perodua, need we mention about design? The designs that comes out from proton/perodua are kinda simple and sometimes even ugly (like the savvy, juara, waja, tiara, arena). I don't know who we should shot first, the designer or the person who approved the designer's plans for production. Yes, u might argue that perodua came up with MyVi but then again this is designed and produced by Daihatsu/Toyota. If the kelisa had a soul, it would be cursing the designer who designed it in the first place instead of cursing Jeremy.
All in the name of national pride that we wanna have a national car.
All in the name of national pride that Proton/Perodua was established.
All in the name of national pride that imported cars are marked up 100% to 300%.
All in the name of national pride that some people can't even afford to buy a car in Malaysia.
All in the name of national pride that we are mostly stucked with poor quality Proton and Perodua.
All in the name of national pride that we are have to pay an average of 24 months total salary for a poor quality car that we don't want and we don't like.
So i ask now, is national pride worth all this? Furthermore, what was at first supposed to be our national pride has now become a national shame. We should not live in denial, jeremy delivered the plain and painful truth. It is like the story on the King and his invisible robe (i forgot the title of the fairy tale liao, the one where the kid was the first one who laugh at the naked king) and Jeremy is one of the little kid who laughed at the naked king. So once in a while, we just have to swallow our pride and face the hard truth and not live in a make believe world. We Malaysians are buying the Kelisa (and other Proton models) not because it looks nice nor performs good, but because it is cheaper. If given a choice between the Kelisa and mini cooper (if prices are nearly similiar), which would u choose?
It is now about 20 years that Proton was first established (that is 20 years of paying so much for our cars due to taxes) and yet what has been delivered? Wira, the most sold model of Proton, has been on the market now for about 10 years but with minor cosmetic changes it was re-launched countless times as a "new model". In terms of product life cycle, 10 years is a very long time for a car model. And even worse was the cloning of the front of the Wira onto the Aeroback, Satria, Putra, and latest was Arena! 20 years of closed protected market has brought Proton to this. One wonders how well Proton would have managed if the protection was taken away. I watched a documentary on Singapore on the Discovery. One part they was highlighting was SIA. When SIA was first established, LKY simply told the company that it was to be run as a profit making company and so if SIA made losses, the govt would CUT IT OFF. So look how well SIA has been doing with minimal protection (et's save MAS for another thread).
Sorry if i ruffled any feathers here, but let this be a point for discussion.