4wd conversion on seg

hahaha of course torque oso rises... but ideally for 4WD since there are many links in the drive transmission that can slow down in respect of momentum quickly; we'd want a torque curve that maxes in the low-mid rpm range so that upshifting doesnt suffer a lag, a compared to high revving motors which need to "re"build momentum at every upshift.

have u played NFSU2? notice the dyno graphs for certain cars, generally the ones with default big cc engines/v engines.

see that their torque curve peaks out in the middle instead of the redline, giving them excellent pickup from any gear at lower RPMs. compare this to the RX or AE86 dyno graph. there the torque & hp rises accordingly bcoz they are made that way.

all im saying now is, we would actually prefer the former power figures (earlier max torque) in a 4WD system rather then the power provided by a peaky engine like the 4AGE to compensate for the heavier drive system (more parts between the engine and the wheels to turn). various driveshafts/longshafts/axles and gears in the 4WD system would slow down faster then 2WD drivetrains, dont u agree? an engine that builds max torque at higher revs would spend more time rebuilding momentum of the moving parts. im stating it as a "more suitable" application, not saying that 4AGEs SHOULDNT run 4WD systems at all.

Originally posted by am_izham@Jan 14 2005, 17:58
AE80typeD, i like ur first solution. ok then how to modify the differential. :)
ive no first hands experience with body modding for any rear axles so i feel that im not in the position to comment on how to modify it.

first u have to understand the positioning and how the axles are fixed in the original vehicle (which i have never seen by my own eyes)

i stated that the best and surefire way to get it right the first time; is like yoga-san implied; make sure u get the rear halfcut of the 4WD corolla + fuel tank + axle everything.

measure ur chassis and the halfcut chassis very2 properly and carefully to cut the floor pan under the rear passenger seat. this is to make sure u get back the default mounting positions/bolt holes/brackets. make sure u match & align the exact position of the "new" 4WD floorpan so that ur rear suspension (absobers) later dont end up slanted when installed (travelling senget lidat).

invest in an expert welder/car body worker and weld the new floor pan using the BEST welds u can afford. make that the BEST weld there is :lol: ur life depends on it.

if this is successful, then u wont have to headache how to put the axle and fuel tank coz the holes and fittings are exactly like 4WD body original one mah :)

this is one of the possible ways to modify it. do a search and refer to Proton Wira to 4WD EVO conversions to get a clearer picture on what is necessary for this type of project. good luck and sorry coz im not really an expert in this particular area but still want to busybody tunjuk pandai only :lol:

for me the hassle of the conversion is just not worth the end results... dont get me wrong tho, i just :wub: the idea of a top notch 4WD ride hehehe; its just that id go and get an impreza straightaway.. better :lol:

One of my friend here succefully put in the ST215 GT4 3SGTE engine with its 4WD manual transmission and still pass PUSPAKOM test with no problems and it is legal to do so to. Cheers to all Toyota AE111 Seg owners

Originally posted by edgar_raphael@Jan 15 2005, 10:03
One of my friend here succefully put in the ST215 GT4 3SGTE engine with its 4WD manual transmission and still pass PUSPAKOM test with no problems and it is legal to do so to. Cheers to all Toyota AE111 Seg owners
waaa... how much this halfcut and also the labour cost? :ph34r:

Haih, it was hard to explain actually. Actually he was just trying to repair the existing engine, repaired many times will useless, here rosak there rosak, then in the end he decided to transplant the ST215 halfcut, and re-work the whole undercarriage and total cost is RM28K , this cost is including the previous repair cost la.

According to him, the ST215 suspension is using SuperStrout (if not mistaken) cos, not all aftermarket item can fit in as replacement because most of the suspension we can get here are McPherson. Unless you get the TRD.

And ST215 driveshaft is infact longer which means wider and the front tires is actually popping out from the fender, he getd terrible scrubbing. Maybe he will try to figure out if the driveshaft from ST185 will fit

we are in Kuching Sarawak. You wanna fly all the way here to see kah? haha just kidding. Anyway, I will try to take some pics la, espcially the undercarriage. See when I am free to do that.

yeah, take some pics laa... then ask him what's the half cut cost alone? hm.. who knows one day will going to Kuching leh.. :D

Why dont you ask for ST185 halfcut? Putting the ST185 engine is much more easier. I did went to halfcut shops here asking for ST185 halfcut + the rear and it cost only RM4000++ . Installation is around RM1000-2000 which may include some parts replacement and etc. But the price may differ in west Malaysia, depends.

bro, is it Champion workshop did his car?

i see a black AE100(3sgte) accident twice... it is done in
champion too... too much power lo... :lol:

i remember champion mentioned to me he is going to do
4wd onto a corolla... but forgot the black ae100 or ee90.
should be the ee90(3sgte).

ED,

st205 not 215... there r no such 215....... he pass jpj not include 4wd part.... beside he spent 2k for kopi-o for everythg....

arnet,which ae100 u saw adcident ?? siao tet one ?? his is ee100 not ae100.... his is 2wd if not mistaken... got another ae92 with 100 head (black colour) tht 1 is 3s st185 4wd

sky999,

i only saw white ee90 with ae100 head in tabuan jaya...
din notice the black one.

not the siao one accident la.. the other one... which is appear to
me much more earlier than tht siao one.

i'm sure tht it is a ee90 3sgte is going to have 4wd... but he is
white... u mean the coupe ae92 using ae100 head? ae92 is sui
enough loh...

ee100 is what car?

the black ae100 3S i think is that paikia tet one eh, that one 2 wheel, he used to have supercharged gze, then blown, change to turbo, blown, recently put in 3S.

arnet,
haven see tht white ee100 yet.... the black 1 plate 5X9X .... quite famous in kch lastime..... din saw it quite sometimes

ed, paikia tet ?? he paikia meh ?? not really for me.... haha..... u forget he got 4age svt 20v be4 dump in his gze

Write your reply...