BT20V Engine Question

chuckie

my friend using bt20V engine in his seg. when he the rpm reach 3k above, there's a sound coming out from valve cover. normally the tapet will giving sound but this one more louder. any recommend mechanic in seremban area?

please check with mech... recon migh be the VVT has a problem.

Disconnect cable at Oil solenoid or VVT solenoid...

n then try again with VVT disabled...

if the sound disappeared ...most properly due to VVT system...main suspect...VVT pulley...

if soun still there...need to do reshim i guess...check valve clearance...

FYI..20V didn't use any tepet...they use bucket under shim...:driver:
hence the sound maybe the VVT pulley or engine knocking sound...

Usually below 3000rpm its normal to have the diesel sound, but if half-throttle at below 3000rpm, the sound will disappear. If you are hearing sound above 3000rpm, then there's something wrong with the VVT pulley or maybe the engine is pinging (knocking). Knocking will sound like someone is knocking the engine with a screw driver.... LOL

most probably vvt pulley.. i did face the exactly same problem as you mention.. n after changing the pulley, the sound went dissapear..

hehe the sound will disappear and will apear again in some times.....

best way to test out is wit wat bro chinozie said ....unplug the VVT sensor cable ....then u test.....if problems still occur u try see ur distributor timing got lari or not lor .....