Brake Pads

crazievitek

Hi folks,
what brake pads are you guys using? I'm using EBC Black Stuff for my EK and find that the pads don't really have enough bite to stop the car efficiently sometimes. Perhaps the compound is too hard?

go for EBC green stuff ... semi race brake pad ... but price not to sure. this one u need to warm it up first to assured the efficiency .. this brake pad can stand up to 300 degrees celcius .. correct me if i'm worng.. red stuff pun very nice but price of course more xpensive from green stuff.. more for track purposed (hard and frequent braking)

http://www.mintex.co.uk

I tested this myself on both fast road and track using my EK. Nice for late braking. There are local race teams which use them on MSS & MME. If it can last brutal braking for 12 hours on track cars, it should be sufficient for you.

Price might be a factor. The CTECH 1144 model (track use) costs about RM650 for the front pair. Cheaper solutions would be Metal King, Endless or EBC.

I've used Metal King before and find that it screeches a lot. Every time I step on the brake, I feel like there a mouse stuck in the wheels. :p

How much is endless?

I use endless before bought rm300 plus per set .Performance good
but too many dust.
Now using Mintex at front and metal king at rear
..performance also OK , not too many dust
price cheaper than 2 set of endless...

I've noticed that one of the advantages of using EBC is that it produces very little to no dust at all.

udengfahlawi said:
am using EBC too....no dust...very good for people like me who very lazy washing rims...heheheh...:D

Which model are you using? How do you find the bite of your brake pads? Is it enough?

crazievitek said:
Which model are you using? How do you find the bite of your brake pads? Is it enough?

am using the green stuff....ok lor, bsides i'm not driving so fast....slow car lar not like everyone's else car...if u feel not enuf, mayb need other upgrade kot?....like better caliper...or mayb change to steel braided lines, etc....

udengfahlawi said:
am using the green stuff....ok lor, bsides i'm not driving so fast....slow car lar not like everyone's else car...if u feel not enuf, mayb need other upgrade kot?....like better caliper...or mayb change to steel braided lines, etc....
Steel braided lines won't really help improve on making your car stop faster. It just helps your brakes to still work, even at extreme high temperatures.