B16A Big Vtec with OBD0 PR3 ECU

AE80

hi all, i'm newbie here..

i wanna ask something about my car..
i got ED6 with b16 big vtec (bought from my friend)
ecu pr3 auto obd0, gearbox S1 (cable), header got 2 o2 sensor, small vtec distributor
(all of this from small vtec i think)

this engine dont have vtec oil pressure switch (so, i jump directly to vtec solenoid) now vtec kickin.. and i move the jumper from R68 to R67 on my ecu to get vtec kickin around 5000~8000 rpm
better than before, around 4500~7500 rpm..

i wanna ask, do i need to convert to ecu obd1 because i'm using big vtec?
or it's doesnt matter? i try to figure out pro and con using OBD0 ecu/wiring harness to OBD1 engine..
and how about performance? and hp i got now? it's big vtec or small vtec horsepower?

need to learn.. thank you very much.. ^^

Iam also waiting from sifus to answer lol, but seems ZTH are so very the slow la nowdays....
ok here we go

Find an OBD0 manual ecu & fix back the oil pressure switch, follow back ori wiring routing. walla.

big vtec & small vtec not much diff in ho bro, only 10hp, slightly higher compression & cam, different distributor,different IM, different injectors, diff. ecu with 2 O2 sensors.

If you want to go for OBD1, its actually leave you to a lot options for standalone, hondata, chrome. For 0BD0 also can, aftermarket ECU(spoon etc) & tune it with piggyback i.e. VAFC/e-manage. you need ecu conversion harness or complete OBD1 harness + OBD1 distributor, for this & its only needs 1 O2 sensor.(different location of bung)

minor mods = Aftermarket header + complete ctr head parts + ctr piston + adj camgear + chipped ecu + piggyback & dynotuning.....

cheers.:wavey:

thanks jombiee..

my engine no oil pressure switch at all..and i read from other forum theres JDM engine without it..my ecu obd0 need that..so, i bypass pressure switch and vtec engage..no problem..

about auto ecu, yes.. vtec engage 4500 rpm and cut 7500 rpm..what i did is...i moved the jumper from R68 to R67 on my ecu to get vtec kickin around 5000~8000 rpm..everything works..

what bother me is, my engine is obd1 (with big VTEC on it) but ecu obd0 (distributor and header with 2 o2 sensors) .. mean my hp decrease? i got 2 options here..

option 1 = convert to obd1 ecu/wiring (need obd1 ecu, distributor, header, wiring harness) or
option 2 = leave it and do a minor mods to get extra hp..
which is better, and cheaper...?

thanks again :)

above all it depends on how deep is your pocket & your target, squeezing juice form NA engines are EXPENSIVE but very steam:nurse:

if you want to further mode = option 1, more proper & less headache for upgrading later(ps;- it will never end lol)

OBD1 is the ecu type bro, not the engine, as I explained earlier its much more friendlier to tweak.
if you put in Big vtec internal(piston & cam) inside small vtec engines, it will become Big vtec also.
B16a with ctr internal - " huge vtec ?" he he i'm jocking laa.

Now how about B16b/B18cr running on OBD0 ? it still can run but the ecu capability would not support the engines full potential - get it ?

My ride runs on 'small vtec' with ctr piston, ctr cam etc still run OBD0 with chipped ecu. no problem.:driver:
pardon my bad english & explanation, i'm no engineer haih but hope could guide you some input.

hahaha..ok..ok.. thanks.. good explaination..this is what i lokking for..

ctr with obd0 is obd0..cant reach max potential for further mod isnt? hehehe..

convert to obd1 sure need more $$ than mods obd0 itself..for me, i dont need further mod for now..so, i let it be obd0..tweak it till last step my obd0 setup can take..

if i combine vtec head with B20 bottom end..do i need to change ecu to obd1? or can i use this current setup?..just asking..

now i know my car is running small vtec setup..even with latest vtec engine..hehehe..
thanks again...i'm newbie...but want learn more.. :)

---------- Post added at 07:11 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:01 AM ----------

and what your suggestion for my 1st mod? intake? piping? header? or go to chipped ecu?