Accident At LDP AGAIN?!?!

yesterday i saw a perdana at freescale flyover...driver couldnt decide to go left or right(up the flyover) in the end,went in between on the divider...lolz....caused a short jam...and stones from the divider evrywhere on the road...

actually we cant blame the road design or whether its a rushed work la ... We all drive our car so much ady takkan we dunno its limit ? i hav encountered one close call at that stupid bend at the church there , going to sunway ... dem scary tot my car going to roll over or hit divider ady... n that time i was going 100+ .

now everytime i take those corners i always slow down, no matter if i was speeding b4 that or wat.. and the motorola bend vantageX was mentioning about it is true, the sudden bend. sux weih... best to slow down n know ur own car's limits. dun overdo it... dun blame the road designs...

BLaCkHoWLiNG said:
have u guys ever drive around LDP at nite? if u do.. then u'll know why...

last nite i was on my way to TT in kelana Jaya... was minding my own business..

saw shit loads of Sagas, Wiras and even some old school cars... zooming and zig
zagging as they convoy... all with P stickers...

Hope its not WoC members..

nite time nice to drive....where there's no cars...if you used the road evryday to work,u'll memorize the curves edi...so i would speed up at straight roads then brake b4 the bends...of course using better tires will give u more confidence in taking the corner,but u got to know whats ur own limit n not take the car to its limit.

Use a 20' sport rim, sure no problem, just joking.. Anyway we must have proper awareness, skill when we are driving. But nowadys most of us is lack of this, but this is not our fault, is JPJ's fault. Pay some under table money then you can get a license already.

Blackhowling is right. You have to drive 12-3am to find out why accidents happen there all the time. I have lost a friend there last time. And few years ago, one of our forumers hand a bad knock there too.

The problem is LDP is just too Wangan like at night. When the road are clear and wide. There is just something about LDP that attracts the speed demons. The ones that cause fatal accidents are usually those from Sunway & Damansara when they are drunk and ferrying a few friends.

I have a confession too. I do drive fast at LDP at night after TT. Racing lines, drift, blah blah blah. Almost tried it all on LDP. Some with almost fatal results. Those were as recent as last year. This year i intend to be a good guy, no more secret runs. And i'll leave crazy driving on the tracks.

I suggest you guys just hold on to your thoughts of safety. Its all you have until you meet your maker.

Wow, it's very near to my house. I use that stretch everyday. Some ppl say that the stretch is haunted. Last time a group of young Malay boys died there, I think came out in newspapers before.. Guess I shouldn't drive very fast also.. I like to take the corner very fast..

That's y I never like to drive on Friday and Saturday nitez. A lot of crazy ppl driving very fast and a lot of accidents happen..

LDP is useless. like u all said, midnight is full of racers. it's true. i travel by ldp daily. if u come back after 11, it's like witnessing 2 fast 2 furious. weave in and out. mostly P drivers. i witnessed few hit and run at high speed cases before. scary.

LDP has 2 dangerous curves. one the the LRT station and one more is in kelana jaya.

netmatrix said:
The problem is LDP is just too Wangan like at night. When the road are clear and wide. There is just something about LDP that attracts the speed demons.

yeah, it does have a slight feel like those Japan Wangan highway....duh...gotta go play my Wangan VCD again tonite lah...

in front of the furniture shop in ldp... tat's a real screwed up... sometimes u'll be comin at around 50-60 then suddenly all jammed up.. can't even see the other side... guess tat's y in front of Ldp furniture got all this barricades n konkrit dividers..

Most of the time, these accidents happen because of driving error. Why blame the design of the highway. For 50 accidents that happened in that bend, there are probably 500,000 other people who took the bend slowly and went thru safely. I hope you guys get what i mean because accidents don't just happen because the highway design is flawed, people driving in it makes it dangerous. Quite rightly said, try driving the LDP on a Friday or Saturday night and you're almost in a battleground with lots of ego flying around. Everyone is challenging just everyone.

One more thing though, when you're taking that particular tight bend at a speed faster than normal, basically you cannot see whats on the other side. So once you're committed to that bend already, suddently there's a stopped car or slower car, the only thing you're gonna do is slam on the brakes. Thats normal human reaction. Lets face it, we all like to think we're good drivers but we're just average Joe's. Real racers don't do it on highways anyways. So what i'm trying to say here is that the moment you jam your brakes upon seeing a stopped/slowed car, you know you're screwed and most likely you'll lose traction and those swerving and opposite lock and so on is useless.

If you follow Autocar's safe driving article few issues back, there's one good piece of advice. Never take a fast corner when you can't see whats coming up in front of you. Basically LDP is a highway full of blind corners and lots of barricades and you can't see the bends properly.

Drive safely guys!!

Yup, prodigy does have a point there. Even in my accident I would have to say it was the lousy suspension that caused it. I used to drive my own old 79 Accord over that bump every Friday and assumed my friend's 90 Accord could also do it since its new but was wrong.

I guess the LDP cannot compare with international highways like the Autobahn. Its way too narrow and if you swerve off the road you're gonna go into somebody's shop or house or people just walking by the roadside. You don't see those kinda things on the Autobahn.

In a way we can also blame these guys for speeding and racing but then again (not to make excuses for them but to make a point) there isn't a race track nearby or a cheap one they can go to. That was Batu Tiga and they took that away. Sepang is just way too far and expensive if you're driving a regular modified car and come on, Sepang is just way too wide and the straights are too long for a car that can hit only 160-180kmh. Even 160kmh on the old Batu Tiga track seemed slow so you can imagine what Sepang will be like.

Agreed that drivers' fault is the biggest but anyway... My aunt has a fren who is an engineer. Involve in building roads in other country.

According to him not oni LDP but many highways in Malaysia r very dangerous to speed due to improper building n poor construction quality. The minor uneven roads can cause us deadly accidents. Not tat he's encouraging us to speed but this is 1 of the reason accidents happen. Mayb wif better quality roads many exceptional cases can be avoided.

"the only loose nut in the car is the one behind the steering wheel"

read that on a 'carlsberg' coaster...hehe

Hah...good one.

How true is that, the loose nut is the one behind the wheel.

I just came back from Sunway and its actually a very wet night. Was being careful and doing 90kmh. Yet there were people zooming past me at quite a speed. Easily 120 to 130kmh.

I thought i was doing quite fast as when its wet, i normally do about 70kmh. Besides, i'm using a good set of ES100 tyres so i like to pride myself as having a safe set of wet tyres. So you go figure out those 'loose nuts' who are overtaking me at about 120kmh in an extremely wet weather condition.

Hmm I've driven on the Puchong - Damansara part of LDP every week day for 3 years and I dont find it that dangerous at all... but you can say that I know LDP like the back of my hand la.

The only dangerous spots I find are the blind corners near the church and the furniture place. Other than that there are bumps at the bridge joints that may unsettle the car if youre taking the turns at high speeds.

I admit that I do drive spiritedly on LDP when its clear as well, but no weaving in and out business for me... atleast not until I encounter a 80kmh hogger on a clear road.

The craziest shit Ive done on LDP was a time attack at around 5am in the morning, but Im regretting it. Not doing some stupid shit like that again ever. Thank god for all the blessings...

speed limit in ldp is only 80.. n in some places 60 i guess.. how many of us have followed this speed limit lah ?? hmmmm... maybe bcoz of this problems oni they have limited the speed in ldp so freakin low.... as for me.. the most dangerous thing in ldp is the blind spots lah.. dunno wat's goin on the other side... so the best thing would be just control ur speed.. should save u pretty much in any situations ( terms&conditions apply ) :) hhehehe

Write your reply...