Better Door Closing

well, from what i know the door lock and the latch will somehow dislocation after sometime, due to the body roll, accident ....blah blah blah....

So those mech will try to knock them back, re-screw it.....blah blah blah......

ken12292703,

wanna ask you about that bitumen paint you mentioned....

will it hardens when it dries up??

I did the screw thing's already. The door screws only alingh the door frame only . This will not make the door closing sound better. You will be able to know when you close all your car door's.

Hie... About the bitumen, it won't get as hard as stone in your door but it'll be a little hard and slimy and makes your car door like a feeling of compact, not like milo tin... :)

Originally posted by protonevo@Aug 24 2004, 05:43 PM
I think have to call ninja to help out already. But One thing khaixtreme, you know the doors is always expose to rain and water would it be not lasting for the superloan ??? Just worry on how reliable of the superloan sticking on the doors ???
about the durability of superlon.... i myself also not sure.... But about exposing to rain and water... erm.... i dun think it matters lor..... superlon is made of synthetic material.... dun worry bout it decomposing..... if direct sunlight, then it's possible.

Originally posted by ken12292703@Aug 27 2004, 08:53 PM
Hie... About the bitumen, it won't get as hard as stone in your door but it'll be a little hard and slimy and makes your car door like a feeling of compact, not like milo tin... :)
now..i never thought of that.

how reliable has it been so far, ken? I was planning to bitumen-strip the door... but i think it's easier to work with a brush and some tar...

maybe stick a sheet of alum-foil up after it...any ideas? better still, any pictures?

i was thinking of instead..3-5 layers of bitumen and then stick 6mm superlon right onto it... :D

protonevo....
superlon is used for insulating aircond pipes...and aircond pipes are...well....exposed to "the mercy of nature"...and they hold up very well...

yes, superlon can "balut" everything.....last time i also take it to "carpet" my room....hehehe

last weekend i bought a can of Dunlop anti-rust undercarriage paint...bought it at Ace at Ikano. About 12 bucks one can. It is bitumous (with bitumen).

on top of that, bought 2 spray cans of rubberise undercarriage spray, about 10 bucks each.

I'm planning to put many layers on the wheel well...as many thick layers as possible. see whether can i muffler the noise from the 16" rubbers.

lol.
just finished putting back the glass for my front side window... put quite a few layers of bitumen and i think what's lacking is one big layer of superlon... hehe, now to wait till stanley gets back.

effect so far? an obvious *stronger sounding* knock :) and the pleasure of knowing it cost me so little. RM15 for 2.5kg can..good for...2 doors? 3?

today sticked back my superlon using dunlop glue at my fren's shop.....regarding to him, he say that dunlop gule will "eating" the paint....so be careful when glue ur car.....

okay..i just used about 1.5kg of bitumen on my front door.

results? less noise while travelling. heavier door. slimy gooesy stuff down the door.

how much for? about RM10 only :D

+ RM10 worth of superlon

= cheap DIY solution

:)

ksgoh,

u no need to stick de superlon at the door metal mah... u stick at the door panel.. one whole piece.. then wun eat de metal lor.. i've done mine.. very quiet also... :D

oh, ya laa....why never think about that.....but if stick on door panel, the panel still can screw ar??

can.. but have to becareful.. some places kenot superlon cos the gap very small...

especially the top part.. the curved part... then have to cut holes for the wire n the "cup" to screw..

like dat wun kacau the rain barrier.. then wont have prob when wanto change power window stuff inside... then wun kena water somemore... :lol: