newbie here..
i wanna ask something about my b16a

1. i can rev till 7k only
2. i didnt feel vtec engage
3. i got CEL on

i just bought this car from my friend..
what i know is my b16a is a big vtec..
my car is ed6 converted to ef9 dash and meter

i dont know what ECU / wiring OBDx / cable or hydro tranny that i used..

it's o2 sensor? vvs?
what should i do 1st?

THANKSSS...

---------- Post added at 08:38 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:48 PM ----------

updated:

37820-PR3-901 = my ecu means i run OBD0 for ef9
CEL code = 8 short flashes.. pause... 2 long flashes and 2 short flashes.
it's mean i got 2 error codes? 8 and 22?
8 TDC - top dead centre sensor?
22 VTEC pressure valve?

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
I'm no sifu and I have no idea on why your car is like that. Just wanna say, if cel is on, there is no way the vtec will engage.

AE80

Jun 7, 2006
thanks for reply..

error code 22 SOLVED!!
bypass vtec oil pressure switch
- disconnect battery..
- jump VTEC pressure switch wire with VTEC solenoid wire (because my b16a no VTEC pressure switch)
- connect battery
- no more CEL (even that error code 8)
(i think this is 1st time this car got VTEC.. after swap..LOL)

update:
now i know my wiring harness is OBD0 with PR3 automatic ECU
and my engine is big vtec PR3-1, distributor B16A 1st gen..(small VTEC)
gearbox S1 cable and using b16a 1st gen header with 2 o2 sensor..

because of my ecu is automatic PR3
vtec kickin at 4500 and fuelcut 7500
car idle quite high 1k++
- open my ECU
- i moved the jumper from R68 to R67 on my ecu
and now i can rev freely till 8000 and vtec kickin at 5000
my car idle normally..

but error code 8 is BACK.. (TDC Sensor)
after idle awhile, CEL on again..
disconnect battery/ECU and reconnect (reset)
no more CEL on idle..after run and rev high a few times..
CEL on back (error code 8) and no VTEC

what should i do?
change distributor/TDC sensor?

and i try to figure out pro and con using OBD0 ecu/wiring harness to OBD1 engine..
any one can give a comment about this??

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Bro... change your distributer... or try clean up the inside first.....3 sensor are in there...

AE80

Jun 7, 2006
oh..ok thanks..

this problem sometimes occur..and sometimes gone..
this morning, i let my car idle for a few minutes.. no CEL..and i drove to town with no prob..

but after again.. i want to go home.. start my car and drve..(never let it idle for awhile)
CEL on..i stop and shut my car off..start engine back and no CEL till i got home..
this evening i start my car, no CEL..

i think, need to clean distributor 1st.. as what u said...
i'll try to do it this weekend..even this is my 1st time to DIY on distributor..

thanks again..

p/s: anyone got more comment about this? or got distributor for sell?
(just in case mine cant use already)