Headers?

let us know how it works out for you. if got dyno charts even better! :biggrin:

sure you can always go with custom setups. you probably pay less, and get the most hp out of them as well...

but again...its back to personal preference...

you can always go to the tailor and have a pair of pants TAILORED to your body shape and cutting.... but why do people pay good money for branded goods? quality maybe? material maybe? design maybe? all the above?

with custom setups you can never be ASSURED of the HP gains (i've even heard freak stories of HP loss)... and more importantly (to me especially)... the final sound the exhaust produces... just like when you go to the tailor... he can take ALL your measurements, and do ALL the drawings... but how sure are you the final product will fit perfectly and you'll like how it looks?

with bolt on catbacks like the RM01A or TODA or whatever... the sound clips on youtube are abundant. so you know EXACTLY what you're getting... which is important to me.

i'm not someone with hundreds of thousands of dollars to throw into "trial & error"... so at the end of the day... i'd rather be assured with what im getting before purchasing it.

most reputable exhaust makers produce catback systems in 2.36" piping size... it might not make the MOST power... but i'm assured that there will be gains...

i've gotten +15WHP from an AEM V2 intake and a RM01A catback. I spent RM2k to get both...

sure you can probably get a similar setup done locally for RM1,200... and even have 2.5" exhaust piping.... but to each his own i say.... i'm happy with my power gains.... and even happier that i got EXACTLY what i paid for...

you seems very confident with your reply.. and sorry to say that i have to disagree on your "with custom setups you can never be ASSURED of the HP gains (i've even heard freak stories of HP loss)... and more importantly (to me especially)... the final sound the exhaust produces... just like when you go to the tailor... he can take ALL your measurements, and do ALL the drawings... but how sure are you the final product will fit perfectly and you'll like how it looks?" statement.

just so you know most of the peeps here were running on aftermarket exhaust system when they first got their car. as time goes by and thru research plus 'trial and error', the aftermarket exhaust systems offer limited gains as compared to the customized system. Why? Coz it's proven on the dyno. minivan's K24 EP3, subcon ex-DC5, prasath's 250whp DC5, akuma's 200whp B16B CR-X, WAFS' semi track ready DC5, GTI7470 DC5, hasukyo's 220whp DC5 and few others are known to be using customized exhaust system and the power gains are definitely better than what they have used before. I am using 2.3" APEXi N1 system and I gained +10whp for a RM100 job - removal of the midbox. and yet I know soon enough I will throw this and get a bigger pipings simply coz it will give me more power. Oh yeah, I've never actually heard someone loses power with custom exhaust system..unless that someone uses kancil piping size or 4" inch on a stock motor..so it's kinda vague.

So yes, it's all up to individual preference on what they want but your reply just showed how 'green' your point of view is by saying that "custom setups you can never be ASSURED of the HP gains". Perhaps you need to learn to digest and analyze information around you before coming out with the statement. just so u know people in this forum are mostly in their late 20s and early 30s, they have come a longgg way in this 'modification' scene to give their thoughtful opinions. experience speak for itself. :)

By the way you don't go to the tailor to ask them to do things that dont fit you. you go to the tailor to create something for yourself that others don't offer. :)

let us know how it works out for you. if got dyno charts even better! :biggrin:

sure you can always go with custom setups. you probably pay less, and get the most hp out of them as well...

but again...its back to personal preference...

you can always go to the tailor and have a pair of pants TAILORED to your body shape and cutting.... but why do people pay good money for branded goods? quality maybe? material maybe? design maybe? all the above?

with custom setups you can never be ASSURED of the HP gains (i've even heard freak stories of HP loss)... and more importantly (to me especially)... the final sound the exhaust produces... just like when you go to the tailor... he can take ALL your measurements, and do ALL the drawings... but how sure are you the final product will fit perfectly and you'll like how it looks?

with bolt on catbacks like the RM01A or TODA or whatever... the sound clips on youtube are abundant. so you know EXACTLY what you're getting... which is important to me.

i'm not someone with hundreds of thousands of dollars to throw into "trial & error"... so at the end of the day... i'd rather be assured with what im getting before purchasing it.

most reputable exhaust makers produce catback systems in 2.36" piping size... it might not make the MOST power... but i'm assured that there will be gains...

i've gotten +15WHP from an AEM V2 intake and a RM01A catback. I spent RM2k to get both...

sure you can probably get a similar setup done locally for RM1,200... and even have 2.5" exhaust piping.... but to each his own i say.... i'm happy with my power gains.... and even happier that i got EXACTLY what i paid for...
I got 27whp from decat, 2.5" stainless steel exhaust chicken brand muffler. Custom air ram and blitz air filter. Total cost RM : 1500.. didn't experience any power loss.Actually exhaust alone may not give you all the power. you need to match it with the right mods then you'll get the max gain. like size of air ram, type of ram, air filter size , exhaust size, extractor (4-1 or 4-2-1) each of this mods will give you different gain. by the way what is you actual power now? with all the mods. we can compare notes. mine is running at 215 whp 21 torque.

