Alarm System...Advice needed!

gumball

hey there..i am interested in finding a new alarm system as my old one have spoil already....wut do u think would be a good and reasonable alarm if i have a budget of maybe <300 for a normal alarm or <600 for a 2 way alarm...advise please...need to get it soon...thanks in advance:angel_smile:

alarm is all the same... only some has more function that's all... 2-way alarm bassically can notify when ur car has been touch(shock @ force open) provided if u are in the range... while the normal alarm tak ada!!! well is depends on ur own also lo...

Gps+gsm

if you guys are interested, you may check out some GPS tracking system. Now these system goes on monthly rental basic rahter than 1 time purchase

i heard got one is sub another sim card for that GSM alarm system,RM10 each month..

interesting lah...anyone got website to read about ah?
or maybe any fren who can offer an alarm on me budget?

mango8866 said:
i heard got one is sub another sim card for that GSM alarm system,RM10 each month..

RM10 each month... hmmm not very expensive ma... but the price to but & install the system??? :X-:

the price is above 1k... i forgot the actual price d..captor i heard somebody say cant get signal while our car at basement car park?

GPS racking system

the GPS will lost it tracking capability once it goes into underground, but the GSM module will report the last position to the control center.

All my trucks in my company is installed with such system (about 50 units), each month we pay 150 for everything per unit, but the installation will cost you RM500-600 which include all the wire, antenna, panic button, immobilizer, etc.

BTW, it is very hard for someone to jam the GSM signal due the the large coverage everywhere, unless your car goes into the lift, where there is a closed area.

i have budget about RM500-RM600. What kind of alarm is available at this range?

mroctopus said:
i have budget about RM500-RM600. What kind of alarm is available at this range?

that u can get radiostar 2 way alarm.......
look it up in the marketplace; think they're doing some promotion......

dun expect a GSM tracking device with that kinda budget; cos usually it cost more than 1k for GSM.........think should be around 2k.

oh ok. thanks... i will not spend RM2K for alarm.. it's just too costly for small car like this, and not 100% theft proof anyway... unless i ride a Ferrari, Merz, BMW... different case lar.. hahaha..

I would like to ask for budget around 400 what kind of alarm can get and for those two way alarm is it really useful to receive the signal from the alarm?? for e.g. i park my car at the basement then i still can receive the signal?? any one have the experience on it??? and currently in market there is a alarm brand call popmomo as from the sales man he said this brand is the subsidiary company from momo company in Italy which product the steering.. is it true and what the comment about this brand product..

i really need advice on it thanks.......

chimaera.....try google it up on the so called product popmomo....
but i dun think it's true....MOMO is developing for performance parts.....not security.

Anyway, if you park in the basement; dun think 2 way would work.....try asking radiostar staff on that.......unless the radio frequency is using VHF.......

anyway, you could ask the installer or seller.

Try looking in brothers shops. They have quite a nice range of alarm systems, from RM100.

b00n said:
chimaera.....try google it up on the so called product popmomo....
but i dun think it's true....MOMO is developing for performance parts.....not security.

Anyway, if you park in the basement; dun think 2 way would work.....try asking radiostar staff on that.......unless the radio frequency is using VHF.......

anyway, you could ask the installer or seller.

Hi Boon,

You seem to know a lot about how 2-way works. Just to add on. The distance between your car and remote can be further with our 2-way alarms because they communicate through radiowaves.

As compared to the conventional 1-way alarm which uses infra-red. E.g., your t-v remote. How far can it go right?

For you to get an idea how our alarm works, it's like your radio or the walkie talkie. When you go underground, the radio signal becomes weak. The reason is because of obstructions from the concrete all over you. The further the distance will also reduce the signal strength.

Nevertheless, the distance is definitely further for a 2-way alarm than a 1-way one.

Feel free to find out more on our customer "live" comments: -

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/forumdisplay.php?s=&daysprune=-1&f=66

We are currently running a promo for our 1st generation models:

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=88029

Thanks!

cheers,
spec.check

email: [email protected]
tel: 012 208 3843

- b connected to your car -

Just for comparison....i'm using the black mamba brand from brothers; and my housemate is using radiostar (shud be tiger.....not too sure).

Range: radiostar is defintely better than black mamba (tested it out). We live in a 2 and a half story link house. Parked both car down the road; and tested it inside closed rooms that's facing the back. Mine doesn't work; but my friend's one does.

The only downpart, the shock sensor for radiostar; it only caters for 3 settings....i.e. high medium low. Medium is quite sensitive d as thunder would shook the car and arm the alarm. Low however is not that sensitive enough unless you hit near the point the transponder is. At least black mamba is using the old normal shock sensor whereby you could turn the dial to adjust the sensitivity to your likeness....

Pricing wise: personally think it's around there with radiostar slightly more expensive than black mamba...

oh....forgot to add; I get the black mamba purely because I like the way the remote was designed. Doesn't seem to like the ones with LCD screens.......
looks like toys....

mine only with buttons and blinking indicators, no fancy LCD..........

I guess its Form vs Function.

Some people buy things because they look good while others because they need the function.

Car alarms are meant to enable security for the car. Thus the basic consideration for buying a car alarm should be its functions. Are they able to provide the sufficient protection my car needs? Otherwise, why buy an alarm for the car?

Of course a product that offers great functions and at the same time has form, will definitely cost more. All handphones have similar functions but its the look that determines the price.

In the case of Radiostar, its form with function.

cheers,
spec.check