Boxer engine.. that good?

If you prefer to get new car instead of grey import, then the Motor Image WRX is a good deal - you get peace of mind, and the after sales customer service from MI is excellent. Also, the WRX can be easily be modified to get the same if not more power than the stock STi.

But of course the WRX EJ205 engine is not as strong as the STi EJ207 engine. It appears that although you can easily get 280+hp at the wheels on a WRX, the life of the engine will be greatly shortened at those power levels. So if your objective is more than 280hp at the wheels, then the STi engine is the way to go.

so WRC impreza doesnt have the boxer sound because of the header izzit ? surely they modify it for better performance rite ?

But the WRC cars will have the ant-lag sound! :D

Anyway, if you're interested in the history of the WRX engine and mechanicals, there is a short article here:

http://www.spdusa.com/wrx.htm

In short, Subaru's boxer engine was first developed in the late '60s by Porsche (who at that time were the leaders in race engine technology). Subaru then evolved the design over the years until the current EJ20/25 series.

The reason Subaru sticks to the boxer design is because it is a perfect fit for their symmetrical AWD technology. Because Subaru is a small niche player (compared to the giants like Toyota) it has to be different to be attractive - and Subaru is the only car manufacturer in the world to offer AWD in all their vehicles as standard.

yesterday saw one white Rex in bandar sunway... ouh.... cant stand the sounds?
is that true that Rex is hard to maintain and the parts are expensive compared to normal jap cars?

actually subaru n other car maintenance oso d same la...juz petrol mahal sikit n d spare parts mahal sikit lo...and when service ..d minyak use mahal so one time service need bout few hundred...

actually lost of pple have thinking that subaru parts are very expensive and hard to get...

but i think honda and mitusbishi parts is just as expensive loh,
if you live in jb like me, you can get parts for the sccooby from Singapore, which is aplenty in Sg..

wetsprocket said:
If you prefer to get new car instead of grey import, then the Motor Image WRX is a good deal - you get peace of mind, and the after sales customer service from MI is excellent. Also, the WRX can be easily be modified to get the same if not more power than the stock STi.

But of course the WRX EJ205 engine is not as strong as the STi EJ207 engine. It appears that although you can easily get 280+hp at the wheels on a WRX, the life of the engine will be greatly shortened at those power levels. So if your objective is more than 280hp at the wheels, then the STi engine is the way to go.

Actually, I will be really happy to have 200hp at the wheels. That's why the MI WRX is a nice choice for me. But currently trying to sell off my Altezza first. :D

DJmobile said:
actually lost of pple have thinking that subaru parts are very expensive and hard to get...

but i think honda and mitusbishi parts is just as expensive loh,
if you live in jb like me, you can get parts for the sccooby from Singapore, which is aplenty in Sg..

in that case i think i should do more homeworks then decide about it later.i always go to chop shop and it seems that there are very less Rex stuffs around compared to honda n mitsu.for me some honda parts are expensive if we are talking about Type R stuffs, others than that it is just a normal jap cars.

same stigma like conti cars especially alfa, my gf using it, some parts are hard to get and it is costly, and of course parts in SG is aplenty and cheaper, things that im in KL.and yeah, the driving pleasure is much more better than Jap cars, but comes to maintenance, kinda headache.but so far it is acceptable.just my 2 cents.

anyway, anyone can let me know whats the regular maintenance of Rex looks like? is it just like another japanese turbo cars or much more complicated? any significant common problems? honest review needed thank you.

Will78 said:
Actually, I will be really happy to have 200hp at the wheels. That's why the MI WRX is a nice choice for me. But currently trying to sell off my Altezza first. :D

what's the reason of selling the altezza?..it's good isnt it?

It's good la... great handling with the TRD sportivos... but it's an auto and i really couldn't live with that. I thot I could... sigh...

the sound of a boxer create an identity on a car.
impreza has very beaty sound...
993 turbo sounds like nak mati..but it flies

Im sorry.. i doubt the unequal lenght headers produce the 'boxer throb'.

I see a MY04 Rex everyday with Tomei EQUAL lenght headers and has an even more pronounced boxer throb.

And the V configuration, whether 60deg or 90deg is not more efficient than an inline-6.

F1 uses the V configuration due to space. Try to line 12 cylinders or 10 or even 8 in a straight line.

A flat engine or boxer engine or horizontally opposed engine is a type of engine where the pistons lie horizontally opposed, with pairs of cylinders on the left and the right, as opposed to most modern engines where all pistons are inline, or the alternating pistons are positioned in a "V"-angle.

Experts distinguish between V-at-180° engines and real boxer engines (horizontally opposed engines). The horizontally opposed engine has one crank pin per piston while in the V-at-180° engine two pistons share the same crank pin.

The benefit of using an horizontally opposed engine engine versus a V engine is that it provides perfect balance because each piston's movement is exactly counterbalanced by the corresponding piston movement of the opposite side. These engines can run perfectly smooth and free of vibrations with a four-stroke cycle, regardless of number of cylinders, and do not require the counterweights on the crankshaft to balance the weight of the reciprocating parts which are required in other engine configurations.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/d/de/Boxer_engine_diagram.jpg

Automobiles and motorcycles powered by a flat engine generally have a lower center of gravity, giving better stability and control. However, these engines are also wider than normal engines and are more expensive to build than traditional engines and, thus, are not widely used by automobile manufacturers.

The flat configuration fits very well with air cooling and aircraft engines. Air-cooled designs such as in the VW Beetle used a flat-4, as did the Porsche 356 and 912. The Chevrolet Corvair used an air-cooled flat-6, a rarity in American designs. Both the older and newer models of the 911 use a flat-6, at first air cooled but later models water-cooled. These automobiles placed the engine in the rear rather than the front, where its width would not interfere with the steering of the front wheels; the use of air-cooling obviated the need for connecting the engine to radiators, as well as reducing the weight even more.

Subaru, on the other hand, uses water-cooled front mounted engines, of flat-4 and flat-6 design, although referring to them as an "H engine". Ferrari used a 180° version of the Colombo V12 on the Testarossa and Berlinetta Boxer models. Air-cooled flat-twin engines were used by Citroën in their model 2CV and its derivatives, while the Citroën GS used a flat-4, and a flat-6 was proposed for the Citroën DS but rejected due to impractability. BMW uses a flat-twin in many of their motorbikes