1.8GSR Mivec Turbo Problem... Help...

11000RPM

Hi all.

Anyone tried this before? I get to know a friend who did this to his car but what he said is less power produced by the engine when MIVEC is activated, why?
Thanks sifoos...

:biggrin:

Basically, with a mivec turbo... the mivec function becomes dulled and you might not actually see big gains unless the tuning is good. Depending on the mods, turbo and etc etc.. you might want to move the mivec activation range. Go to some place where they have done this before and get a good tune. cheers

I think you should get a standalone or a piggy that can handle or control variable valve thingy. IMHO, Rojak engines do very vell only with the above.

mivec

hi,

me not engine design engineer so pls dun flame...heres my opinion after two joints.

NA camshaft for high end power especially when mivec hi cam kicks in will usually have more overlap and lift than when b4 mivec kicks in.

turbo camshaft usually have less overlap and lift to promote low end power. high end power is provide by means of compressed air from turbo.

Now u have an NA head bolted onto turbo engine. when mivec cam kicks in, alot of ur precious air-fuel mixture is forced straight from intake valve to exhaust.

Basically i feel ur fren paid dearly for an interesting experiment by his mech.

of course, if he's using the mivec ecu, timing and fuelling might also be an issue.....

140dB

Mivec Turbo

It all depends on tuning.....

I was driving a mivec turbo a year ago. It was a GSR mated with a mivec head and a TD05H. It was good. reponse and high end is good (for a GSR). Suitable for street. Power comes in 2 stages. First the turbo. Thn the mivec.

GroundZro said:
It all depends on tuning.....

I was driving a mivec turbo a year ago. It was a GSR mated with a mivec head and a TD05H. It was good. reponse and high end is good (for a GSR). Suitable for street. Power comes in 2 stages. First the turbo. Thn the mivec.

i argee ! cheers!

very interesting about mivec turbo...

anyone dyno the car?

:D how's the reliablity?

kwai said:
very interesting about mivec turbo...

anyone dyno the car?

:D how's the reliablity?

kwai, u interesting ar? we discuss lor... exchange block la... 1.6 roadtax cheaper...:P

the concept of mivec turbo is same as vtec turbo
it is all depend on how u tune or car n activate the mivec function
some will use S-AFC to give more petrol when rpm reach 5k
or some may use stand alone management system to activate the mivec function

excuse me here~!

i hav a opinion bout ur car man...how bout u use the turbo wiring and turbo ecu?it more works if u do like that..and use the shilf light to control the mivec..use the evo injecter,bigger fuel pump,tats enough oledi...believe me

bro.. very interesting to know how to use shift light to control mivec.. how to detect it??

use the rsm 2 control the mivec is also can!

correct...rsm can turn on the mivec by using the output 12V signal from the rsm...
a fren of mine has a problem with his ecu n mivec cannot turn on...install rsm then everything back to normal...

use the rsm 2 control the mivec is also can!

correct...rsm can turn on the mivec by using the output 12V signal from the rsm...
a fren of mine has a problem with his ecu n mivec cannot turn on...install rsm then everything back to normal...