Reliability of 4G63T and EJ20

Guys, need some help here. How reliable is the 4G63T and the EJ20.
My father is planning to get a 2nd hand Evo 4/5 or an Impreza V5/GDB.
Why he wanted to get these kind of cars ? cause i told him that the engineering in these car are way ahead of their time and serious techs is implied into the cars so he agrees with my suggestions.
(He is going to use the car as a daily transport. I dont want him to feel regret after getting the car)

Which 1 is more easier to maintain, the boxer engine or the inline 4 ? avail of workshop, which engine is mechs friendly and avail of parts.

What lubrication system is the Impreza using ? normal like inline4 or a different one.

The chances of a break down. Better to get one which is modified or a stock standard ?

Izit good to buy a 2nd hand one ? What should i be looking out for if buying a used unit eg.turbo unit, cooling system and what other else ? I have no experience in both of these cars. So owner's feedback is very appreciated.

Dont flame me pls really, I'm not making this topic out for fun really.

go boxer bro.. ;) bunta style.. not a childish remark.. but.. ur dad will look like some punk unker in evo.. ;)

both the maintanence are costly la.. so.. dont count that part.. ;)

Guys, come on pls help me. I dont want to compare about the looks just want to compare the engines.

Honestly if you are going for driving feel, the impreza is more fun to drive than the evo imho. But when you are talking about maintaining the car, the parts for the scoob its abit more difficult to find and more expensive, even if u can find the parts it takes maybe days to get the parts. So Evo parts are much more easily source.

I know a Subaru specialist.
And he said expect to pay good money for maintenance. More than evos.

I let my father take a glance on both of the cars. He like the Impreaza more than Evo cause its looks much mature.

Is the avail of after sales service for Subarus wide. I only saw one Subaru SC in KL. So quite worried also.

4G63T is a well proven engine... built to last... a very long time... except itchy fingers pushing 500hp on it with stock internals.

boxer engine not many tuner around town ler.... mitsu engine got la alot... even some bawah pokok mech also claim can repair... haha...

easier to maintain, evo....
nice and cool look, scooby....

go with the inline four.obviously flat fours of the boxer is not as common as an inline four.easier to maintain too.

u guys ever own suby gc8.lemme tell u 1 thing i had own 1 but there seems to be many problem with gc8.i dont know bout gdb but most thing ive read bout ej20 engine problem so far would be MAF sensor and ISC valve.think again bout spare parts and stuff before buying.

Suggest you post this question in both Subaru and Lancer owners forum for better answers.

One question : does your dad drive outstation a lot? If yes the answer is clear; he'd want a car with better coverage of mechs who know the engine - 4G63.

Prozac, is there any local Subaru Forum ?
So in terms of maintainance the 4G is better than the EJ lah.
Is there any common problem with the 4G ?

PROZAC, I HAVE FOUND THE FORUM FOR sUBARU ALREADY THANKS FOR YOUR ADVICE.