aisey man....how can like that??

trancebum

they say that winners of wars writes the history. and that, my friends, is no different in malaysia. however much the education ministry (keep in mind that the head of the ministry is APPOINTED by the govt) says they are keeping the historical facts corrent, time and again things like this pops up and proves them wrong. when u have thick skinned people like hishamuddin (keris waving fella), u can bet for more to come.

another racial issue?? you decide.

is this a concerted effort by the education ministry to brain wash the young generation?? to glorify some and denigrate others?? u decide for yourselves.

again moderators, this is what the is published in the papers...plain for all to see. who's playing up the racial issue now? for all the yelling and warrning issued by politicians to NOT raise racial issues, they sure do a damn good job doing otherwise themselves.

read on!!

Link : http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/nst/Sunday/Columns/20060716082731/Article/index_html
Monday, July 17, 2006

Getting the story of Malaysia right

Abdul Razak Ahmad
New Straits Times

Do our history textbooks need to be reviewed? Some experts think so. They’re seeing errors, omissions and not enough emphasis on certain communities — signs that the story of Malaysia is veering off course. But is it? ABDUL RAZAK AHMAD finds out.

Experts have pressed for caution when discussing any perceived imbalance in history textbooks.

Ranjit says more is needed on Chinese and Indian migration.

Jayum says he finds disheart- ening facts in texbooks.

ASK schoolchildren today about Yap Ah Loy, Sybil Karthigesu and Gurchan Singh and the likely response could well be blank stares.

The reason: These three historical figures have been erased from Malaysian school history textbooks.

Yap played a big role in developing Kuala Lumpur in the late 19th century. Gurchan and Karthigesu resisted the Japanese occupation of Malaya.

They used to get some mention. But they were gradually removed from the Form 1 to Form 5 texts.

Their omissions are part of what some experts worry could be the gradual diminution of contributions made by non-Malay communities.

There are now suggestions for a review to get the story of Malaysia back on its proper track, so it can remain a story to which every citizen, regardless of race or religion, can relate.

Is a review necessary?

"Malaysia was and still is a melting pot of various races, but the contribution of the Chinese and Indian communities in the socio-economic development of our country is downplayed in our current history textbooks," says Dr Ranjit Singh Malhi, an author of history books.

Ranjit is a facts consultant for the current Form 3 History textbook and the author of the current Form 6 General Studies textbook.

Apart from the "disappearance" of specific historical figures, Ranjit says current school history textbooks should also include more on the Chinese and Indian migration to and adoption of Malaya as their country.

"In the initial stages, the communities’ loyalties were towards their country of origin.

"But the texts also need to tell of how they began shifting their allegiance to this country, and how we all now feel that we have a stake in Malaysia."

The concerns also prompted a Barisan Nasional lawmaker to raise the issue in Parliament in March.

Kelana Jaya MP Loh Seng Kok said history teachers and parents had come to him concerned about what they found — and did not find — in the textbooks.

"We don’t object to increasing content. But we shouldn’t omit facts and information about the civilisations and history of the various cultures and backgrounds of Malaysians, especially if we want to create greater understanding among ourselves," said Loh.

If Ranjit and Loh have a case, then it’s one with a bearing on Malaysia’s oft-repeated aspiration of creating a Bangsa Malaysia.

Historian Dr Paul Kratoska, who taught at Universiti Sains Malaysia, says the textbooks used to emphasise a plural society, where each group maintained its own social and cultural identity and met others only in the marketplace.

But the emphasis shifted. The texts now make a clear push for Bangsa Malaysia — a national culture and society integrating a variety of traditions.

"This approach has benefits in promoting national solidarity, but can only be effective if all Malaysians are able to identify with Bangsa Malaysia," he says.

Other experts, however, such as anthropologist Professor Dr Wan Zawawi Ibrahim, caution against any "group specific" approach when asking for a review.

Zawawi, deputy director of the Institute of the Malay World and Civilisation at Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, says any call for "fairness" needs to take into account the perspectives of all the communities, not just the "dominant three" — Malay, Chinese and Indian.

"So if you want to include more historical figures in our textbooks, then you also have to look at all the minority communities like the Penan, Kelabit, Kadazan and Orang Asli.

"They too have a role in the making of Malaysia," says Zawawi.

Ethnic-relations expert Professor Jayum Jawan concurs.

"Overall, the content is good, but as I read through the textbooks, I found some disheartening things."Jayum says some key contributions made by historical figures from Sabah and Sarawak were either not mentioned, or summarily given "a line or two".

