About Amp

YellowMan

wanna ask about this 4chnl amp.
here are the spec

‎240rms watt..frequency response=15Hz~25KHz..x-over type=LPF/FULL/HPF..LPF=30Hz~250Hz..subsonic/HPF=40Hz~1KHz..bass boost level 0db,6db,18db..minimum load=2Ohm

can this amp power my 60w rms comp set n 1 double coil woofer? im not sure the woofer W but its a orange mohawk brand -.-..can the amp support it n wnt boom anything?

wanna ask about this 4chnl amp.
here are the spec

‎240rms watt..frequency response=15Hz~25KHz..x-over type=LPF/FULL/HPF..LPF=30Hz~250Hz..subsonic/HPF=40Hz~1KHz..bass boost level 0db,6db,18db..minimum load=2Ohm

can this amp power my 60w rms comp set n 1 double coil woofer? im not sure the woofer W but its a orange mohawk brand -.-..can the amp support it n wnt boom anything?

The comp set shouldn't be a problem. However your woofer I'm not sure. Just make sure the woofer is connected in not less than 2ohm impedance. You need to find out more info about your sub. If wrongly connected your amp will cut out very often.

Thanks for the reply! But how to make sure it is not less than 2ohm impedance? The sub is old model..cant really find the info d n it is a gift from friend too. btw if not mistaken i saw people saying it is 320w. So will it be enough? Im just afraid not enough pwer then boom then amp -.-

If I remember correctly, Mohawk Orange was a DVC 4ohm 200w RMS sub.

Meaning this amp should be able to power it up easily if you connect it to 2ohm (parallel connection).

Technically no problem la. Best to confirm what model you using first though

Im just planning to get more bass from the woofer but not the boom boom type. So the amp can power the woofer?

Another amp i found is 4chnl 75x4 n that shop told me confirm can power up the front comp n woofer. Btw the woofer is 12". So which is better? the 75x4 amp or the amp spec above? To power up the comp set n woofeR?

Im just planning to get more bass from the woofer but not the boom boom type. So the amp can power the woofer?

Another amp i found is 4chnl 75x4 n that shop told me confirm can power up the front comp n woofer. Btw the woofer is 12". So which is better? the 75x4 amp or the amp spec above? To power up the comp set n woofeR?

Whether you choose amp A or amp B, just make sure they can power the sub properly otherwise you'll spoil the amp.

I personally think the 1st amp will be more than enough for your setup.

Ok! tqvm:biggrin:
Im afraid the amp does not have enough power too. But if not enough power it still wnt boom the amp rite as long as i dun boom til max..im more to sq but the woofer is spl lol..so just borrow borrow the bass lor..the price for amp a is 250 n price for amp b is 330 -.-.

So now my next question will be the wiring..1 shop quote rm150 1 shop said put 200 will be enough..Wanna ask how to find a better cable ar? Any thing need to more concentrate on?

From battery to the amp using 4ga or 6ga is more than enough. Speaker wires since you're not using anything fancy, the normal Aura or whatever simple brand 12ga will suffice. RCA wise is up to you, since you sound like you're in a budget situation, the cheap RM30 cap ayam will work too.

Underpowering the sub won't spoil anything. It's only when you over power it you might spoil it if you jack up the gains too high. Anyway it takes a lot to ruin a subwoofer la. Don't worry so much. Just make sure you get the OHM right. DVC 2ohm or DVC 4ohm (your sub specs) is important - if possible try to confirm it first. Look at the back of the sub itself to get the specs or model and search for it online.

lol i dun wan the rm30 cap ayam wiring..prefer the 150 or 200 one cause dun plan to change it another time. Finding a more reliable one will be better.

Been searching lots of forum already..from k2oc til zth -.- n online search for the spec of the brand also cant. too old model i guess.. even the official website also dun hav.

---------- Post added at 08:41 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:11 PM ----------

Oh ya..u knw the old skool amp alpine 3555? any comment on dat? specs are
50 watts RMS x4 @ 4ohm
200 watts RMS x2 @ 4ohm (bridged). Better than the both amp?

where will the amp located? the further away from battery, the bigger cable u'll need.
States accessory in satok should have left over stinger cable complete set inclusive fuse and grounding cable. if not mistaken left 8awg set only.

o.0 satok? how much the price for the stinger cable? but i heard its not advisable to use 8awg? better use 2 or 4? I think the amp will be put under the driver seat. I got an offer from accessories shop at stutong here cost rm150. Not sure what brand but they said its not a ciplak one. And L&G offer me less than 200. Whats ur suggestion?

lol i dun wan the rm30 cap ayam wiring..prefer the 150 or 200 one cause dun plan to change it another time. Finding a more reliable one will be better.

