6 Speed Blacktop question...

scomatic

1 question....
i have 5 speed Blacktop, 5 sp wiring and 5 sp ECU.... If 1 day willing to change to 6 speed, did i need to change ECU and wiring to 6 speed as well?

Why i ask this question? Because i saw many of people, if change to 6 speed gear box.... they also go to change ECU and wiring.... But my friend 4AGZE, using 6 speed gear box also no problem in return... :hmmmm::hmmmm::hmmmm:

No need to change.. but dun forget the linkage.. the 6speed ECU has a slightly diff upon you change gear (rpm go up a little) ..

|1A660 is for the 6 speed equipped AE111 which are compatible with 5 speeds as well but mated with 6 Speed transmission outputs, it has premature rev cut points in 1 st and 6th gear and slightly changed timing curves for a split second after lift throttle and reapplication to ease and protect the 6 speed's synchro and reduce driveline lash.|

url] technical page

Using 5sp BT's ECU with a 6sp gbox and it works fine on my car.

Hi km chew,

Thanks for the good input. But I still didn't get it. Do you mean that if we were to mate the c160 with 5sp ECU, we need to do something about the linkage?

About protecting the synchro, didn't know it has that functionality. So, it is recommended to mate the 6sp ECU with the GB together?

I'm currently mated my c160 with 5sp ECU. Hope to hear from you more about the benefit of the mating c160 with 6sp GB. Cause I'm worrying about destroying the 6sp synchro as mine having that problem now. Gear change not that smooth. Need to use specific Gear Oil (currently using Red Line non-LSD). I've tried Toyota Ori LSD and non-LSD gear Oil and it is worse.

Thanks in advance mate. Cheers.

Hi km chew,

Thanks for the good input. But I still didn't get it. Do you mean that if we were to mate the c160 with 5sp ECU, we need to do something about the linkage?

About protecting the synchro, didn't know it has that functionality. So, it is recommended to mate the 6sp ECU with the GB together?

I'm currently mated my c160 with 5sp ECU. Hope to hear from you more about the benefit of the mating c160 with 6sp GB. Cause I'm worrying about destroying the 6sp synchro as mine having that problem now. Gear change not that smooth. Need to use specific Gear Oil (currently using Red Line non-LSD). I've tried Toyota Ori LSD and non-LSD gear Oil and it is worse.

Thanks in advance mate. Cheers.

Linkage = the metal thing that hold your gear position (below your gear boot cover)
6sp's 7th gear, is the Reverse which is far left up. Our 5 speed gearbox doesn't have that, so that linkage is very important. unless you can get your mech to DIY one (like mine) .. it works perfectly, then later my friend sold his car and i took his short shifter to replace it (itchy hand)

Mechanical item, sure got wear and tear.. our engine / gearbox getting older as years pass. Engine, easy to get the lantai edition but for gearbox, phew.. Nevertheless, our age too .. haha .. Don't compromise the lubricant.. My personal preference, Torco SGO . More info --->> www.torcousa.com (GL6 lubricant is better than GL5) ..

Wow...thanks for the nice info again man. It really helps. I might be sending my c160 for servicing. Maybe I'll ask them to change the synchro-mesh too.

Anyway...domo...:adore:

hehehe.... grand sifu voice out already...

bro.. tonite we go yam cha ar...... wanna feel n tekan ur car... muahahaha....