ALTiS ENGINE SWAP

Hi bros...need some advice here.. Hope u guys can give me ur opinions..is 2zz-ge that expensive? 10K? I have come across two 2zz-ge for sale in zth but it looks old at the price of RM 9,500 and RM6,500..

My altis model is 04 model and its about 4 years old. I find is kinda waste if i were to switch to 2zz-ge as the 1zz-fe is still in excellent condition..Is there any possible way to increase its horsepower and torque without engine transplant? I'm aiming at gaining around 190hp – 200hp...

I came across 1 ad in latest Hypertune Magazine (Issue 92) lately and it is said NA cars would gain 15% of horsepower and Turbo cars will gain 50% extra by adding some sort of NX express + something i can't remember which cost RM5,300. Rough power gain as stated is from 30hp – 60hp..If I'm able to gain 60hp by adding then it saves a lot...

Would it be the same as swapping in 2zz-ge? 2zz-ge is too costly can't afford..any other ways of improving altis performance? Please advise...:(

supra fanatics,
from the way you put it, i would to say stay with ur engine till you're ready. Read more, understand more then you will know you're ready

thanks nappx and normality78...Yes, i have think through yesterday that I'm not ready for an engine transplant but it is really tempting to gain more power for my ride.

By the way, what is SC and Can i place in 2zz-ge injectors in 1zz-fe as i read one of them did in this post? I found one selling not sure what difference it makes or whether it fits...yes bros...I do have a lot more to learn and read. Still learning from experience ppl like u guys. Normality78 what mods did u do to ur altis? :smokin:

putting 2zz injector will only flood your engine unless you do have piggyback. Even so, i dont see any reason why you need 2zz injector should your engine is not going to pump out 50% extra more power.

As for what is SC, SC = supercharge. what is supercharge = google it (howstuffworks.com)

I mainly concentrate on handling and braking for now. I've done front top strut, front lower arm bar, rear antiroll bar and rear strut bar. There is still 2-3 more braces i have yet to get. now running on Eibach spring with thai tokico made absorber. Sourcing new absorber soon as Tokico firmness only lasted for 1 month. whahahaa

I bought my car as used and the rotor had wrapped when i got it. I've change to brand new oem rotor and Ferodo Zero brake pad. Initial bite was good but the dust was teribble but i can live with it. The only thing i cant accept was i change both days be4 CNY and early June, my rotor wraped again and my brake pad...... see for your self. So im now sourcing for better rotor and brake pad. I was being told ae101/ae111 twinpot is almost plug and play with minor mod. I've yet to check out

http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/2757/dsc01046nqt.jpg

http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/6769/dsc01045szf.jpg

As for power wise, I've installed Simota aerofoam air filter. Improvement is there but im expecting more. Im thinking to get Injen CAI or AEM CAI but both too ex and Msia dont have it. So im going to fabricate 1 on my own. Same for the extractor, Since Dcsport cant be obtain in Msia, i bought some local made one. The runner is bigger and it stay 4-1 as 4-2-1 will need to decat and result ECL. Moreover mine was Spore registered car, so every year i will need to go for inspection and changing extractor is violation. So very limit what i can do else i can be more adventurous.

Im now looking into engine internal which enforcement cant check. I was being offered for an engine with larger valve and lighten conrod (RM1800) which im still thinking about it. RM1.8k exchange for better rev and around 10hp gain.... hm......

I do have thought of Turbo it, but drilling my oil pan and tapping oil supply to turbo abit put me off. Even im going for it, i will do a low boost application (without use intercooler) which boosting 0.3bar will able get me to 180hp region. Cost wise, if you know what you're doing, rm5k should be enough.

SC is my preference here. so far, TRD and Blitz offering it but have discontinued production. Its much more simpler setup which involve in swapping the intake manifold to the SC kit provided unit. woala... you're done. Power wise, the most u can get is around 150whp which trd supercharger kit on standard boosting 7.5psi. But the cost is much higher. Due to non available in Msia, you will need to import it. The kit itself not very ex, for a used unit u can get from USD2.5k onwards but the shipping fees can kill you.