"All communities contributed to Malaysia. Our history textbooks need to be able to create this sense of shared belonging," says Jayum, a Universiti Putra Malaysia professor of politics and government, who helped draw up the syllabus for "Ethnic Relations", a recently mandated course for all public university undergraduates.

A call for review must therefore be approached very delicately.

In Malaysia, with its multitude of ethnic communities, one can inadvertently end up "stirring a hornet’s nest", as Wan Zawawi put it.

"Because when you cater to one group’s demands, another will ask: ‘What about me?’"

Wan Zawawi says that due to the country’s diversity, any review would need to bring together all the different interpretations of Malaysia’s history from the viewpoints of all the communities.

It needs to be a long-term collective effort, involving not just historians but spokespersons from the communities, scholars as well as leading "Malaysianists" — those from outside who study the country’s history.

"Any review must therefore be collective, consultative and knowledge-based, not based on emotion.

"You can’t just complain and then appoint one or two people and tell them our textbooks are weak in this area and please make necessary additions," says Wan Zawawi.

For political science lecturer Dr Mohamed Mustafa Ishak, calls for review must take into account another reality: that Malaysian history is, among others, rooted in an explanation of how and why the country reached the social contract agreed upon by all races at Independence and the formation of Malaysia.

"Yes, there are some uncomfortable things put in and left out of the textbooks, but it’s so that we gain an understanding of why, for example, our Constitution is written as it was, why there was emphasis on certain things and not others.

"Like it or not, the history of multiculturalism, per se, only properly developed from the 19th century.

"You cannot deny that our history goes back well before that, to the history of the Malay sultanates, which explains the emphasis given to it in the textbooks," says Mustafa, who teaches at Universiti Utara Malaysia.

Universiti Malaya’s Professor Emeritus Datuk Khoo Kay Kim also urges caution when discussing any perceived imbalance in the books.

At times, very complex factors shape events involving an ethnic community.

They can’t be forced into neat explanations to satisfy particular groups.

"Questions of ethnic relations in history must therefore be discussed in very neutral language, without saying who is right and who is wrong, or else it sparks off anger and animosity."

"That’s why I don’t like to use the word ‘contribution’, as in ‘the Chinese community’s contribution to Malaysia’," says Khoo.

"I prefer the word ‘role’, because then you can have detached views that do not unnecessarily praise or condemn any group."

Khoo feels that a review is timely. But he wants the aim to be to encourage pupils to look at history from even wider perspectives or, as he puts it, "to look at history in the round".

Khoo’s point is that most history texts today tend to deal with Malaysian society to the exclusion of other important aspects, especially the foreign environment.

"We need to know more about how the outside world impacted this country and how this country has managed its relationship with others."

"No country exists in isolation, and when you give a lopsided perspective of our history, there’s every possibility that it will be misunderstood, because in history you can always influence the student to look at things your way," he says.

Khoo, who sits on the Quality Control Committee for the Form One textbook, believes that history books have a role to play in promoting multi-culturalism.

"History must attempt to explain culture, but our school history books don’t seem to do that," he says.

"As a result, our young people don’t know each other’s cultures.

"Some are good friends, they can lepak with each other, but they still don’t really know each other."

Contested history
THERE are at least 10 factual errors in the current Form 5 textbooks, according to textbook writer Dr Ranjit Singh Malhi. They include:

• The Naning War, 1831-1833 (page 31). Actual date: 1831-1832.

• American War of Independence, 1776 (page 67). Actual date: 1775-1783.
• The All Malaya Council of Joint Action, formed in September 1946 (page 181). Actual date: Dec 22, 1946.

Important contributions of various historical personalities have been removed from the current textbooks. Among them:

Sybil Karthigesu: She was one of Malaysia’s freedom fighters during the Japanese Occupation. "Even though she was tortured by the Japanese, she did not give up. She was a woman of principle and she had tremendous courage," says Ranjit.

Gurchan Singh: Popularly known as the "Lion of Malaya", he resisted the Japanese takeover in World War II. He wrote and secretly distributed a newspaper during that period.

Yap Ah Loy: The third Capitan China of Kuala Lumpur from 1868-1885, Yap played a major role in the development of Kuala Lumpur as a commercial and tin mining centre, particularly after the fire of 1881.

