accident, can claim for total lost or not?

wfhan

the car (kelisa) accident like this can claim total lost or not?
anyone familiar with accident motor claim?
pls gvie some advice on how to go about it.
i have write a official letter requesting to
claim total lost as i feel that the car is not safe
to drive even if workshop get it fix.

anyone have any idea?

car photos
(new links, i hope everyone able to view, if
cannot, open another IE windows. copy and paste
the URL over, then load.. shld be ok kua,)
http://www34.brinkster.com/mforj/img_0456.jpg

http://www34.brinkster.com/mforj/img_0457.jpg

This is my wife's car kelisa.. just 4 months old..
not very fast la..
accident kat KLIA.. the road behind the komplex bunga raya..
caused i think my cross wind.. then she tried to adjust steering.. but then
lost control.. went into a shallow ditch and overturn there..

how ar..? any idea this car can claim total lost or not..

by the way.. she is ok with minor cuts and bruisese over arms and legs..

thsi car is quite solid.. as the cabin it's like a tough nut that manage to protect
my wife inside..

If not mistaken cannot... If u go to those insurance claim workshops... u can probably see cars worse than this under repairing.

Not VERY sure if this fact, but I heard these days insurance companies are more strict when it comes to total loss... so only if ur chassis tear in half (or just as extreme as this) then only can claim total loss... else, fix it!

should be able to claim total lost depends how much the repair cost 1st. if not mistaken the repair cost 30% of the car value then consider total lost. Other factor such as ur dashboard break and ur gearbox location in ur cockpit have move in then confirm will claim total lost. cheers

the estimated total repair cost given by workshop is 32k !
and my insurance sum is 39k.
so guys.. u think they willing to let me write off or not??
need advice?

I donno whether is there any zth member that work at KLIA or KLIA cargo area
and happened to be around during that accident.. if got any here..
i would like to express my
million thanks to them and to those that help my wife get out from the wrecked
car and those that assist to the accident.. million thanks to those guys...
if any of them happened to be a member of zth (i hope there is someone) i hope
they could see this message and i sincerely thank them....

Usually the insurance co will nego with workshop to lower the repair cost - use 2nd hand parts if possible.

Mine also, accident in 1999. Estimated cost to repair, RM 80k. Insurance co nego until RM 22k. Car repaired with used parts. It is within their policy also. Damn!

it is possible to u to claim TOTAL LOST.....but u must talk to insurance....dun talk to workshop......coz workshop will not let u claim total lost...

the reason workshop do this is because if u claim total lost...the workshop got nothing to earn for profit....u get my meaning?

as long as ur car is 1st party and the sum insured of the car is sufficient.....then u can claim total lost.......this is my experience las time work in a workshop as claim dept....all claim go thru me.....so i know the workshop trick......anything PMs me

G-4,

wat mean by "wat insurance first"?

i think kelisa still very new and it should be 1st party......so it can claim

if u r asking d insurance company....haha...then i dunno la..muz ask d owner la...

but it is better direct talk to insurance....coz workshop only middleman....

It's very likely TOTAL LOST. I'm not 100% sure though. Check with new rules by JPJ / Puspakom. Any major chasis damage nowadays considered total lost. Example. change wheel-house no longer allowed. Same goes to other part of chasis , if it requires welding, cut & weld etc ... gone case.

Havind said that, pls check with the authorithies for 100& assurance.

i accident last november,chpo right wheelhouse...jpj let woh
i can't view the pic
but if front and rear damage badly,as well as A pillar.then i think can claim total lost

i means what insurance company....
if under kurnia then bye bye...u cant claim it.....
if other insu comp then try your luck....

good luck bro...

His car is only 4 months old, the workshop must replace all parts with new items not used, right? I think can claim total lost if only you speak to the insurance management, telling him slowly the reasons why.

If you insurance company don't give, try your luck at any JPJ. Tell them to inspect the car condition, if JPJ say 'TAK BOLEH', then at least you got another reason for that.

wah lah weh....just like volvo your car...so solid..happy nothing happen to anbody driving this minny tank...looks like total lost to me..i know i might not help much but for you to claim total lost is just like your car being stolen...fix it...i think is ridiculous... i believe that insurance agent won't want to give total lost b'cos of lots of reason....slightly more $$$ to come out...second the workshop and the guy might have pakat...eg repair is rm32,000 but actual infact rm20000..both party get to makan 12000....good money eh. repair like this is very hard to come by...yours look like a water fish to me :cool:

but its a 4 months old car and it should be able to claim full with new parts as the bank is still having proprietary interest in it. I mean you took a loan right?
Therefore the insurance should allow you full claim. If you still can't then go enquire with the bank regarding this.
As far as I recalled on accidents and claims a car that is older than 10 years insurance will not replace with new parts anymore. A car that is less than that still can nego. It also depends that the total repairs does not exceeed your sum insured. Normally it would be 75% of the current market value of your car.
Sometimes things would be easier if you just go to the insurance appointed workshop
it makes paperwork faster
but I know of some people who sent their car to their main service center and asked them to replace and knock and paint and got the insurance to pay for it full. Just check it out.
:)

wfhan said:
This is my wife's car kelisa.. just 4 months old..
not very fast la..
accident kat KLIA.. the road behind the komplex bunga raya..
caused i think my cross wind.. then she tried to adjust steering.. but then
lost control.. went into a shallow ditch and overturn there..

how ar..? any idea this car can claim total lost or not..

by the way.. she is ok with minor cuts and bruisese over arms and legs..

thsi car is quite solid.. as the cabin it's like a tough nut that manage to protect
my wife inside..

WOW..that must have been some strong Crosswind!

acbc said:
Usually the insurance co will nego with workshop to lower the repair cost - use 2nd hand parts if possible.

Mine also, accident in 1999. Estimated cost to repair, RM 80k. Insurance co nego until RM 22k. Car repaired with used parts. It is within their policy also. Damn!

wa...bang wat muz repair til 80k???:eek:

but last time my mum drive tat time kena bang by lorry on the fender part also end up spending rm10k++
Damn insurance so slow so hav to pay by ourselves 1st.... tat time bring to mitsubishi sevice center beside the kl highway 1.(now close down alr 1)