2ZZGE is out for me. Diff engine swap is big time illegal in spore. Moreover the cost of 2zzge is very high. Lets assume the engine + wiring + ecu cost rm8k, you will need to factor in another rm1.5k for installation labour fees and parts replacement like sprak plugs, belting, engine oil and so on. With all those cost in, you only get around 180hp engine

For a starter, u can do up your intake and exhaust. Thn get some piggyback (camcon is cheap) and then stage 1 cam. Shld be able to get you play around with stock 2.0 civic

Wow...that's a terrible view of that brake pad of yours and is a waste man just few months down the road and end up like this. Could be a fake? I asked one of my friend before on installing Ultra Racing Strut bars on altis and he said is a waste of money and won't have any diffrence in handling yet it is a local made product. Is better to change to better tyres and suspensions. :confused: Aren't TRD strut bars better bro?

Why not get Eibach Absorbers as well? Last only a month is really a short life span. I see that you do not go much for TRD parts such as suspension and absorbers. Yes, i heard Eibach is a good suspension and absorbers. How much does it cost? Is TRD Suspension as good?

I guess i will listen to your advise and mod on intake, exhaust, camcon and stage 1 cam for a start. How much horsepower can i gain? if you said it can play around with civic 2.0L then it has to be more than 160HP as stock civic 2.0L is 160HP. Should i get advise from the dealers on which exhaust, intake and etc to get? Or is there any good brands i should purchase? I guess i ask a lot of questions...sorry! Really beginner here..Wish I'm as good as u to know inside out.

I just recall. There is a part for all sort of cars and NA cars will gain 15% HP by adding NX Express+ UNIchip+Dyno Run = RM5300.

Johor is also a Mod haven. Lots of good workshop there. Too bad is too far for me to go there all the time from KL. I would want to stick to handling and a bit of power gain like u at the moment. Maybe Endless Brakes are good? Most Celica Gts are using them.

Bump: By the way bro, If you don't mind, can i have a look at a picture of your Altis? I bet you have a good exterior look as well? Levin or TRD bodykit? Maybe in PMs ? :driver:

putting 2zz injector will only flood your engine unless you do have piggyback. Even so, i dont see any reason why you need 2zz injector should your engine is not going to pump out 50% extra more power.

As for what is SC, SC = supercharge. what is supercharge = google it (howstuffworks.com)

I mainly concentrate on handling and braking for now. I've done front top strut, front lower arm bar, rear antiroll bar and rear strut bar. There is still 2-3 more braces i have yet to get. now running on Eibach spring with thai tokico made absorber. Sourcing new absorber soon as Tokico firmness only lasted for 1 month. whahahaa

I bought my car as used and the rotor had wrapped when i got it. I've change to brand new oem rotor and Ferodo Zero brake pad. Initial bite was good but the dust was teribble but i can live with it. The only thing i cant accept was i change both days be4 CNY and early June, my rotor wraped again and my brake pad...... see for your self. So im now sourcing for better rotor and brake pad. I was being told ae101/ae111 twinpot is almost plug and play with minor mod. I've yet to check out

http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/2757/dsc01046nqt.jpg

http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/6769/dsc01045szf.jpg

As for power wise, I've installed Simota aerofoam air filter. Improvement is there but im expecting more. Im thinking to get Injen CAI or AEM CAI but both too ex and Msia dont have it. So im going to fabricate 1 on my own. Same for the extractor, Since Dcsport cant be obtain in Msia, i bought some local made one. The runner is bigger and it stay 4-1 as 4-2-1 will need to decat and result ECL. Moreover mine was Spore registered car, so every year i will need to go for inspection and changing extractor is violation. So very limit what i can do else i can be more adventurous.

Im now looking into engine internal which enforcement cant check. I was being offered for an engine with larger valve and lighten conrod (RM1800) which im still thinking about it. RM1.8k exchange for better rev and around 10hp gain.... hm......

I do have thought of Turbo it, but drilling my oil pan and tapping oil supply to turbo abit put me off. Even im going for it, i will do a low boost application (without use intercooler) which boosting 0.3bar will able get me to 180hp region. Cost wise, if you know what you're doing, rm5k should be enough.

SC is my preference here. so far, TRD and Blitz offering it but have discontinued production. Its much more simpler setup which involve in swapping the intake manifold to the SC kit provided unit. woala... you're done. Power wise, the most u can get is around 150whp which trd supercharger kit on standard boosting 7.5psi. But the cost is much higher. Due to non available in Msia, you will need to import it. The kit itself not very ex, for a used unit u can get from USD2.5k onwards but the shipping fees can kill you.

2ZZGE is out for me. Diff engine swap is big time illegal in spore. Moreover the cost of 2zzge is very high. Lets assume the engine + wiring + ecu cost rm8k, you will need to factor in another rm1.5k for installation labour fees and parts replacement like sprak plugs, belting, engine oil and so on. With all those cost in, you only get around 180hp engine

For a starter, u can do up your intake and exhaust. Thn get some piggyback (camcon is cheap) and then stage 1 cam. Shld be able to get you play around with stock 2.0 civic

wah...bro normality78,wht happen to the brake pads?worn out till the metal backing....

corolla sportivo in australia came with the 2zz-ge engine

mate of mine just bought one last month. goes like a rocket. when he hits lift at 7000rpm, the car pecut even faster.

google up toyota club au (tocau) got tons of corolla sportivo's with engine bay pictures in there.

suprafanatics bro,
Its not about local made or what. Its you shld know where to brace it. The most significant different i've experince is the antiroll bar. To me its a must coz i play corner alot. Front strut bar and lower arm 4 point, i do feel the minor different. The only no different is the rear strut bar. whahahahaha.... im going to try the fender bar soon.

Better tires and suspension does help i can assure you the bodyroll will be still there without antiroll bar. Moreover, the harder suspension you go, the more comfort you sacrify.

I dont think Eibach got absorber for Altis. They only got coilover kit for high range performance car but not sedan like Altis. And i wont go for Tein as i got tein in my seg and i know how the ride was. I may going for KYB Excel G absorber soon

i thought civic 2.0 was rated at 150-155hp? i wont know how much u can get as different car will yield different result. From Intake, u maybe gain 2-3hp if you get it right, exhaust another 2-3hp, cam maybe about 10hp and finally tune it for another 10. so you're looking at 26hp +- region. Different exhaust shop will tell you different thing. generally 4-2-1 is good for low and mid and 4-1 is for mid to high. To me, Altis 1.8l low end is good enough but lack for high so i will go for 4-1 setup.

Jb was nvr a mod heaven to compare with KL. Its a very pinch market. However i must say for Altis particulary, Spore anytime got more mod kaki thn JB and perhaps KL. Its so much more easier to find performance parts in Spore for Altis.

bro, Endless brake pads alone easily cost you rm6xx for 500deg one. The whole brake kit will cost you AT LEAST RM10K onwards.

As for my car outlook, u got it all wrong. My car outside look dead stock standard even with 15" stock rim. I dont like flashy flashy look and caught unwanted attention.

you mentioned, i dont have trd stuff in my car, the reason is TRD is always WAYYY over priced for their stuff, IMHO. Only some certain thing tRD got, outside dont have but majority of TRD stuff, you can get some other brand outside, the same thing but with much much more cheaper price. Not all thing TRD make them own. Like absorber, they do ask Tokico or Kayaba make for them. Same for brake pads. For 1 strut bar, i can get as cheap as rm200 but once with TRD name on it, u can easily see it cost rm600 for the samething

wah...bro normality78,wht happen to the brake pads?worn out till the metal backing....

i've got no idea bro., It just wear out till such states. The complete wear off was the inside section which normally cant be seen.

