120Y Old School

cookie: no lar bro.. i'm just using a caplang brand. no money to buy those good brands. hehehe.

abubu: yup, there's some increase in acceleration when i changed the exhaust. but there's slight increase in FC as well. later the mech say change the manifold to get higher top speed. thats the next project :smile:

about the absorber and springs i'm using the original absorbers. front spring also original. but the back one i'm using the one from honda civic (year 96-99). its actually the honda's front spring. appears a little stiff. but when u load people then its nice to drive. if not u feel the car a little hard :biggrin:

i have an old pic of the car. bout 2 months ago. will take a new one and post it soon...

sam1741 said:
wah.. i dono the car can go that fast one
now i have to find back my 1.2 engine.. ehehehehehe
ahaha..juz go find mechanic that hustle with this kinda old engine la..that do port n polish..find weber carburetor or twin solex..reprofile ur cam..then vroom2..ehhe..juz my 2cent..

volvo850, do u have a volvo850 at home too besides your 120y? haha. u know alot of ppl likes to 'chi fu'/look down on our poor old datsuns. to them, they think our car is a piece of junk. ive discovered that whenever i drive my datsun, ppl will cut into ur lanes recklessly, overtake u rudely, no matter how fast u drive they still wan to overtake u. when i drive my dad's waja, i drive at 60kmh less ppl overtake leh...lesser ppl tend to 'play' with u.rasa like they give u more respect la.i think theyre bastards man.

btw, ur datsun looks cool frm the pic.what size of d rims r u using?.it suits the car quite well eh.i'd like those big bumpered datsuns. mines the smaller bumper wan. initially found a set of big bumpers from a chop shop and my dad wanted to buy it...it was rusty and expensive...a whooping rm300 each! in the end rather ask the welder to knock back my ori bumper into back into shape during bodywork restoration.

yeah i do discovered that my datsun is best driven with around 3/4 passengers inside...alot stabler and somehow it just feels better than u driving alone. 2 passengers doesnt make any difference frm single passenger tho.

zyfull: its hard to find these kinda mechanics that will do this kinda job for u, at least in the east. west im not sure. most of the mechanics just say...aiya, engine so old...replace new 1 la. repair oso wont last long. :frown:

abubu said:
volvo850, do u have a volvo850 at home too besides your 120y? haha. u know alot of ppl likes to 'chi fu'/look down on our poor old datsuns. to them, they think our car is a piece of junk. ive discovered that whenever i drive my datsun, ppl will cut into ur lanes recklessly, overtake u rudely, no matter how fast u drive they still wan to overtake u. when i drive my dad's waja, i drive at 60kmh less ppl overtake leh...lesser ppl tend to 'play' with u.rasa like they give u more respect la.i think theyre bastards man.

I was staying in Kuching I cut ppl in out got lar.... ppl cut me no coz I got darn loud exhaust at that time HAHA

Hi guys, Im relatively new to the Datsun 120Y. Im currently looking for one to be my hobby car. After doing some research, I notice a whole load of various engines the car can take. I just want to conform a few things. If the car comes with the 1.2 engine, can the 1.5 engine be transplanted in straight? is there any need for mods. Like mountings and all. Any of you guys have a turbo charged unit? What about the CA18DET? Anyone using this engine in their 120Y. Im planning to do the transplants myself. Hope you guys can help. Thanks.

cookie...what ride r u usin ar? ure dun drive a 120Y rite? wahaha. ppl dun give face to 120Y la..unless u really mod it 'kau-kau' hahaha, and give a very bad ahbeng look. the car looks to uncle-ish ma....

hahaha
look 'uncle-ish' more better
ppl think u not fast
than when your SR20DETT under the hood smoke them
they will .. be scared and confused.. hahahahaha
ppl said "wolf under sheep clothing"

kodiak :
yalo.. change to 1.5.. no moddin on mounting. but need a bit mod on the exhaust header and also the throttle cable might not be long enough (still can use la but not look nice)

Thanx for the info sam1741. What about other enignes? like the CA18DET? Equally as easy or is there a lot of modding in the engine compartment?

oh.. others i not know....
might need to ask sifu sifu at datsun1200.com

cause when i choose transplant my target is :
- bigger cc and torque
- shape and sound is same (not suspecious to JPJ)
- least modification

:) post your pic here after you transplant.. :)
btw SR series also a good choise.. it is quite common...
someone done RB series into their dat also. if i not mistaken.. :)

Yea, I checked out Datsun1200.com. Some of the cars got extreme mods, like rotary engines and all.
The SR engines? hmmm. Must look up on that, If they are not too hard to transplant maybe, But not too powerfull, the car might not be able to take it, hahaha. I wonder if there was a 1.6 turbo engine around. Most of the T units start from 1.8cc. Thanx for the info Sam

kodiak:u can find nick name b310turbo..he oredi transplant ca18det to his 120y..i oredi seen it..his place in shah alam..u can find it in nissan thread..he car was cool mean..oredi rebuild in out..u didnt realize that u r in 120y if u r sit in his car..with bride bucket seat,power window etc..the engine oso totally packed..piping 3inch n etc..chrome here n there..ehhe..go find him for more info..

sam:juz browse to carburetor section..join them..they will help u on that..but dunno either they live in north area or not..some of them expert in carby such as fstrader..ehhe..hope it will help if u wanna mod ur engine..sure can kaw2 one..ehhe..

yeah....
the most amazing mod i saw on datsun1200.com is the one with ELECTRIC MOtor inside his dat... and that Dat hit the drag strip somemore... :D

zyfull : so cool that B310turbo guy car.. got power window somemore.. my window now kinda loose and got sound comming from the door.. interior also not nice anymore.. set also a bit koyak.. :( sigh.. so many to be done...

ahaha..but i think the worst was mine..bonet oredi leaking,floor always wet,sunscreen oso same..ehhe..luckily roof not leaking yet..so sad man..ehhe..juz like junk car but drive everyday to class..ehhe..

hahahah
mine no better...
actually just do the paintwork and body few months ago
but now also leaking water....
sometimes above the rubber mat got water below not got
sometimes u flip to see below rubber mat got water, above not got
strange strange....

and suspension also near kong already... :(

but still drive everyday
and sometimes tapao some ah beng kancil and loud loud *new* saga
hahahaha :D

ahahaha..maybe later i will doing total refurbish..going to take all thing in car..then taking for welding..repill all the rush..weld with new one...then going to transplant new heart..ehhe..i mean engine..but all depend on $$..if got beyond that..surely all will change..ehhe..hopefully can..slow n steadyla..

hehehe
me thinking since everything also not perfect
i will strip out every thing la.. leaving only the dashboard and seat
this will make the car light weight.. :D

sam1741 said:
hehehe
me thinking since everything also not perfect
i will strip out every thing la.. leaving only the dashboard and seat
this will make the car light weight.. :D
ahaha..stripe to do bodyworkla..not to light weight..ehhe..easy to find rush at ur bodyla..then easy to do welding work..sam,do u has yahoo messenger..ez to chatla..

hehehe
i always like the 'track car' looks
where inside the car no carpet no backseat one
all meatl.. hehehehe
and many gague
hehehee :D

actually our dat have one advantage
is that we got 'oil pressure' gague..
where other new car not have.. :D

p.s. sorry bro no yahoo or msn la.. stupid office policy not allow us to connect.. :(

oil pressure gague??where is it..mine only got engine temp n fuel meter..maybe mine different model with u..