Whoa. this history thing is starting to take it's toll.

trancbum,
Thanks for taking the trouble to post the the article in colors and such. I always appreciate posts like yours.

history/historical fact cleansing ???

that sounds pretty much like what the jew-hating hitler would do or idiot serbians. not that i'm comparing the two alike but it serves not beneficial for future malaysian to live in a unified front; flag flying high "Malaysia". ok i'm sorry to use such extreme comparisons but why ignore "other" malaysian figure(s) contribution. to erase them and attribute those contributions as a frivolous ??

we are fortunate there are still some old hand/timers with history still in their memories/experiences. ode to our ignorant childrens.:Not_Impressed:

Enlighten me if I need to be, but am I feeling that many muslims now are feeling dang insecure, and thus, taking all sorts of measures to "strenghthen" and make known publicly their "power" or "authority" here in malaysia, or is it just me? It seems that so many things that pop up as hot issues are things that seems racist and discriminating to me. Or are they finally realizing that many of them are just not up to mark against other races, or what? Just a little bit farther, even some foreigners have mentioned the same thing. Is it coincidence that the same thing is also happening in other countries? hhmm.....

I still hold on to the believe that people will say what they see. If they see most oranges are orange in color, they'll say it's orange in color. The same concept works for people as well. Peace.

actually i prefer the whole subject to be removed from school XD never liked history class. my idea of interesting history is about ancient civilization, not some 1900's politics. Form 5 history is the worse for me.

just my 2 cent opinion.

"History" they say, teaches you about the past. Actually it only teaches you what certain people WANT you to know. Another fact of humankind.

What better way to alter minds than by altering their past? If you can convince the son that his father was a murderer, for example, that would have severe effect on him as a person.

Because of that history has always been used to tell a one sided story (that of the people in power). To champion some people and to belittle others. And worse of all, when you tell someone a lie many times, enough times, it slowly becomes the truth.

zephyr3d said:
all i can say... do what they want... they can never alter history.
They already have.

Imagine how many kids are learning history today. What makes you think they'll not buy that bullshit? The truth is that a lot of Malaysians know the version of Malaysian history that *ahem* UMNO wants them to know.

When you throw enough shit on the wall, some of it will stick. And when the majority believe what is wrong to be true, then that becomes the truth.

I can't see why history has suddenly become a racial issue. If someone contributed or had a significant role in shaping our current Malaysia, he or she should be mentioned irregardless of race. Focus should not be on balancing the contributions of each race to promote racial harmony, but rather on significant contributions made to the country irrespective of race. As some of you have suggested, there may be a hidden agenda (a blatantly obvious one at that), and this could be the reason.

Having said all that I think more emphasis should be given to World History. The more we are exposed to, the more we can learn.

quite true si|verfish.

"truth" as they say is what is constantly bombarded at you. (or what convenient to be told)

"they can never alter history" but they can alter opinions of what they want you to think "happened"

history is recorded events. the danger is how it's retold . in "fair account" or ">insert blameI]" and slant/bias an actual event.

this isnt right & it only leads to create avenues of hatred, which a multi racial society should avoid.

Why then ? then to have ulterior motives to juxapose deceit & factual to become true fact?

I'm with Rollakid on this. I hate our history too. Ok, i do like some parts of it. But not all of it. It unfortunate for us that our future generation are fed with uncorrect information. And they (cultural guys) have the audicity to say we are killing off our culture. Ha!!

You know whats funny? Take The Stars Metro yesterday. And their take on Jln Masjid India.

Well sadly to sum it up, history is interpreted by me as "HIS' Story"

Wow i cannot believe in the span of a decade how much have our local history been perverted.

yeah!!! Bring back wat is right for us to know ...

the "forsaken" or "forgotten" leaders and heroes of the country deserve to be respected, honoured, saluted for their courage and genuine fight for a better country . THe battle that they fought and believe deserved to be highlighted in our lives and i think its time to begin ! and the TIME is now .!

I like to ellaborate on my points further.

You know how in Hollywood blockbusters, the Americans are always painted as the good guys, who will save the day. And they'll tell you the movie is based on true stories and facts.

Well, that's what history is like. A romanticised version of true incidents, further perverted by the ideals of the author.

from form one till form five SEJARAH this subject everytime sure fail in my exam !
B'coz i dun like what those writer write !!!
Damn kau boring subject...................

This incident is just like the one that happened in Japan a few years back. They didn't just omit facts, they REWROTE it! They censored war crimes by Japan during WWII and focused on the glory of Japan. Very very one-sided.

On another note, school children usually accept whatever that is being taught so I think the move by the Gov to "alter" history may have lasting effects on the younger generation. Imagine them growing up thinking Malaysia is a perfect place to live in and then...WHAM...reality hits them! Then, they will find out the "real" history the hard way!

Dunno wer i heard this b4:

"Winner writes the history..the losers are erased and forgotten" looks like it can be applied to the situation in this country..

edit=typo