After effect of Manual Transplant

^Dreamerz^

hi to all sifus around,

firstly, i drive a HONDA CIVIC SO4..
i'm encountering a few problem after my car came out of the workshop after automatic conversion to manual transmission...
besides that i've also requested the mechanic to adjust my 'Tappet'...

the problem is,

1) When my car is not moving, no matter engagin in 1st gear or free gear, the rev cut will be at 5,000rpm +... issit suppose to have such rev cut using manual transmission? bcuz i didn't have that during auto.. n the rev cut sounds like something is cutting the petrol on and off, which means the needle dont just remain at 5,000rpm -SOLVED- (the car do have rev cut wif manual gearbox)

2) My rpm is not stable, whenever i switch gear or leaving it to free gear when crusing over a bump, the engine sometimes die.. even if not, the rpm sometimes drop till 200,300,400 .... usually wif air-cond the matter gets worst..
n as the engine gets warmer, the problem gets lesser..

all the sifus who are familliar wif these problems, pls pls help me identify and guide me through to solve the problem...
ur assistance is very well appreciated, thanks in advance.. :_:
*chheerrss*

^Dreamerz^ said:
hi to all sifus around,

firstly, i drive a HONDA CIVIC SO4..
i'm encountering a few problem after my car came out of the workshop after automatic conversion to manual transmission...
besides that i've also requested the mechanic to adjust my 'Tepet'...

the problem is,

1) When my car is not moving, no matter engagin in 1st gear or free gear, the rev cut will be at 5,000rpm +... issit suppose to have such rev cut using manual transmission? bcuz i didn't have that during auto.. n the rev cut sounds like something is cutting the petrol on and off, which means the needle dont just remain at 5,000rpm

2) My rpm is not stable, whenever i switch gear or leaving it to free gear when passing by a bump, the engine sometimes die.. if not, the rpm sometimes drop till 200,300,400 .... usually happens when air-cond is on i guess.. never really try

3) Everyday when i first start my engine, the rpm goes up to 2000+ and taking a while to reduce back to 1000rpm

all the sifus who are familliar wif these problems, pls pls help me identify and guide me through to solve the problem...
ur assistance is very well appreciated, thanks in advance.. :_:
*chheerrss*

From what I know, Auto ECU and manual ECUs for hondas are different... Revcut (IF and only IF that's really what it is,) I think maybe the ECU is reading something wrong, and running under fail-safe mode.

Not sure though.. Let's see what other forummers say.

i dunno bout so4 but i am driving civic ES 1.7..there is a rev cut 5000rpm when auto gearbox put to N.if yr 1st gear also got rev cut then sure got problem d..

thanks for the response

n forget to add-in.. that my due-service a.k.a happy birthday light is also on

as long the manual transmission runs with the manual ecu and a manual gauge cluster then it should be alright. auto transmission do send signal to the auto ecu for engagement.

shiroitenshi said:
From what I know, Auto ECU and manual ECUs for hondas are different... Revcut (IF and only IF that's really what it is,) I think maybe the ECU is reading something wrong, and running under fail-safe mode.

Not sure though.. Let's see what other forummers say.

J101 said:
as long the manual transmission runs with the manual ecu and a manual gauge cluster then it should be alright. auto transmission do send signal to the auto ecu for engagement.

i tot engine ecu and gearbox management are diff entity? i have couple of friend who converted from auto to manual on civic or accord without having problem.

actually i have same doubt before covnertion and den having question around and I was told by them(friend who converted gearbox) and by member who study and work in automation about no worry on honda gearbox convertion.
my doubt all clear when i collected my car and test and drive till now already couple of week adn it run smoothly without problem.

i mean if it runs fine and you dont seek performance and perfection then its okay for your daily driving.

the problem with auto ecu as connects to the automatic solenoid and gives check error light when u do the swap. plus it triggers the parking mode to the ecu.

its wiser to get a manual ecu and a gauge cluster to calibrate whatever necessary for the ecu. also auto engines dont perform well compared to manual engines even if you do the manual gearbox swap.

for performance seeker, a whole engine hybrid is the way to go.

j101 is rite..... better change 2 a manual ecu...... auto fuel mapping is very diff n vtec engagement point is diff (even if u change chip, still doesnt behave as it should)......

usually the onli problem 4 a auto 2 manual conversion is the power..... quite sluggish compared to an ori manual..... remember, auto ecu settings is based on 4 gears onli n ratios is definitely different...... (my buddy did a auto 2 manual conversion 4 his eg9 a few years back)

as 4 the idling, check whether the FICD is set or functioning properly (very common prob wif the b16as)..... if not, check for the brake hoses n valves 4 air leaks.....

hope this helps....

thanks for the advices guys..
btw i've found out that manual honda cars since even honda EG do have rev cut at around 5,000rpm, can anyone confirm this for me?

n i've also heard that manual ecu is not usable for auto, but auto ecu is usable for manual.. and its the same thing, issit true?

need further advice from sifu-sifus around..

5000rpm rev cut? wat honda engine r u refering to? n wat engine r u using?

there shouldnt be a rev cut at 5000rpm. maybe its the gear-shift "cut" on auto ecus.

your ecu, speed sensor and gauge cluster are all related. just make sure its all manual mode.

still having the same problem.. even the mech that did my conversion can't solve it...
he changed my throttle body, ecu, plug in tuning machine during test drive n also checked my wiring... almost everything he did, as i left my car there overnight for him to solve the problem...
anyone out there wif EJ0 converted to manual having problem like that before???
any advice or comment on the problem by anyone here???

pls help!!
thankss~

find a manual tranny ECU??

http://www.honda-tech.com/zeromain
http://www.superhonda.com/forum/index.php?
http://www.hondahookup.com/forums/index.php
http://hondaswap.com/

read those:X-:

if you are refering to problem No.2, check your idle control valve behind the intake manifold. this topic has been beaten up so many times. scroll some threads that has "IDLING" problems. that should help ya.

^Dreamerz^ said:
still having the same problem.. even the mech that did my conversion can't solve it...
he changed my throttle body, ecu, plug in tuning machine during test drive n also checked my wiring... almost everything he did, as i left my car there overnight for him to solve the problem...
anyone out there wif EJ0 converted to manual having problem like that before???
any advice or comment on the problem by anyone here???

pls help!!
thankss~

idle control valve did not help...
setting at higher rpm the car jerks alot, at lower rpm air-cond compressor keep going on n off.. n both has the same engine mati problem..
thanks for all the advice, i'll try look around for some solution..