Broquet

Dr.D

Anyone with experience on broquet?experience in :
1) milage
2) knocking
3) performance
4) octane
the chemopetroleum changes that occur in the process..
do chip in the discussion

no one has any idea on brouquet?

ok la,, just a preview in view there increase in fuel prices

Briefly, Broquet is a metallic catalyst that reacts with fuel resulting in an improved combustion process, reductions in carbon emissions and an improvement in fuel consumption ( typically 7 - 12% ). It is equally effective with petrol and diesel engines. It can be used on cars, trucks, buses, marine engines and static plant such as generating sets and oil-fired boilers. The catalyst is simply placed into the fuel tank or held in a cartridge that is connected into the fuel line. As well as providing a cleaner combustion process the catalyst will also have the effect of removing carbon and gum deposits in the combustion chamber and inhibiting the build up of further deposits; this means reduced engine maintenance. For cars and smaller engines a single installation would be expected to outlast the life of the engine. For trucks it is suggested that the catalyst pellets are replaced every 250,000 miles or every 6,500 operating hours in a marine environment. The initial cost of the unit is soon recovered in fuel savings. For a car these savings can amount to several hundred pounds over the life of the engine and several thousand pounds for a larger truck or marine engine

In summary, the Broquet benefits include:

Reduction in fuel consumption
Reductions in exhaust emissions including CO2 (for both petrol and diesel engines)
Lower smoke on start-up, especially in marine engines and agricultural equipment
Increased engine power - Reduction of tendency to "pink" (detonation) in performance engines
Guaranteed conversion of leaded petrol engines to unleaded petrol
Cleaner combustion chambers and components - Less maintenance - More responsive engines

If you're selling broquet... you better come up with better facts than that.

The broquet website exerpt :

How does it work? Scientists do not fully understand the exact catalytic mechanism that takes place....

Anyone who dares to post this sort of comment as one of their selling points I'd dismiss as snake oil.

Broquet has been around since World War 2 and they were factory fitted into fighter planes. If you're telling me scientists have taken so many decades to not understand how this catalytic process takes place then all the more likely it's snake oil!

Also, this add-on thingy isn't cheap. Not like 'air-compressors' of yester-years where they just cost a small sum for simple testing and have huge claims. If this item is so fantastical, why haven't car manufacturers embraced it?

CO2 emissions is a really big deal in some countries (some even charge tax based on how much CO2 you emit) so if I were a manufacturer, instead of spending billions in research why don't I just install a broquet in my cars instead? Then cars like the VW bluemotion concept and all these hybrids can close shop and petrol cars can live happily ever after. Woohoo! Not.

do i sound like a sales man to u? the reason i came up with the topic is to discuss the issue. if i wanted to sale brouquet , it would be on skyline sale forum. now, anyone else with experience of this catalyst?

In that case my apologies if I came across as rude.

the question is if its effective why dont all car manufactures fit them as a oem in their cars?

u have a point. maybe because the catalyct reaction is still under study? but how did the broquet company claim that the scooby wrc cars are using it..

Have a read.

http://www.fuelsaving.info/catalysts.htm
http://www.fuelsaving.info/debunk.htm

Personally, I find it hard to believe Scooby would resort to using this sort of device to ensure its cars would perform better with lower octane fuel. Haven't they heard of knock sensors? 5th Gear did a test on the different octane levels and their test car was the Scooby. It performed quite decently with RON95 and did even better with higher RON. Also, this Broquet needs to be replaced every x-number of miles, so I'm quite sure you'd find it in the Scooby manual to change "broquet" right?

@ Izso, reading the article from the link that you provided almost gave me brain damage in the morning... hahahahaha... good info though...

anyway, i am a bit skeptical that a device can 'reduce' fuel usage but maintain performance, in a performance car.

how can less petrol possibly translate to equal amount of power?

we are not talking about replacing petrol with another type of combustible fuel here.

this is like saying if i cut down my rice intake from 3 bowls a day to 2 bowls a day, i can still have the same amount of energy as always. :hmmmm:

of course, from 3 bowls to 2 bowls is like a 33% drop so it does not reflect the 'fuel-saving' ratio of the fuel catalyst claims. however, i believe the logic is the same.

on the other hand, i also don't think a majority of the drivers out there (including myself) care a lot about saving fuel.

we still leave our car and aircond running while we wait for our spouse/partner, children, friends, etc.

we don't car pool.

we take long, scenic, and some, very fast drives to makan angin on the weekends, complain about expensive fuel and then do it all over again the next weekend :biggrin:

I don't know how this broquet thing functions but as many have said earlier, if the stuff is a miracle the it is also a miracle that no big manufacturer made them oem for their vehicles.

The ultimate fuel saver is to drive a smaller cc town car and pump in ron95. :biggrin:

if the fuel can be catalyct, why dun fuel company like shell, esso dun catalyst before we pump to car?

How about adding octane booster? Heard some UK gtr owners add this to their tank of petrol before going on runs... :hmmmm:

Can powerfc have 2 map setup ie. 1 map for ron95 and 1 map for ron97? Or is that only available with higher end ECUs?

How about adding octane booster? Heard some UK gtr owners add this to their tank of petrol before going on runs... :hmmmm:

Can powerfc have 2 map setup ie. 1 map for ron95 and 1 map for ron97? Or is that only available with higher end ECUs?

That would be great!!