4wd conversion on seg

am_izham

i just found out that toyota have manufactured a 4wd corolla. the chassis codes are either ae104 or ae114. u guys can have a look at http://www.alljapanesecars.com. look for 1993 version and onwards.

and now i'm wondering wether we can do this conversion. if can than i would have a car to dori. :P

there are few SEG wagon 4WD in KL also ... probably to convert SEG to 4WD will be like Wira convert to EVO 4WD .. need to cut the floorpan and all .. :unsure:

d difference is.... Wira 4WD = sangkut at roadblock
SEG 4WD = Sleeper

yolk Posted on Jan 13 2005, 08:46
there are few SEG wagon 4WD in KL also ... probably to convert SEG to 4WD will be like Wira convert to EVO 4WD .. need to cut the floorpan and all ..

Wah...i didn't know this. But for the 101 chasis, really "doable"??I mean, its kinda massive in terms of mods rite... :unsure:

Originally posted by BLaCkHoWLiNG@Jan 13 2005, 10:11
d difference is.... Wira 4WD = sangkut at roadblock
SEG 4WD = Sleeper
true true.. hahahahaa
just like a KE20 with 3SGTE inside without a body rebuilt and Wira VR4 with no body work, who easy kenak sangkut at road block? :lol: :lol:

Originally posted by 4agze@Jan 13 2005, 11:29
should be plug and play... same chasis..
:rolleyes: plug and play then your long shaft wanna pasang where ?? no need lubang/tunnel at the chassis ka ?!?!?! <_<

Yolk: u like to korek and hammer before u plug and play?
24.gif

Originally posted by BLaCkHoWLiNG@Jan 13 2005, 11:48
Yolk: u like to korek and hammer before u plug and play?
24.gif
:blink: :blink: :blink: :blink: :blink:
like that also can wan meh

hmmmmmm .... 4WD in a ae101 body ... dammm nice laaa ... but i doubt u can do it legally unless got LOTS OF CASH to spend laaa ... hehehehe ...

4GZE ... plug and play can ahhh ??? ooohh ... i didnt know that ... sorry aahh ... me newbie dunno anything one ... sorry sorry sifoo ... i oso tot must cut lantai and stuff one .... :P

but seg chassis aleady have the tunnel. i think so la. coz if u look at the rear seat u can see the bulge in the middle. currently this is occupied by the exhaust pipe. but i never look from underneath the car. pardon me if i'm wrong, i'm still learning here.

Y want to convert 4WD? Want to put in 3sgte? Source an AE114 then convert. Saw a few but embassy car. Last time saw newspaper there ae114 for sale...Cheers..

hm.. yes, i also can see things like am_azham said...

maybe for long shaft? :)

i say should be, not 100% laa...

i should seek some friend in japan to look for the corolla 4WD system bring back to KL and pasang see can or not... if ok, maybe kasi siput it. then DORI DORI :lol: :P

yes, there is a 4WD white coloured embassy car for sale last time but damn expensive. <_<

from what i have read, these 4WD corollas have differential ratios which sucks in terms of fast/performance driving. IMO QiW taiko is correct; u'll need lotsa moolah for this one..

my mechanic once stumbled upon an AE91/92 4WD rear axle and was completely blown away. it was a full axle just like any RWD AE86 axle, but the chop shop workers insisted that it was from an AWD corolla. I guess if subsequent axles for the AE104/114 are solid axles as well; it will not be a plug and play matter at all.. the best way is to modify it like yoga-san quoted; wiralution 4WD style and cut the rear floorpan for maximum match with original axle position. our normal rear lower arms will have to go, as well as the FWD fuel tank. The rear struts will surely be different as far as the axle system is concerned. Then there's the issue of whether replacement absorbers can be found cheap locally.

Personally id go for a Drive shafted rear axle like on most modern RWD and 4WD cars (see Karamjit's Rally Iswara) and that still produces a headache as to what knuckles to mod easiest to fit, and the fuel tank too (unless u take it out altogether for a fuel cell muahaha)

sigh.. $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ nuff said.

a reply i once read in Club4AG US from a canadian; he said that he uses the AWD AE9x for rally application and it came stock with a center differential (whatever that is) and its just not enough. he claims that it feels heavy so i reckoned that only a torquey low end turbo'ed engine will compensate for that shortcoming.

my fren test drive it once.
i mention to him i wanna get a 4wd too.
but he immediately stopped me. he said
it is no power=slow.
now i know why it is slow...
thanks AE80TypeD!
:lol:

haha then its confirmed lor.. in Siberia where they actually market these cars by default, they are mostly used by merchants and fisherman to navigate the snow and uneven terrain.. so they dont need so much power, just traction... some of the XE wagons even come with CS1xx engines which run on diesel. most basic models are just 4AFE equipped. i tot i'd see most will run on 7A or something, but surprisingly few.

u can solve it in a number of ways;
-modify the differential to suit whatever engine u wanna put it (e.g. change the ratios)
-replace the differential and perhaps the rear differential itself with one from another car (those in the lines or EVOs and Imprezas)
-put a proper engine that usually runs performance 4WD vehicles by example, which means put a big CC turbo engine to compensate the differential's weakness.

I stand by the idea that 4WD cars meant for modding and drifts etc are meant to be run by powerful, big engines if not F-Ied. so all the best of luck if anyone still thinks of running AWD setup with our puny revvy 4AGs coz man... u'll barely have the time to get up to speed for any fun at all.. heavy things to drive on the transmission will sure tax our short strokers to the MAX! :lol:

3SGTE power satu!! :lol:

its not the hp... u need torque if i understand the canadian fella correctly...

the nature of AWD components is obviously its MANY moving parts... so u need grunt low down in the RPM range to push the car properly in the first place...

180hp with 200Nm of torque at 3000RPM.. yes i would say so :lol:

When HP rises torque also rises rite? Albeit marginally. But it is still raised. I was also thinking in the region of 200Nm. But from 1.6? Maybe like u suggested, take out the front drive and just use the rear section. Just like that B18C with CRV gear box integra. hehehe. Like that better plok in 3SGTE 4WD version and do the same above. :lol:

Write your reply...