Yes, I totally agree that handling is real important. Is a must whether we are doing drag or circuit race. Stability of the car is important. On the other hand, especially Altis, handling is quite okay but when it comes to hard corner, it has bodyroll which is very uncomfortable and doesn't feel secure. But it is said that Altis handling is better than BMW 3 series's handling. Not sure if it is true.

My fren was asking me to ask around who is selling TEIN Suspension and absorbers. He has a SEG as well with Blacktop 4AGE. So, was wondering how does it feel after having TEIN in your seg bro? My fren doesn't care much about comfort and he is looking for Stiff Suspension. So my question is, is it stiff? and causing a lot of discomfort?

Oh My bad! My mistake. I went and reconfirm and yes Civic 2.0L as 155HP.

Extra 26hp gain is not bad. I guess I'll do what you had mentioned in your message. Should I go for 4-1 as well? Didn't know Endless Brakes Pads are that expensive :banghead:. No wonder is kinda a Hu-Ha on those magazines where Celicas have Endless Brakes.:hmmmm:

How much does an Ultra Racing Bar cost? If I'm not mistaken, I went to KAKIMOTOR in SUNWAY which is really Mod Kaki heaven area and is priced at RM200+ for one. SUNWAY indeed a mod heaven but they said the price there is slaughtering. Should have around 30 – 40 Shops there. As for JB, I'm not quite sure cuz lots of shops I come across in Hypertune Mag are at JB and lots of modded sports cars are from JB too.

Oh...you have the same thinking as my pal. Don't want any exterior looks but I'm the opposite. 1st I would like to really upgrade it performance than it looks to match it. NOT only looks with no capability in smoking any cars. NO point having exterior looks then.

I drove with my pal before where he is using SEG 4AGE Blacktop and I'm in Altis 1.8G. I lose pick up to him. Really can't catch up at all. His SEG is as if from 0-80mph only takes 4 seconds. When both of us hit 80MPH from there I can catch up with him from behind up to 120mph. From that point, I really feel that Altis needs more Torque and Horsepower. :banghead:

If I'm not wrong. Altis Torque will only start to gain more power from 30 – 40MPH and can easily reach 90mph after that. From 0 mph really can't boost straight like my fren's SEG. Real Sad. It does makes a difference if I put on the ECT Power on straight road.

Bro, have u tried this? Is it right to change to gear 3 when u r driving at 100MPH? Just to use it to overtake. I tried it and the engine would roar loudly but it shows some power and speed there though. Sometimes really scared that it will spoil the Engine.

Bro, really thanks man. You are seriously really helpful. Appreciate it. :adore:

no way Altis handling is better then bmw, not even the old skool e30.

you try his tein to see how hard and you will know how is tein. My seg is weekend car so i can afford to be uncomfortable for that few days but not long run. Anyway being uncomfort is 1 thing, if you had hard setup, then you put more stress on other component which will result faster tear wear, like dashboard ratling sound kind of thing.

the mentioned extra 26hp is just estimation and based on you get the thing damn spot on. So dont think u do it, woalla sure confirm got 26hp. But i must say realistically, 20hp pun ada lah....

ultra racing bar got a few pieces, im still checking out some of the price

19mm Rear Anti-rollbar = RM450
Front 2 points strut bar = RM120
Rear 2 points strut bar = RM140
Rear torsion = RM280
Fender bar 3points = RM280
Rear lower bar 2points = RM148
Front Lower arm 4points =

er bro, you're saying mph or kmh? 120mph is around 190kmh already. dont forget, yours is auto, his is manual. of course his lanching will be better.

whaahahha.. although im heavy footer but i dont on high speed drop gear. that is suicide. If you really refering to mph, 100mph is like 160kmh and you drop to 3rd? the engine will explode man. whahahahaha, i think you're refering to kmh la, thn yes, you drop it at 100kmh, then can go abit la but dont do it always.

go get yourself an ATF cooler, prevent better then cure. And ATF cooler is dirt cheap

some pic & info...
simple mod done right.
trd-21.jpg

... & wide body..
trd-11.jpg

other images...
trd-header.jpg

trd-7.jpg

trd-5.jpg

trd-4.jpg

Comparison: 1ZZFE vs 2ZZGE
001.gif

002.gif

003.gif

- 1ZZFE Spec -
004.gif

can run on RON91 also ? hmmm.....

