heh heh hehh all money matters
no only $$$ matters, knowledge and experience also play an important part in the modding of an engine!!!
shiro, i still haven decide what to do yet.. kinda confuse now.
have to plan it properly as i'm still new in the engine modding.
Thanks shiro! That's a very good guide for me to decide what modifications to be done on the b16a. One more question shiro, are there any way to make the b16a to have more torque apart from changing other blocks?
I suggest the following.. up to you if you want to follow or not.
A) set target hp you want to achieve.
B) choose setup that is the cheapest to achieve your target hp.
Example lah...
A B16A can hit 170whp, but a B16B can do 170whp or more cheaper.
A B16B can hit 190whp, but A B18CR can do 190whp or more cheaper.
B18CR can hit 210whp, but A B20B can make 210whp or more cheaper.
Turbo even cheaper for high HP targets.. sure you can build a NA car making 300hp, but a 300hp turbo engine is cheaper to build..
See where I'm hinting at? It's all in your target hp, and how much you'll need to achieve that target.
So set a target hp, and you can decide your modifications from there. HP isn't everything, but it's something to measure engine output by.
Remember, 200whp is a lot for a light chassis car like a honda civic, so you can out-accelerate like maybe 80% (% is random guess) of other road users in term of acceleration.. that other 20% is crazy modders with bottomless pockets and crazy high hp numbers.. :P
Thanks shiro! That's a very good guide for me to decide what modifications to be done on the b16a. One more question shiro, are there any way to make the b16a to have more torque apart from changing other blocks?
Eh, forgot.. change the FD to something like 4.7 or 4.9 will make it seem like your car has more torque, but in actuality your engine still output the same amount of torque.
In theory ppl can use 4.9/5.0 fd to get more torque. In real life,,,it will ruin 3 gear:shades_smile:
Shiro,,to big FD will "rosakkan" synchro and mostly 3rd gear. When ppl play big FD,,,they wondering why the syncho cannot tahan,,,and why smaller gear begin weak:shades_smile: ,,,so they complain oem gear is not hardened. IT was bcoz to big FD actually.
4.785 to 4.9/5.0,,,"beza banyak ooo" from numbers it is not too much difference but in real life,,,when you see the FD is big. Unless we shift gear slowly and "lembut" then it's ok,,,putting it with std chassisi (eg9 and such) 1 tonne it will be too much for synchro to handle.
2nd thing most of the aftermarket big FD did not use "pisau" honda so the cut is lari a bit. You can check with your mechanics bout this
.. i've almost forgotten that g/b also play an important part in an engine's performance but i'm really not good in this g/b knowledge. Thanks to u guys for all the knowledge sharing and advice. I'm sure not me only who is interested in it. Those who have a b16a in their ride will also wants to know more on how to transform their b16a into performance engine as good as the b16b and in a more cheaper way.