4AGE 16v suspension

iamiceman

I recently did an engine transplant to my Coralla SE EE90 (2E engine, 1.3cc, 12v, SOHC, running on Carb) with a 4AGE engine, 1.6cc, 16v, DOHC, runnig EFI halfcut. All is well but the front suspension is making knocking sound, so I am guessing the shock absorber is dead. Not sure whether the spring is faulty or not.

I asked the mechanic whether I can fit in the old shock absorber from my EE90 but he says it won't fit coz of the knuckle or something. Not sure what he meant.

Anyway, I plan to get a pair of shock from AE111 to fit in. Can any sifu advice me whether this is possible? If not, what are my alternative.

p/s: I think the 4AGE comes from a 2-door AE92 but I cant confirm :hmmmm2: :frown:

after change engine to 4age 16v,the standard suspension really cant hold cuz new engine is more heavy than b4.u should change all suspension system to levin or gettin trd brand lo for new used.try ur luck on cut shop shop 1st.check b4 buy,worry it also dead or oil leak.hope it can help u

Thanks bro Jimmy. Every response helps :)

So if I fit in the suspension from AE111 it should work right? TRD sounds expensive, kinda money tight now after the conversion :)

oic,u can try change ae111 or ae101 levin suspension japan standard as that shcok abs role(batang) more teblal/gemuk than ur se one.so i think it will make ur car more stable when speed/high speed corner.i have to change ae111 japan spec blue colour moccoaa brand 2nd hand for rm600 sorry if i cant write correct that brand.hope u know what brand i mean.it okay also,but after 6 month i chance again to adjustable shock abs from trd 2nd hand also for rm1.5k come together with piller ball upper.it really good for high speed corner where i always go testing my car at genting road.walau..!!! amazing control can turn corner around 120km/h.from enter to upper genting,it just took me 12 minute.best time i think i ever do.:driver:

from enter to upper genting,it just took me 12 minute.best time i think i ever do.:driver:

We've gotta meet up some time for TT and maybe can go genting haha. But after I settle my suspension and get the service done first. Still using some of the old stuff from halfcut, and exhaust is still stock EE90.

Bro Jimmy, hope you don't mind, so what do I need to look out for when I purchase the AE111 shock? I mean things like the knuckle and the disc brake maybe? I really never bought any suspension/shock before. What is knuckle anyway?

What's the differences between a super strut and a normal one?

u buy only half cut engine or complete?why u still look for rear disc?just relax bro iceman.everyone got his first time when doin his biggest project is change engine.when i buy my complete half cut engine,it come everything.that why i no need more find around.just check part first b4 buy cuz lot of cut shop cant change if part got problem.getting ur sifu join u when to checking bro.

Bro,

I bought halfcut, should be complete. It comes everything from the radiator till the dashboard. Including the petrol tank and gear shifter. It doesn't come with rear disc brake, coz mechanic says the AE92 uses drum brake. So I thought maybe I can swap the drum for a pair of disc later. For now drum also working quite well :)

Aiyeh, problem is i don't have friends who knows much about these things. Only can get info and advice here in ZTH. Some more no contact to buy all these spare parts, i just keep on browsing MarketPlace here. I depend on my mechanic for all spare parts.

When you mentioned part number, if say for example the current AE92 shock i am using has the same part number as the AE111 shock, it means can fit without any issue?

Consider converting to rear dics brakes since you're already running a better engine. AE92 disc brakes are fairly easy to find, just need to source at chopshops. Make sure you get them complete with handbrake cable cuz I don't think the drum brakes' handbrake cable are compatible. I'm not sure about the EE90 SE but on the LE (EE/AE80) and Corona ST150/AT151, once you use rear disc brakes you can't use the shock absorbers that were compatible with the drum brakes at the rear. Have to use AE92/AE1X1 shock absorbers as well.

After you change your rear brakes to disc brakes, you can use complete set AE92/AE1X1 shock absorbers front and rear. They should be plug and play. No matter whether it's the stock Kayaba/Tokico ones or the sports suspension or adjustable coilovers. If you're sourcing for the stock (black) ones from chopshops, I've been told by a few sifus here that you should get the Levin absorbers which supposedly have thicker shaft since you're running 4AGE.

Note though that superstrut shock absorbers from AE101/AE111 will not fit your Corolla. You need to get the MacPherson struts.

iamiceman, chopshop is the way of life for 4AGE users...what ragerunner said are true, I did conversion from stock rear drum brake to levin AE1x1 rear disc brakes, and yeah, I had to change the whole system; disc breaks, handbrake cable and absorber. it cost me around RM600. I asked a friend to look for them because I had no time.

rear brake system complete for rm600?i think u r kena potong already bro..i still remember i buy rear ae101 disc brake(nice disc),caliper with brake pad trd ,hand brake cable and some long skru which will fit on suspension one as normal drum brake is different one just for rm300.correct me if i am wrong,it happen long time already 6 or 7 year ago.i have doin change rear disc brake by myself at my friend workshop.it took me 3 hour to complete it.some disc not so good condition they sell off for rm250 to 300 also depend u know them or good in talk.:proud:

Thank you bro redsider and bro ragerunner for all the info. I am saving up for the rear disc brake change :laugh:

I just bought a new pair of original Toyota ae92 shock over the weekend. Handling improves drastically. Can drive faster now ngek ngek!

But still the knocking sound is there, guess maybe it's another part on the wheel. Probably bushes. :bawling:

Probably I can ask another question here. I am currently using my EE90 meter which does not have a speed sensor and thus the CE light always comes on when I hit 90km/h. Any recommendation which meter that I can buy and fit into the dashboard without any major modification?