- 2ZZGE Spec -
http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h220/wfhan/Altis/005.gif

this one must run on minimum RON95 lor.....

006.gif

enjoy.

How much are they selling there for this ATF cooler and what is it use for bro? Ya is 100kmh...hehe! My bad. Then i guess better not drop gear. I usually drop to third gear if im going at 80 - 90kmh when cornering or going down hill..just dun want to brake hard. Lucky I asked, if not my engine explode..noob me. :banghead:

Ya my dashboard has this rattling sound when i reverse the car. But when driving is okay. Bro, does ur altis engine sounded a bit loud when u keep the engine running where the car is on halt?

My fren has not installed the TEIN still looking for 2nd hand type. That's the thing bro..I lose to him from 0kmh–80Kmh is not cuz of transmission type. His SEG is A/T with a kind of switch on button which will make the car boost. That's what he told me and I sat in his car before. Real big boost. Dunno what he did to his car though. He said the button comes together with the engine. His SEG actually, amazingly smoked a BMW 3 series on MRR2 straight road but not easy and he went up to 180kmh. :congrats:

I dare not go that fast. Is suicide with a light car like SEG that has no strut bars.

You are a heavy footer? Wow..Bro, how fast have you drove before? I'll check the price of the Ultra Racing Strut Bars when i visit sunway area again and let u know the price for comparison.

Hmm...:smokin: I guess I have to seek for professionals to install the parts once I have it in order to get an estimation of 26hp...Sunway shud be able to do it i suppose..but shud be costly.

Anyway bro, 1 more thing. After you mod some parts, do you still send to UMW for service? As I know if too many mods, UMW wont service the car anymore. Mine is already past warranty. Thought of sending to TOMs but dunno the price range yet.

Bump: Wfhan..wide bodykit is nice but usually all fiberglass right bro? I prefer PU tougher material compare to fiberglass.

The TRD bodykit altis headlamp is nice. Never come across any before. What type of headlamp is that bro? So far, I only know of 1 which is Projector Headlamp for Altis. Damn...envy that altis have 2zz-ge Engine. No longer an altis but Corolla XSR.:driver:

so, nappie, got interest in altis prject ka ?? hehe...
:rofl:

whfan,
i'm still doing a research before proceed with this project. need to research for hc, p&p type..(quite hard to find like levin/trueno engin swap to corolla AE series)

suprafanatics,
ATF cooler very easy one. Go to any chopshop, look for stock pajero or gsr oil cooler, bring to workshop to pasang for your gearbox. Kaotim. But make sure they wash the oil cooler for you be4 pasang coz its actually meant for engine oil but not ATF fluid. Less thm RM150

what you mean by the sounding loud when u keep the engine running where the car is on halt?

The switch sounds like overdrive button. still his chasis lighter and engine spec higher thn Altis, so no suprise. I even lose to Saga before...!!! whahahhahaha... but you're wrong in saying seg not stable. Car stable or not doesnt due to got bar or not but alot of factor, suspension, tire type, tire pressure, alighment setting and many more. Its not just got bar or not. Those are was only supplement

yes, im heavy footer.

You dont really have to go sunway and sunway is not the only place can mod car. Go for reliable workshop then choosing area. Some small workshop offer genuine service skill and advise then big so call reputable one. Its business world, big shop = high overhead = charge more. So they need high vol customer turn over which they wont have time to "spend" on you. This is where the small workshop shine.

Do your mod step by step, 1 by 1. Its only then you know what work and what dont work and why it dont work. This is how u learn else you will nvr know. All my mod i fix myself and i do it 1 by 1. I fix air filter then i run for 1 week to experince the different. Thn only i fix extractor and so the same for the rest.

