1jz E36 BMW frankensteining

bugger.. you calling my car a toilet now ka? :thefinger:

Sigh.. I'm already used to it. Seriously I don't think it's nearly as fast or responsive as Titanrevs Honda.
No lah! Chinese proverb....hhahhahha

His Honda high revving monster too and lighter, right?

bugger.. you calling my car a toilet now ka? :thefinger:

Personally, I just find dyno graphs just an indication of what needs work and what needs tweaking. At least now my boost is stable and everything is stable regardless of how many runs I go.

My friend was not impressed when I gave him a ride. We were more terrified of the road block that was around the corner when I was going for that test spin. Lucky cops didn't say anything.

Incidentally I noticed no one cucuks me in this car. Maybe it's the bad smelling exhaust.

Sigh.. I'm already used to it. Seriously I don't think it's nearly as fast or responsive as Titanrevs Honda.

Tapao teh tarik only la. With these horrid brakes and suspension, I haven't done anything I normally would've done with my normal cars.

Yeah really quite surprised you can hold such steady boost with just a manual boost controller. Your friend not impressed because he used to 700hp ka :laugh:

Come come after this try compare with my nubis wajalution haha

saw this ride on autofoam FB page yesterday with a very noiiiiceeeee interior!!

Thanks. I like it too. Plastic needs some adjustment though as it's somewhat brittle.

But still having small teething problems......lol

Like a bloody odometer dammit. I'm testing different apps to help me with this. And then the occasional loose ground wire that caused the fan to fail, caused inconsistent spark, causing the idle to hunt, etc.

l also saw, like brand new car weyh, betul2 fully restore sial

As mentioned earlier, I have OCD. Wanna do, do properly. If I had the budget and time, I'd strip everything, take out the engine, spotweld the chassis, new paint, fix up the entire engine (and replace everything), change to SPAL fans, remove all unnecessary wires, change to proper full on Racing Dynamics lightweight staggered rims, swap to DBW setup, change out the brake calipers front and back and heat + soundproof everything fully.

But I'm a poor bugger. So I didn't do all that.

So when TT?

Can la. Just see when. After paint can?

Some quick updates guys. Nothing too large but it's these small things that'll get to you, and I mean really get to you.

The 1JZ is a notoriously hot engine. And I've been having issues maintaining a decent temperature. All the hoses were in shit condition.
1.jpg

The hoses are completely shot. Heat + rubber + age = needs changing.
2.jpg

Lower arms needed work. Had a nasty clunk everytime I turned the wheel more than 2 turns. Lower arms costs about RM520 a piece. It has 3 bushes on it (2 in and 1 ball external). Hopefully they last forever. The ARB bushes were changed too. All shot! Sigh.
3.jpg

The front ARB is so damn skinny. But I'm not going to change this until later. Cost of fixing/repairing is priority over upgrading.
4.jpg

These rims are the wrong offset and are original BBS RC rims. Replacing them with Hamann 5 spoke rims. I wish they were staggered though. My Hamann rims are square.
5.jpg

I wanna redo this.. Pull fan --> Radiator --> Push fan --> Oil cooler --> Intercooler... I don't think this is a good idea. I should relocate the oil cooler but I'd need another fan to cool the oil cooler. It gets damn hot without a fan.
6.jpg

Current look.
7.jpg

This is why I wish my rims were staggered. The rear fender were flared out and I'm contemplating either a spacer or removal of the flare.
8.jpg

Can u relocate the oil cooler to the side like what Proton did with CFE intercooler?

Just need small fan and minor wiring.

Then can fabricate cooling plate so that the radiator always suck in fresh air instead of hot air recycled from the engine bay.This will be unique to your car only.can brag during TT session.

Can u relocate the oil cooler to the side like what Proton did with CFE intercooler?

Then can fabricate cooling plate so that the radiator always suck in fresh air instead of hot air recycled from the engine bay.This will be unique to your car only.can brag during TT session.

Have to see fender got enough space or not. Then again big car, should have big fender space gua. No need custom whatever plate, just stick some high density foam there then can liao

Yeah I intend to do that. But not right now. The tuner has been poisoning me with SPAL fans and apparently he has 4" fans too. Perfect for the tiny oil cooler. I wanna upgrade my rad pull fan, the other push fan to SPALs. But kinda expensive so let's see how it goes next few months.

Have to see fender got enough space or not. Then again big car, should have big fender space gua. No need custom whatever plate, just stick some high density foam there then can liao

What kinda foam?

Wow, very powerful leh! Need more rubber at the back and be more careful in the wet. Your rear rims are too small, need another 2 inch wider with at least 265 tires.

Yeah I intend to do that. But not right now. The tuner has been poisoning me with SPAL fans and apparently he has 4" fans too. Perfect for the tiny oil cooler. I wanna upgrade my rad pull fan, the other push fan to SPALs. But kinda expensive so let's see how it goes next few months.

What kinda foam?

High density foam lorr. I think Yu Jin got some. But I used some foam from my company packing wan. Tested fire resistant high density foam hehe.

Lower arms needed work. Had a nasty clunk everytime I turned the wheel more than 2 turns. Lower arms costs about RM520 a piece. It has 3 bushes on it (2 in and 1 ball external). Hopefully they last forever. The ARB bushes were changed too. All shot! Sigh.

The front ARB is so damn skinny. But I'm not going to change this until later. Cost of fixing/repairing is priority over upgrading.

How many pieces required for one side lower arm..? One shot everything..... :smokin:

Yea, get it in good condition and let the boost make u smile n have a great time ...:marchmellow:

from radiator hoses pics. Rust or residue. Radiator in good condition ?

Yeah, checked. The alu is all good. Flushed inside out before filling with new coolant.

Wow, very powerful leh! Need more rubber at the back and be more careful in the wet. Your rear rims are too small, need another 2 inch wider with at least 265 tires.

That's insane! The AD08R were 245/40, 265 is too much.

High density foam lorr. I think Yu Jin got some. But I used some foam from my company packing wan. Tested fire resistant high density foam hehe.

Ha? Gimme some!!

How many pieces required for one side lower arm..? One shot everything.....
Yea, get it in good condition and let the boost make u smile n have a great time ...

The arm comes with the bushes and all. Only just 2 pieces L shaped arms, built in 2 pieces bush and one "coffin" bush at the top. That's all. Stupid arms are so expensive.