By the way you don't go to the tailor to ask them to do things that dont fit you. you go to the tailor to create something for yourself that others don't offer. :)

:rock::eviltongue:

I second to that Meor, from what I had experienced, most...if not all, racing teams either teams in track, drag, drift or rally do customized their mods to gain the upper edge to their competitors...everybody can buy out of the shelf performance parts but their own custom set-up that makes the difference. Maybe Jaymie, one of our members here who is a race driver can elaborate more on this.

I once joined Abg. Latif of Lydia Racing Team (a respectful drag team sometimes ago famous for his satria 1.6L that beats turbos and vtecs) and from what I saw, his mods were mostly custom and he did his own trial-and-error to get an out of this world set-up. And this trial and error is what we called R&D. Surely it'll cost some money but you gain good knowledge and experience by doing it. Even when I worked with Lotus Engineering long time ago, we did customized many things and we gained a lot out of it. The terms we used in the trial-and-error process was iterative selection of components. So, trial-and-error is part of engineering.

For a normal car enthusiast like us, we surely don't have much cash to do R&D, but, if it's just a simple mod like bolt-on stuff which doesn't cost a bomb, why not..for the sake of experience, knowledge and satisfaction. In the end of the day, you either gain or lose...either way you'll get something out of it...:driver:

---------- Post added at 12:37 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:22 PM ----------

Just to share my custom mods...I customized my air filter ram, heatshield and cold-air intake hose, my non k-series hks muffler mated with custom pipings and de-cat exhaust (I changed my exhaust set-up many times), I cut my tie rods for the sake of getting more negative camber, I changed my tyres and my suspension set-up all the time, I revalved/retuned my shocks to get better handling, my Ultra Racing half-cage/cross bar is also customized. I will continue doing this stuff as long as I have the budget just for the sake of satisfaction, knowledge and experience...and I would love to share it with anyone who's interested.

you seems very confident with your reply.. and sorry to say that i have to disagree on your "with custom setups you can never be ASSURED of the HP gains (i've even heard freak stories of HP loss)... and more importantly (to me especially)... the final sound the exhaust produces... just like when you go to the tailor... he can take ALL your measurements, and do ALL the drawings... but how sure are you the final product will fit perfectly and you'll like how it looks?" statement.

just so you know most of the peeps here were running on aftermarket exhaust system when they first got their car. as time goes by and thru research plus 'trial and error', the aftermarket exhaust systems offer limited gains as compared to the customized system. Why? Coz it's proven on the dyno. minivan's K24 EP3, subcon ex-DC5, prasath's 250whp DC5, akuma's 200whp B16B CR-X, WAFS' semi track ready DC5, GTI7470 DC5, hasukyo's 220whp DC5 and few others are known to be using customized exhaust system and the power gains are definitely better than what they have used before. I am using 2.3" APEXi N1 system and I gained +10whp for a RM100 job - removal of the midbox. and yet I know soon enough I will throw this and get a bigger pipings simply coz it will give me more power. Oh yeah, I've never actually heard someone loses power with custom exhaust system..unless that someone uses kancil piping size or 4" inch on a stock motor..so it's kinda vague.

So yes, it's all up to individual preference on what they want but your reply just showed how 'green' your point of view is by saying that "custom setups you can never be ASSURED of the HP gains". Perhaps you need to learn to digest and analyze information around you before coming out with the statement. just so u know people in this forum are mostly in their late 20s and early 30s, they have come a longgg way in this 'modification' scene to give their thoughtful opinions. experience speak for itself. :)

That’s right; aftermarket products are still bonded with restrictions that prohibit the products to unleash the most out of it. With some customization it can achieve a higher HP release out from your engine.

As for HP loss... like what had mentioned earlier, by read a lot of write ups on upgrades of pipeline diameter you would know If u use 4 inches dia, for K20A definitely will induce to HP loss, response & all. K20A is a high-performance engine, customization with legitimate basis proven to provide improvements & results.

Me using a custom 2.5 inch pipe + Mugen muffler & open pod with custom ram… only muffler & air filter is branded.... but, 24WHP released !:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 12:42 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:38 PM ----------

:rock::eviltongue:

Your 'tailor made' car is the best laa bro! respect!~

im not here to step on anyones tails. and please dont treat me like a child as well....
by saying that people on the forum are in their late 20's and 30's... are you assuming that i'm only 18? :hmmmm:

i've come from a long line of Hondas as well... from H22A Preludes, to DC2Rs to finally the DC5R... i'm not saying that one type of mod is the ultimate mod.. again... my statement was:

"with custom setups you can never be ASSURED of the HP gains (i've even heard freak stories of HP loss)... and more importantly (to me especially)... the final sound the exhaust produces..."

1. With a bolt-on branded aftermarket catback... i know exactly how much HP i'm gaining because there have been dynos done on them.. and with QC from the individual manufacturers... the results should be similar on most DC5's... so i'm more ASSURED on what i'm getting.