Go back UMW? CRASY ar..... any workshop outside can do better then them (and much more cheaper) unless being force to. I notice you like to "play" big name alot like Tom workshop or If even there is TRD workshop. bro, that is not the way play car. U got much more to learn. Its not about the brand, its about how thing work

Go back UMW? CRASY ar..... any workshop outside can do better then them (and much more cheaper) unless being force to.

They wash / clean your car after service .. Ok what .. (3C / Shah Alam) .. Have to agree the price is premium.

whfan,
i'm still doing a research before proceed with this project. need to research for hc, p&p type..(quite hard to find like levin/trueno engin swap to corolla AE series)

imho, i think most 2zz h/cut went to thailand as a search from the web does show that
there are more altis+2zzge there in their local mod scene.

Bump: Wfhan..wide bodykit is nice but usually all fiberglass right bro? I prefer PU tougher material compare to fiberglass.

The TRD bodykit altis headlamp is nice. Never come across any before. What type of headlamp is that bro? So far, I only know of 1 which is Projector Headlamp for Altis. Damn...envy that altis have 2zz-ge Engine. No longer an altis but Corolla XSR.:driver:

for bigger dimension panel, fibreglass or CF is prefer as the weight is ligther compared to PU made of equivalent item. PU if the material (mixture) not done properly, the widebody will go out of shape due to gravity and its weight & temperature (of parking under hot sun of tropical weather).
* saw some PU bumper of other cars, which went out of shape when park long under the sun,
heard owner complained about that. *

that headlamp ? donno man, never see b4 the real item. no doubt is nice looking.

Normality78 bro,
Yeah, maybe i lost confidence on cheaper priced stuffs. A lot of things that is cheap doesn't seem to last long for my experience on other things that has nth to do with cars. Such as second hand items bro. I mean won't there be some tear and wear on 2nd hand items? Yes is indeed cheaper than new one.

ATF Cooler u were saying in another thread which Hayden cooler is the best? I guess I'll just do what u do and u said used ATF Fluid to wash right?

The sound that i meant was like the sound of engine breathing. Try starting ur car and leave it and stand next to it. I think u will be able to hear it since urs shud be around 4 years old as well. Is it normal for new cars and suppose to be this loud? Don't recall when the car was new having such noise.

Wow...All mods u DIY? Are u a car professional foreman/mechanic? Yes, you got a point bro. Big shops not necessary will pay much attention especially if you are not totally loaded. Actually, my experience was sending my car to one small workshop near my house to repair and service aircond and is cheap. Cost around RM200 so after few days air cond totally no air..rosak again.

Really dissapointed then send to another one which cost RM600 but my air cond is now in perfect condition. That's why I'm not really confident with cheaper cost. But anyhow you are right bro. Shud go for stuffs that works well will do instead of going for brands.

K i'll source for the ATF Cooler 1st. Once installed I'll let u know the difference i feel. Hope it helps. No no bro..not tat SEG is not steady just that if it is light will feel some shacking and discomfort right? Well no wonder he said Strut bars are useless. Should I change the Gasket head for altis as well? My fren wanted to change for his seg and said it makes a difference.

Yes, i have a lot more to learn...hope to learn more from u and I'll just follow what u mod on ur altis if u dun mind but i'll be slower and going step by step. So far, never get smoked by saga yet but if perdana V6 sure lose lar...Maybe haven't come across a good mod kaki for sagas yet. hehe!

1 more thing, I'm also using an engine lubricant call Dixel Racing Car Lubricant (Dixel RCL) that cost only RM30 to be filled into gas tank after fueling it up full. It says it will Improve Fuel Effieciency, Increase horsepower and torque and smoother engine performance. Well I did feel some difference. A slight increase in torque and horsepower. And engine seems to be smoother as it changes gear. You shud try it bro and see what are ur comments. It can be used up to 4 times. Only to be use each time after you fuel up ur gas tank. There will be guidelines on the bottle to indicate the amount to pour in. So, kinda reasonable price.