Calling BeeMer's & Volvo owner, helppp!

Mell74

Dear all,

I considering to get myself a BMW E28 525i or a Volvo 740 Turbo, usual question

1. What FC would like?
2. Which will cause a bom to maintenance?

I need a comfortable and good power car to bring my family to travel long distance journey at lease every 2 month and this going to be my 1st car so really need you guys input in choosing the correct one.

Thanks.

Regards.

both are good cars, but u need to think bout spare parts, as its almost obsolete here....if there is, it might cost a bomb......i mean, are u ready/prepared to fork out $$$ for those spare parts? what if u cant find it? u have to leave your car at home while u search for parts, as well as sacrifice your time.........

for me, i suggest y not go for proton or perodua, at least parts are cheap & easily sourced.

well thats just my suggestion.......its your $$$..

both are good cars, but u need to think bout spare parts, as its almost obsolete here....if there is, it might cost a bomb......i mean, are u ready/prepared to fork out $$$ for those spare parts? what if u cant find it? u have to leave your car at home while u search for parts, as well as sacrifice your time.........

for me, i suggest y not go for proton or perodua, at least parts are cheap & easily sourced.

well thats just my suggestion.......its your $$$..

I understand what you mean bro but this is the only time I have a chance to own a nice continental car, you get what I'm saying?! Yes, Proton or Kancil will be the best option for that kind of budget but I would prefer to buy Nissan or Toyota...

Anyway, I put in my consideration on your suggestion, thanks bro!:biggrin:

below are some of suggestions bro.

1. merc 87-89 280se http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...1-calling-beemers-and-volvo-owner-helppp.html
2. BWM 728I 84-85
3. honda inspire / legend
4. BWM 520i/525i http://www.mudah.my/BMW+E28+525i+Imported+Model+with+sunroof-7368959.htm - this looks cool though.
5. audi http://www.mudah.my/Audi+A100+V6+2+8-7388165.htm
6.alfa romeo. http://www.mudah.my/Alfa+155+2+0+8valve-7329877.htm

below are some of suggestions bro.

1. merc 87-89 280se http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...1-calling-beemers-and-volvo-owner-helppp.html
2. BWM 728I 84-85
3. honda inspire / legend
4. BWM 520i/525i http://www.mudah.my/BMW+E28+525i+Imported+Model+with+sunroof-7368959.htm - this looks cool though.
5. audi http://www.mudah.my/Audi+A100+V6+2+8-7388165.htm
6.alfa romeo. http://www.mudah.my/Alfa+155+2+0+8valve-7329877.htm

Thanks bro. Looks likely I'm going for 525i or 740 Turbo only. No way touching 280SE, Inspire/Legend, Audi or Alfa..:banghead:

i agree, i would go for the 525i as well, is the a 520i? roadtax should be cheaper though...:)

Dude,
If u interested in 740 T, why not consider 850 sedan/wagon instead.
Volvo 850 T5 (Sedan or wagon) is just great..
volvo_850_t5-r_btcc.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2756/4451099642_059c64232a.jpg

Great source of reading if you're considering 850 T5, or its younger brother S70/W70 T5.
http://other-roads.blogspot.com/2009/04/bmw-e-28-535i-us-spec-loving-review.html

I drove 850 T5 (sedan) my self and extremely satisfied..
Driving balik kampung with full load inside the boot and 4 adult + 1 teen, I still managed to take over cars which at same time taking over other cars, summore it was along extremely bumpy bentong-raub-Lipis road... Hahaha..

More review from owner who been just 2 weeks driving wagon version (review was a few years ago)
"A Fantabulously Fantastic Vehicle for Family or Play"

or,

From its outlook, no one in my place would think the car can go fast. People in my age range are addicted on fancy sport cars
made in Asia countries. But the fact is that I always smoke away from those so-called sport sedans in the highway.

If you interested in volvo, my advise is, look for the T5 badge..
4450298627_4582b4e903.jpg

Car sold, but if u want to look-look at the pics;
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...volvo-850-t5-turbo-sport-wagon-yr-1996-a.html

Can do search in Mudah.

Hope gave you enough "racun" already.
Hepi hunting and gud luck from Me and my 850 T5...

but Mell74's budget is less than RM10k,
how much is the T5 840?

used to drive my dad's 940 turbo. really powerful! FC quite ok la. the turbo really helps to control the FC since u dont have to press the gas very hard to get to speed u want. as for the maintenance, as usual, 'kedai potong' la bro. 940 turbo halfcut is roughly RM5k-8K.

my dad still using a 940 but a twincam n/a engine. i bought a BMW Ci but it seems my dad 'owns' it rite now. i might take his 940 n turbo-charge it!!! :burnout::burnout::burnout:

im a co owner of a volvo xc90 t6, i would say, im pretty suprised what a volvo could do, prior to that, our family usually sticks to cars from mercedes-benz range.

in my opinion, volvo's are more safer, car is basically equipped with mostly safety thoughts than sporty fast feeling. but dont get me wrong, it can be a fast vehicle, the volvo 850 turbo wagons are crazily fast!

but yeah on the side note, volvo's hardly have oem parts, mostly original and can cost a bomb, but it lasts a long time, as you pay what you use

bmw, you can still find oem parts, which is cheaper, but bmw can be a hassle, banyak masuk workshop

if you want a reliable conti with a nice pricetage, try a mercedes 230e w124, its a bomb proofcar, watch fifth gear about them trying to drown the 300e wagon, lol

Hey, trying asking the VOCM members abt 740....m very sure that they will be delighted to help u to decide....http://www.vocm.com.my/forum.aspx
Me, m driving Volvo S80 2.0T year 2000.....i sold off my wira EVO 3 coz m getting old oredi + family man oso. BTW i hv been driving the volvo S80 for more than 2 years now....i spent abt RM 12K on overhaulin the whole engine.....no complains. Now i dun have to worry abt road blocks anymore ;-) vvvvrrrrooommmm ppppssssttt

but Mell74's budget is less than RM10k,
how much is the T5 840?

Do u mean T5 850?
850 stndard (850 gle) mayb available from http://www.mudah.my/Volvo+850-8038881.htm. Average is 15k. Nice one may hit more than http://www.mudah.my/Volvo+850+20v+Auto-7568802.htm.
850 T5 double the average gle, around http://www.mudah.my/Volvo+850+Wagon+T5+Turbo-8063471.htm-35k.
As yr earlier reply, Mudah.my - The marketplace of Malaysia is good place for Mell74 to do a survey.

Mell74,
Maybe u may top up few k to keep 850 gle first, and convert T5 later on once you richer.. hehehe..

please note that 850 gle is 2.5 L engine whilst T5 is only 2.3 with lower road tax but more power whether at low or high speed. Standard gle may feel heavier to gain speed from static or from very low speed, but once hit 50kmh above... well, hope u know what i mean.

Now, back to your earlier idea of 525i and 740 turbo and your budget. My sense is both car are quite at same par maintenance and FC wise (just my sense though). Not to sure bout their power and handling. Seem many kaki old 525 or 740 (non-T) end up throwing 1JZ under the hood to satisfy their power desire. Plus, they want 740 for its RWD (850 is first volvo with FWD). Maybe more communication with GABrally will help as he drove both 740T and BM.
For the same age of car, maybe u should put Merc into consideration also..

If you prefer 740 T, my volvo mechanic fren did inform of availbe 1 unit for sale, at Kg. Medan. Inform me if want to look-look. I even can drive you there (in my T5... hehehe) if you interested and time is right. But I have to check first as it hs been two weeks i contacted him..

cheers..