Been searching lots of forum already..from k2oc til zth -.- n online search for the spec of the brand also cant. too old model i guess.. even the official website also dun hav.

---------- Post added at 08:41 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:11 PM ----------

Oh ya..u knw the old skool amp alpine 3555? any comment on dat? specs are
50 watts RMS x4 @ 4ohm
200 watts RMS x2 @ 4ohm (bridged). Better than the both amp?

I don't mean to be rude bro, but please go learn up what is impedance, what is double voice coil, and what is RCA before you venture into this. I don't think you quite understand what my replies are saying.

Your subwoofer is the Mohawk Orange which if not mistaken is double voice coil with each coil having 4ohm imedance. That means if you wire up the sub, it can be wired to either 2ohm (parallel) or 8ohm (series). If you hook it up 2ohm, that means whatever amp you use must be able to support 2ohm when bridged and the Orange RMS power is 200w so that's quite low.

Subs are single channel (mono) so for a 4-channel to power it, you need to use one channel which will only work if you bridge two stereo channels together to become mono (1 channel). Since this alpine bridged is 4ohm, and your sub is wired to 2ohm, you'll spoil the amp. The earlier amp you selected was able to support 2ohm when bridged so that amp will not have a problem powering the sub.

RCAs you can opt for a good one but for 150 to 200 bucks, either you spend on getting a 2nd hand mid-range RCA cable or you get a low-range brand new RCA. Also, the longer the cable, the more expensive it is so assuming you're installing in a mid-sized sedan, you'll need about 4m to 5m long RCA. For RM200 you don't really have much choice, perhaps a Stinger cable or something. Just shop around or ask advice from reputable sellers.

well, kuching here u won't be able to find brand new branded stuffs at reasonable price.
I would say none of the shops. if u prefer to buy within shops here, then just get the cheapest one will do.

i normally shop at L&G & States. or Hong Kim(closed down).
RCA can DIY, save some money, but not really much.. just an enjoyment
and better one than those cap ayam.

regarding the amp, use 3555 2channel bridged x2 for each voicecoil. so
u'll be feeding each voicecoil 200W. But i do not know your sub can
take it or not. U have to make sure your sub brand, model and spec first.
no one knows what are u having now. Amp A & B, both unknown. no one
can decide for you.

so, best is to find one shop to kaotim it for you. anything goes wrong,
find them.

well, kuching here u won't be able to find brand new branded stuffs at reasonable price.
I would say none of the shops. if u prefer to buy within shops here, then just get the cheapest one will do.

i normally shop at L&G & States. or Hong Kim(closed down).
RCA can DIY, save some money, but not really much.. just an enjoyment
and better one than those cap ayam.

regarding the amp, use 3555 2channel bridged x2 for each voicecoil. so
u'll be feeding each voicecoil 200W. But i do not know your sub can
take it or not. U have to make sure your sub brand, model and spec first.
no one knows what are u having now. Amp A & B, both unknown. no one
can decide for you.

so, best is to find one shop to kaotim it for you. anything goes wrong,
find them.

Yes..its very hard to find stuff with reasonable price. I do not need a high end sound system. Just want to improve the sound better abit. Since my friend gave the woofer so i just buy an amp for it lor. Thats y i dun really knw the woofer spec. -.-

I went to survey afew more shop today n still goes back to the one i bought my speaker. They set up for me an amp with 60wx4 rms and trans RCA. Stinger RCA rm70+ but not sure need to use how long. Total up will be 200++ for the stinger. He said either i use stinger or trans..the effect wont be much unless i have good woofer and amp. So total up for amp, box and cable will be rm540. Like you said anything goes wrong can go back to them..easier n save time lol.

I found the cheapest woofer box tho -.- at wawasan near wisma hopoh. Rm48 for a round tube box 12". Things there are so cheap but not advisable to fix it there:biggrin: