B16A type-r ?

Hi guys! I know this sounds stupid but i'm sure everyone of u who love vtec will hope to own a vtec type-r engine. It's like a dream for everyone of us. As we know, type-r half cut is not cheap in the market. My question is, Is it possible that
we mod our B16A to perform like the type-r? Is there any cheaper way to do it to make a B16A type-r???? Please give your opinions. Thanks!

evrything is possible, sometimes B16A power can achieve awesome power than B16B type r if know how to do it!!!!

oitt....i'm no more type r...going to convert Tip R Si....he he heh hehhh

002100 - u can browse and search the thread here how to build up B16A

just get the halfcut while its still available.
even if you can achieve the same or more power than a type-r with a b16a mods, nothing beats the smooth ride with a type-r engine.

Hi guys! I know this sounds stupid but i'm sure everyone of u who love vtec will hope to own a vtec type-r engine. It's like a dream for everyone of us. As we know, type-r half cut is not cheap in the market. My question is, Is it possible that
we mod our B16A to perform like the type-r? Is there any cheaper way to do it to make a B16A type-r???? Please give your opinions. Thanks!

he he hehh....another money matter!!!! still expensive the R halfcut!!! dunno until when it is available, 2? 3? 4? 5 years?

a properly mod b16a sometime can give better perfomance than r...
but interm of smooth ride n setting, r is always the best...

Buy B18C GSR block,

Plonk block into your B16A head setup.

Cost, probably about 3-4K, depending on how much you get the parts for.
You should be getting more hp out of it, but it's only as powerful as you're willing to spend. The cams, intake etc. can come later if you want more power.

B16A is quite pitiful in terms of torque, so just make sure you remember that, no matter what mods you do, there's simply no replacement for displacement.

B16A can be made powerful like the B16B type R, but depending on the stuff you have on your car.. might be cheaper to simply buy a type R engine, but if you're buying a type R engine, might as well go for the 1.8 version.. :P

But a properly modded B16A vs. a properly modded B16B.. B16A will makan asap.. :P

Shroitenshi always manage to answer most of the threads with style
lol
you've got a point there

so just buy a type R engine when you saved enough money
dont waste time modding here and there
lol

hmmmmm.....time to save more money$$$
get a B20
road tax hurts oooo
:P

Shroitenshi always manage to answer most of the threads with style
lol
you've got a point there

so just buy a type R engine when you saved enough money
dont waste time modding here and there
lol

hmmmmm.....time to save more money$$$
get a B20
road tax hurts oooo
:P

Aiyah. same here lah.. money also matters... but I'd rather save up and not buy anything until I get what I want rather than cutting corners.

Hmm.. i guess it's quite difficult to make a b16a to perform like a b16b..
All u gotta have is $$$ and proper setup. If i have enough money to mod the b16a to perform like a type-r engine or maybe a bit better and the cost is cheaper than buying a b16b halfcut. Does it worth?

modding B16A to be as good as tep R may not be cheaper or same cost, but in the end u got the thrill and experience in the process. priceless. :regular_smile:

Hmm.. i guess it's quite difficult to make a b16a to perform like a b16b..
All u gotta have is $$$ and proper setup. If i have enough money to mod the b16a to perform like a type-r engine or maybe a bit better and the cost is cheaper than buying a b16b halfcut. Does it worth?

Actually the first suggestion of a 1.8 block is cheaper than a B16B halfcut.

If you already have the B16A engine and wiring in your car,
you only need the following.

B18C block (3K or so)
Cams & valvetrain (BC's, 3K)
Intake (2K)
Management (2-3K or so)

Total would come to about 11K, but at this stage probably performing better than a stock ITR engine already, depending on your exhaust and intake you have on your B16A.

As for transmission.. they play a part as well.. but again.. $$$$.

(B16A engine wif B18C block)

peforms better than ITR

(B18C engine wif B18C block)???

(B16A engine wif B18C block)

peforms better than ITR

(B18C engine wif B18C block)???

B16A head = B18C head, just that the B18C head is polished from the factory with finer finishing.

Also B18C engine with B18C head usually = ITR cams and valvesprings.

AYARK!! forgot!! the pistons oso need changing..
The normal B18C manifold terbalik piston not that high compression...
Add 1.5K to that 11K

= 12-13K.. :P

Seems like quite a sum to spend, but definitely better than a stock CTR engine already.

wait a minute.....nothg beats d smoothness of d B16B/Type R?y?is it once a B16A is modded 2 perform like/out perform a B16B,it's not smooth anymore?.....
i've sat in quite a few B16As dat cud easily out perform a stock B16B but its still smooth....daily driven car actually.....

but yeah...if both engine properly modded,of course d B16A will makan asap...
well,u get wat u pay for...if d B16B suddenly gotten cheap,u'd b scared 2 buy oso right?hahahahaha

wait a minute.....nothg beats d smoothness of d B16B/Type R?y?is it once a B16A is modded 2 perform like/out perform a B16B,it's not smooth anymore?.....
i've sat in quite a few B16As dat cud easily out perform a stock B16B but its still smooth....daily driven car actually.....

but yeah...if both engine properly modded,of course d B16A will makan asap...
well,u get wat u pay for...if d B16B suddenly gotten cheap,u'd b scared 2 buy oso right?hahahahaha

True true.. if suddenly B16B cheap means got problem one. :P

But that's why I'd suggest put in bigger displacement block,instead of lighter flywheel, B16B pistons, crazy cams, etc. since increasing displacement is the only way to increase torque substantially across the RPM band. I think it's one of the cheaper bang for the buck mods you can make. B20B too, but you'd be paying more for it, naturally.

B16A can even whack a stock B18C, if you're comparing, but like you say those kind of power not very nice for daily driven cars.

Anyway, for me, B16B also not smooth enough.. have to admit that 1.6 litres very little low end for daily driven cars. For some maybe enough.. but for me, I feel very lacking lah.