brake pads..

chris, what is the price for the green stuff & yellow stuff?

Hah, thought about kacau a bit, too late, Chris2000 oledi done it.

The Prelude / CTR / ITR front brake setup mod is very popular with SG's EGs and EKs. If someone, or some shop sezs no need to machine the Prelude / CTR / ITR front caliper's bracket to fit your EGs / EKs, only using some washers.....eeekkkk! Can be done, but seriously, it's not that safe, and machining about 5mm off from the caliper bracket is seriously less than RM 100 per set of two, and safer too. And yeah, the discs hafta be redrilled to PCD 100. Chris2000 got lobang for a good, trusted machining shop for this work. Also, better skim the discs at the same time, and better yet, put about 6 - 8 grooves per disc, this helps in cleaning up the pad a wee bit, and look damn cool too. Make sure the grooving work is only about 1/2 inch deep ( or so, I forgot ), and length of grooving must keep a minimum of 1 inch clearance on both grooving ends, please dont groove all the way to the outer and inner part of the braking area.

I've wanted to do this for sooooo long oeldi ( since 8 months ago ) but as always, car mod fund is always running short. Sheeesh!

To make the mod even better, upgrade to Goodridge's SS brake hoses ( oso from Chris2000! ), pads to EBC Yellowstuff or Redstuff. To maximise the potential of your brake mod even more, change the master cylinder to Prelude or Accord's ( I think it's the biggest you can find, and is fitted without major mods, only have to realign the steel brake pipe ), and please use a minimum of dual layer brake pump too.

Only slight understeer ( due to bigger discs ), but damn cool to see the caliper and disk filling up your 15's. And the braking powah, fuh! At least 20 - 30% better than standard and costing you way less than one piece ( yes, one piece ) of Spoon's 4 pots.

Car mod fund running short? hahhaa.. I hear you brother.. me oso ATM.

Yup.. the CTR brake upgrade was one of the mods that I'm really happy of at this stage... still the stock pads just doesn't feel so nice you jam the brake pedals hard.. juddering oh! (it's not the disc, confirmed) but maybe it could be due to me using semis, so instead of the tires locking up, the brake material comes off onto the discs.

But instead of buying the discs and calipers, I've opted for the whole knuckle set.. first time went for alignment, the shop was looking worried since all the settings were way off.. more than the normal EG sedan's factory settings.

The steering is a tad more responsive when using the knuckles.. I think something to do with the caster.. but not sure.

About buying those pads,
Still got 3-4mm of material left.. hahah.. not so soon oso.. :P

Bro Shiroitenshi,

Just wondering if you still have the border 304 for sale.
Call 016 222 7787....cheers

Anyway, you should pm me instead of asking in this thread.. this one about brake pads la.. :P

Got... but complete set from after cat to muffler, not muffler only, and it's for an EK9.. Not really recommended unless you have a EK hatch, since you'd have to cut and extend it if you're using a sedan.. which sort of defeats the purpose of finding a complete, unbutchered version of the bordermax 304s.

recently i changed my car brake pad from stock (nissin) to bendix metal king plus...no longer available in the market i think.quite cheap...RM45 for front.

at first it produce a lot dust but after two weeks i used it...dust is minimal.i never put it on test yet....eerr i mean try to do emergency brake (since my car is baby of sea snail...a lot slower than shiro ride),but for current experience it quite good actually.its grippy.

other experience from my fren,driving WISE...he said BMKP is very good compare with proton stock brake pads.but later on it takes toll on brake rotor.somehow his brake rotor got eaten a bit BMKP.got obvious line on it.

bendik raja besi..
thats what i use for now..
better than stock one..

so far quite ok for me...(single cam engine)

u use which type of raja besi? metal king gold or titanium? the ti strip will harm the rotor.

you hear so many things about metal king plus. some say earlier from australia la, now locally made and so forth, though i would not argue with the better performance for the price u pay. i was using it also on my daily driver, front and rear. The amount of brake dust is terrible. When i changed the front one to ebc red, u can clearly see the amount of dust on the rear rims compared to the front. bearing in mind that the force on the front is harder i was surprised to see the diffrenece

Anyone tried Endless and EBC pads before? Like to hear your opinion...

I had used EBCs and quite a few more race grade pads from Jap and German. But not going to comment coz people will always think i'm biased.. hehe :shcokedcamo:

i've tried project miu, mintex, ebc, nissin, metal king with 5 lugs ek9 ...so far ebc is the best!!!

endless, nissin, project miu with 4 lugs ek4 ... endless is the best!!!

I had used EBCs and quite a few more race grade pads from Jap and German. But not going to comment coz people will always think i'm biased.. hehe :shcokedcamo:

True.. since you do represent one of the brands.. but just post it anyway.. It's up to the readers what to make of it.

Actually what is different about the pad categories, like blackstuff, redstuff, greenstuff, yellowstuff?

Compound?
Dust?
Anything else?

And I've always wondered about those backing plates.. any special meaning/feature to those aftermarket ones?

shiro, try it all!!!!! he he hehhh

gi mampos!!! :P
hehehe..

how many pads do you change in a few years anyway? .. unless you mean those pads that used by women. :P

Mine so far only one year plus, because in one year plus, mileage = 50K kilometers + already.. :P
All with just oil + filter change + fuel.

I think most honda fans would have noticed if not for the fact that my car looks bone stock outside.. a regular EH2. :P

How many times go around malaysia oso dunno how to count already..

all above stated changed since 2001 to 2007, from standard engine EJ6 to B16A to B18CR, and last year i change DBA gold rotor slotted/holes!!!myself also travel a lot last time and my disc quite fast warped....everytime i skimmed my disc i will change the pads together!!!!

on current DBA rotor i've used mintex, project miu blue colour 550 deg and now ebc black stuff

all above stated changed since 2001 to 2007, from standard engine EJ6 to B16A to B18CR, and last year i change DBA gold rotor slotted/holes!!!myself also travel a lot last time and my disc quite fast warped....everytime i skimmed my disc i will change the pads together!!!!

on current DBA rotor i've used mintex, project miu blue colour 550 deg and now ebc black stuff

How much did you get the DBA rotors for? The 4000 series is it? for five lugs?

Project miu discs looks good, but a bit too expensive for my tastes. :P

ermmm i bought it at RM1100 DBA Longlife Gold Rotors for EK9 5 lugs, not the 4000 series!!

project miu rotor the cheapest can buy at ss racing at rm850 to 900 if i'm not mistaken