race/high octane fuel formulas

• See what others are reading now! Try Forums > Current Activity
  • Search function more powerful with google results! Try Search

am_izham

Known Member
Oct 17, 2004
Kota Bharu
Visit site
i found this on the net long time ago. i have forgotten where i get this from. all i remember is that i did a search on "homebrew octane booster".

has anybody here done this before?
are any of these chemicals available for purchase here?

p/s: don't ask me anything. i'm not a chemical engineer.

Fuel Formulas

Please note that I would NOT suggest that a person use the following fuel mixtures without considering the detrimental effects on their engine, vital engine components (O2 sensor, etc), and other potential damage. That said, the information is interesting.

Fuel Formulas

Formula #1 - Toulene
R+M/2.........114
Cost...........$2.50/gal
Mixtures with 92 Octane Premiums
10%...........94.2 Octanes
20%...........96.4 Octanes
30%...........98.6 Octanes
Notes: Common ingredient in Octane Boosters in a can. 12-16 ounces will onlyraise octane 2-3 *points*, i.e. from 92 to 92.3. Often costs $3-5 for 12-16ounces, when it can be purchased for less than $3/gal at chemical supply houses or paint stores.

Formula #2 - Xylene
R+M/2.........117
Cost...........$2.75/gal
10%...........94.5 Octanes
20%...........97.0 Octanes
30%...........99.5 Octanes
Notes: Similar to Toulene. 12-16 ounces will only raise octane 2-3 *points*,I.e. from 92 to 92.3. Usually mixed with Toulene and advertised as *raceformula*.

Formula #3 - Methyl-tertiary-butyl-ether (MTBE)
R+M/2.........118
Cost...........$3.50/gal
10%...........94.6 Octanes
20%...........97.2 Octanes
30%...........99.8 Octanes
Notes: Oxygenate. Very common in octane booster products. Has lower BTUcontent than toulene or xylene, but oxygenate effect makes the gasoline burnbetter and produce more energy.

Formula #4 - Methanol or Ethanol
R+M/2.........101
Cost...........$0.60 - $1.75/gal