SGTI with Mivec gear box

JohnChan33

Mar 22, 2005
Hi, I'm new aroung here, is anyone have any knowledge about this matter. I'm try to replace my SGTI gear box with Mivec gear box with this kind of modification.
1st gear - SGTI
2nd gear - SGTI
3rd gear - Mivec
4th gear - Mivec
5th gear - Mivec
Final - Mivec

Is it worth it? Is there any big difference when after the modification in term of torque and sleep? and it cost around 2K

Need you guys to advice... thanks. :)

MaNofWaR

Nov 22, 2003
On the AiR
hi...heard its kinda diff or expensive to get a mivec g/box
but its really a sought after g/box by 4g93 users....even i'm looking for one but still cant get a really good deal..hehehe
heard mivec final gear is better in terms of top speed....
just wondering the g/box ur buying, does it come complete with lsd?
if it does...good for u B)

gibod_78

Jan 15, 2004
i think..
mivec gbox final gear is around 4.5..
SGTI final gear is around 4.3
the smaller the final gear is.. the better for top speed.. vice versa.. mivec final gear is best for pick-up ratio..

lucky enuf to get one mivec gbox with LSD.. its going to cost u RM2.3k ++

JohnChan33

Mar 22, 2005
Actually my mechanic is offering me a Mivec gbox without LSD with a 2nd hand aftermarket Kaaz 2 way full lock LSD to fit it in my SGTI. It cost 3K ++

dolly

Dec 24, 2003
dont think you should get the 2way lsd, unless you wanna drag only because u are gonna get lotsa understeer

MaNofWaR

Nov 22, 2003
On the AiR
agreed with dolly...unless u wanna drag
otherwise u could opt to get the g/box w/out lsd & add up a brand new powerzone lsd kit which is considerably cheaper (aprox RM5XX) if i'm not mistaken. purposedly built for a 'moderate' effect suitable for daily abuse. Just a suggestion fren... :)

JohnChan33

Mar 22, 2005
Thank for the useful information. Actually i never heard the brand Powerzone LSD b4. Is it a local brand?
Btw as i mention b4 did u guys come across ppl that convert their gbox from 1 - 2 using SGTI and 3 - 5 and final using Mivec?
what is the pros and cons of this kind of configutation?

kabel_plug

Jan 6, 2005
kuantan
itu powerzone lsd kit apa haaa...biasa punya g/box boleh pasang n terus jadi macam lsd ka,,betul kaa. harga Rm5xx dekat mana pasang dan adakah lama utk pasang ini.

speedking

well....i think changing final drive is sufficient la

nakamichi

anyone knows the gear ratios for 4G92, 4G93 and Mivec... wanna check out the differences...