Ac blower only works when set to max

lsm1991

Air conditioner (and fan) seems to only blow air on max fan setting. With the ac on, on any other fan/blower setting lower than max, no air comes out (have checked the compressor, still kicks in as expected even if no air is blowing into the cabin).
Tldr: Blower fan does not come on unless fan speed is set to max:stupid:

*this has actually happened once before, but it went away suddenly so i assumed it was a one time thing, just happened again today*:mad:

specs: (not sure if it matters):hmmmm:
-mitsubishi eterna/lancer digital climate controller

hmmm... I'm guessing it sounds like the blower resistor gone bad? If it is, any idea where i can find a replacement??
any other opinions??:damnmate:

ohh yeah, should add, dont think its the relay cause it still works at max fan settings?

Air conditioner (and fan) seems to only blow air on max fan setting. With the ac on, on any other fan/blower setting lower than max, no air comes out (have checked the compressor, still kicks in as expected even if no air is blowing into the cabin).
Tldr: Blower fan does not come on unless fan speed is set to max:stupid:

*this has actually happened once before, but it went away suddenly so i assumed it was a one time thing, just happened again today*:mad:

specs: (not sure if it matters):hmmmm:
-mitsubishi eterna/lancer digital climate controller

hmmm... I'm guessing it sounds like the blower resistor gone bad? If it is, any idea where i can find a replacement??
any other opinions??:damnmate:

sounds like definitely the blower resistor problem according to your symptoms. Shouldn't cost that much and pretty easy to DIY.

hmmm should be by the blower then.... no problem taking it out... just duno where to find spare parts tho hehe, will try remove next week, will masak in the car these few days~

so now, time to pray its just the resistor!

hmmm should be by the blower then.... no problem taking it out... just duno where to find spare parts tho hehe, will try remove next week, will masak in the car these few days~

so now, time to pray its just the resistor!

any aircon shop or spare part should have the blower resistor. price should be less than RM80 for the resistor. proton one can use if u can't get the mitsubishi one.

Mitsu blower resistor
4.jpg

proton blower resistor
3.jpg

this blog shows how to replace the resistor - http://www.diytacra.com/2011/10/blower-motor-resistor.html

good luck! :biggrin:

ahh thx thx!! will try take it out and test if its the problem hehe

Can be the switch contacts too. My Hyundai problem was 1 to 3 works but max do not, so use until max is speed 3. This went on for a few months until only one speed was working and being an old Sonata III very difficult to find the parts. Finally mechanic dismantle and manage to press the contacts closer, then fit back. So far so good, have been like 2 years already......:driver:

yeah that was suggested too, but digital ac, not sure if it can be the contacts.....:confused: hmm need to rip the console apart and check the contacts...:proud:

My digital a/c in VR, the speed is either auto or have 3 buttons, Low Medium High. In auto mode the lower the temp say set at 17 the fan speed is at max. As temp goes higher the speed slows down....:smokin:

Huhu.... Magical car has fixed itself~~
Plonked ass in car to balik rumah, turned key to on... Behold, ac which I was testing was left at the lowest speed came on....

Moody car is just moody

I used to have a car like that. Freaking PMS car would break down if it didn't like my passenger and it was very consistent too. Same fella it disliked, everytime would break.

Huhu.... Magical car has fixed itself~~
Plonked ass in car to balik rumah, turned key to on... Behold, ac which I was testing was left at the lowest speed came on....

Moody car is just moody

So just see whether this will last or not, or become moody again.....hhahahhahah:biggrin:

u said it too soon.... it was moody again this morning but left it on anyway, it came on for like 20 secs? then decided to be lazy again..... hmmm resistor still likely?

Try changing that first....

It sounds like a poor connection somewhere. Digital aircon controller means you tapped some wires, perhaps these connections are just loose.

car came with the digital ac, completely standard hmm will check the contact behind the climate control unit. I should also be able to check the electrical signals going to the resistor (i think) to make sure that nothing is wrong from that point and on.......

Your digital air con, temp button up and down, right? and blower speed, L, M, and H?
Mine is like that, and one more Auto button. Auto means the colder the temp set, the faster the fan blows....:driver: