4G91 Gang..

Well... the 8.5" flywheel's power is transmitted with less slip 'while' it is already on grip mar. There's a difference between clutching in gripping... and slipping while on grip. The 8.5" avoids the clutch to slip while on grip on higher hp cars... where as on the clutching in grip, it wouldn't be effected that much (till u can 'feel' it on your 'butt dyno')... so if u put a 8.5" into a low hp car... all u get is a heavier flywheel with almost equal gripping performance.

Give for instance I have this friend running a GSR on an 8.5" flywheel+clutch (GSR runs on 9" FYI... this one rojak lar, coz' using 1.8 gbox)... then he go up boost, end up once the engine goes past 200hp, the clutch slips and there is literally no grip... that is on high revs of course. On low revs, launching, etc... its like every GSRs i've driven before.

yeah man... tell us whut wuz really happening and how did u solve it when u solve it! =) ehhehez... me oso would liket o know whut happened actually.

alvin taikor...yesterday nite u in syed arif TT ar?

ur car izit wit gt wing n twin muffler 1?

ok ... for me, I go to 8.5" is because I have plan to set up 93 engine for next, so esay for me . futhermore, base on the theory , 8.5" should be better torque convertter compare with 8 " interm of mid rev and high rev.
so, lightning should be done if this flywheel in play with 91 engine; but myself still dun go to lighten because i felt that if I keep the clucth until 3000 to 3500 rpm then release, the pick up are not different with 8" even though 8.5" with lighten maybe this because better grip and less of power lose.
for my opinion ( just for discuss ), lightening is good for daily drive, if go to drag, maybe will dun give us advantage .

this is the true story .. have a guy running with 4g93t , he had lighten his flywheel just around 0.8kg.. after plug in , there is no problem on low boost, but a crazy slip was gave to his when set to high boost. after 2 day, he change back to oem flywheel, total RM 500 was fly away and brought an expriance. :D

boyzone,
I think what u said is 50-50 accurate. I still think if u wanna drop i a 4G93, go for the full halfcut/complete engine... else u'll end up spending a lot but getting less (ie: you'll still be slower than a stock 4G93)... plus a lotta problems will arise... coz' its not a perfect match between 4G91 and 4G93... unlike 4G92 and 4G93, most parts can be swapped perfectly.

8.5" is a better torque converter... yes... but due to the heavier flywheel i think u're losing more than u're gaining... a 4G91 can never make a 8" clutch slip after its already being gripped (after u've clutched in) unless of course clutch kong liau... so the real difference here is how long it takes for the clutch to gain 100% grip after u let go the clutch... but the difference, on OEM clutch, is too little between a 8" and a 8.5" that it is negligible ... on racing clutch might be a lil' different lar coz' racing clutches are much more sensitive... but I can also assure u that its not a significant difference.

Do not misinform people... lightening is good for drags and tracks... but its not necessarily good for your everyday car... reason why is coz' lighter flywheel will improve acceleration thus its for racing use lor... the down side about a light flywheel is, although it accelerates fast, it decelerates fast too! Lightened flywheel decreases the flywheel rotating momentum, thus makes hill climbs harder... and gear shifts needs to be quick... if u slow drive, then u shift gear slow slow... ur RPM drops fast, u won't get enuff momentum to get your next gear to start pushing. This is of course on extreemly light racing flywheels lar... if u just skim off 1kg, u'll be feeling more of the positives and almost none of the negatives.

A lightened flywheel usually only effects your 1st, 2nd and 3rd gear. The effects on your 4th gear onwards are usually negligible (dependent on ratio of course)... with some calculations u can prove this.

But anywayz... i guess u aledi have ur mind set on your point for changing to 8.5... further more its already done... so no point arguing lar.

haha.. no arguing ... just want to share out our opinion and expriance let people have a idea to go next step...

ok, for the complete engine set in 91, so far I have see atleast 3 people go to this method, no issue at all even though power gain and etc, of coz they have try to compare original ecu and 91 ecu, no different leh.. the only u can feel that is when slow drive with 2nd gear (below 40km/h) the engine just have a little jerking. I already try one of the car , really same with stock 93..

haha.. no misinform..laa, just want to express out opinion , maybe my english is no good , so let poeple misunderstanding. hahahaha.. :D
yes, with the performance parts racing set flywheel is good for drag racing and etc , but dun take oem one to lighten..laa, end up will get a crazy slip .this is what I want voice out :D

( just for discussion and opinion , not argument)

I don't think so slipping has anything to do with flywheel lightening... ur friend rare case, they must've skimmed it wrongly. Of all my experience of flywheel ligntening, never heard of such case... none of my friends kena this before also although they all lighten it before tak kira 1.3, 1,5 gsr, vr4... also never happened.

So where are all the other hidde 4G91s? No more new people coming in here ka?

How to head count yong?? dont see any heads around here.. haha..

slip on lighten flywheel.. shouldnt happen unless ur car is too darn powerfull that ur clutch grip is unable to keep up with the flywheel acceleration, or worn out clutch, shouldnt be a problem if u changed to racing clutches.. Lightening if done properly and not accesively should benefit u in term of acceleration and the power "feel".. Reliability will be an issue if u lighten too much though..

hi guys... just 1 2 ask how much does it cost 2 skim flywheel.... can recommend any workshop which really knows abt this ha.... tq

Hi everybody!!
i m new here and found this 'gang' is very interesting...

i own a wira ae 15gl(a). it's goin to condemn and looking for transplant new engine. my poman recommended this 4g91..

Anyone can advise me on,
1. how much is the costs of this 'machine'? RM1.5k-2k? depend on yrs?
2. any other parts that need to be changed? gearbox, etcs?
3. i travel a lots esp. PLUS hi-way, noted that previous posts did mention this machine have to struggle when speeding?

Thanks.

SK-II said:
Hi everybody!!
i m new here and found this 'gang' is very interesting...

i own a wira ae 15gl(a). it's goin to condemn and looking for transplant new engine. my poman recommended this 4g91..

Anyone can advise me on,
1. how much is the costs of this 'machine'? RM1.5k-2k? depend on yrs?
2. any other parts that need to be changed? gearbox, etcs?
3. i travel a lots esp. PLUS hi-way, noted that previous posts did mention this machine have to struggle when speeding?

Thanks.

Hi sk-ii ... dis is wat i spent
halfcut (m) 2400 ... mileage 50k
installation 900 .... workshop promotion
old eng. trade in 400 ....carbie
replacement parts 400 ... timing belt,oil seal, etc
JPJ 42 ... i did maself
all togeta i spent 3.3k++

skii...

ur rite...in highway...when my rpm reach 3k edi the speed is just about 80 a bit more onli

Not to say have to struggle due to lack of power, power is ok, no problem in cruising.. but due to the closer ratio Gbox, cruising on hiway is on a higher RPM thus engine seem like under heavy stress.. a wider ratio gbox such as the 1.6 ones should be able to settle the issue.

yong_5290,
that has nothing to do with engine power... thats gearbox ratio punya pasal.

SK-II,
prepare 5k with change.

Hapdates on the vibration thingy..

Went to a mech yesterday, after testing he urge that he is 90% confirm it is the drive shaft thats being naughty, reason being it vibrates on acceleration but didnt vibrate when pedal was lifted off.. :D.. Then jack up the car and test spinning it, free play of the drive shaft is quite big.. suggesting excessive worn up.. then also found out it has affected my wheel bearing.. can goyang my tire already.. tiuu laa..

Lucky yesterday my friend say he got lubang for drive shaft set recond at rm 9x onli, waiting for the stuff from him.. should be quite cheap i think as if i'm not mistaken its normal price is around rm 150, kedai potong also rm 150.. thats at least RM RM 300 easily gone for the month.. aiya.. hav to eat maggi meh..

ehh..i didnt mention gearbox in my previous post ...duh...hehehe

yup...bcoz of gearbox ratio...if use 1.8 gearbox mah diff loh...but then really have 2 struggle a bit edi loh..hehehe

hye all.. long time me not login here.. how r y'all 4G91 doin'.. good aye.. mine no budget to mod further la for now.. happy to see this thread grows.. 12 pages already... c u all.. causss..

4g15p wiring

I know that i'm out topic here but desperate here.

Since you all already convert the engin. Is there by any chance anyone of you still have the wiring for 4g15p for manual car.

I want the wiring from ecu to the engin bay and any electronic sensor for the car engin. It is a mmc ecu.

Hope you all can help out here.