As a buyer, this is what is important to ME. It maybe different for you... and thats fine...
YES, there are HP gains from custom setups... Maybe MORE gains.
BUT HOW MUCH? Do you know before getting it done?
Yes you can guesstimate... but do you know for sure?
As a buyer....and using my own hard earned money.... i'd like to be ASSURED. this is what i meant. Sorry i dont earn 5 digits a month.

2. I know what its going to SOUND like. To me thats important because i dont want to spend RM1000 on a custom setup... and it turns out too loud, too raspy, too boomy for my liking. Then what? Spend another RM500 to fix it?

Some like the loudness of custom exhausts and thats fine...
For me however... I want something semi-stock.... I've heard custom exhausts on DC5s, and they're too loud.

3. My statement was to state that i'd rather KNOW what im paying for instead of going with something that is "custom". In my early days driving a satria... i went for a full custom setup because it was the cheapest option.... and guess what.. power loss...

On the Satria:

- Fujitsubo catback Exhaust - 98whp
- 2" Custom setup with cap ayam straight pipe exhaust - 96whp.

So this is coming from PERSONAL experience. Not from hearsay.

I dont appreciate the personal attack and saying that i need to evaluate my information...
i do ALOT...and i mean ALOT of reading.

So i'm sorry if i have an opinion. And i'm sorry if you DC5 GURUS are offended.

:bootyshake:

Dude... Like seriously, Satria 1.6 and DC5 Type-R 2.0 are world's apart. I am here not to ridicule you but I truly do not understand why you gauge the modification differences of these 2 cars together.. Sigh.

Dude... Like seriously, Satria 1.6 and DC5 Type-R 2.0 are world's apart. I truly do not understand why you gauge the modification differences of these 2 cars together.. Sigh.

dude. i am not comparing. im saying its happened to me before... so im not willing to take the risk.

are you even reading? or just selectively reading to find ways to "counter" me? :hmmmm:

i'm not saying "branded is better than custom" or "custom is better than bolt on"...

i'm SAYING....READ....that it boils down to personal preference...

i'm not comfortable going custom.... YOU ARE.

PERIOD.

is it wrong to have an opinion? sheesh.
having an opinion just makes me "green" i guess... :top:
no wonder this forum died off... no ones allowed to have an opinion! :rofl:

just so u know people in this forum are mostly in their late 20s and early 30s, they have come a longgg way in this 'modification' scene to give their thoughtful opinions. experience speak for itself. :)

I'm only 15. :itsme:

since na is expensive, seniors advice so that we have value per hp gain

since branded is your choice,go for it

tq seniors for your expensive research :driver:

Who says you can't give opinion...i didn't see anyone says you can't...so plz continue with your opinion and share it here BUT bear in mind..opinion is opinion you can't say you're right and other people is wrong...

So...you're 15..no wonder :biggrin: ......just joking man...

Who says you can't give opinion...i didn't see anyone says you can't...so plz continue with your opinion and share it here BUT bear in mind..opinion is opinion you can't say you're right and other people is wrong...

So...you're 15..no wonder :biggrin: ......just joking man...

i never said i was right.
i just didnt like it that someone called me "green" and a "youngster"... which to me translates to "noob".

well i guess i could always take that as a compliment. :biggrin::biggrin:

BACK TO HEADERS:

I've asked the owner of kiddracing and he says that the headers should bolt up to any aftermarket catbacks without any modifications.... even 2.36" piping..

who exactly needed the modifications when bolting on the headers to their exhaust piping?

i only ask because im considering the kiddracing/club rsx headers.

alooo, anyone has OEM tps sensor? i'm just worried that tps sensor is causing my high idle problem...anyone know how to inspect whether tps got problem or not? maybe tim should know this..lol..

I think better cut this crap...back to the header/exhaust thing...

Like branded ones, local and imitation made ones also have proven dyno results...it's not just guesstimate. We get the info from dyno shops, friends, forummers, mags, net, etc.
We get info for branded stuffs the same way too...so it's the same.

And nukee, just to correct points from your previous post,
1. Custom exhaust doesn't means it's loud...well you can choose the exhausts to your liking...you can check out other member's car from this forum when we have TT.
2. Bout bolting on the header to the piping, since they're from different manufacturer, sometimes it'll fit directly and sometimes it'll not. Based from what I know...YES in 'many cases' you need the modifications when bolting on the headers to the exhaust piping. BUT, if kiddracing matched perfectly, then it's good news.
i never said i was right. .
You didn't say you're right but ur posts sounded otherwise "custom setups you can never be ASSURED of the HP gains".

---------- Post added at 04:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:55 PM ----------

alooo, anyone has OEM tps sensor? i'm just worried that tps sensor is causing my high idle problem...anyone know how to inspect whether tps got problem or not? maybe tim should know this..lol..

Jun, you can try mine to check your idling problem...

aiyohhh. enough of the earlier post already. you all not "sien" i also "sien"...

you guys are not reading and just picking on my words.

"custom setups you can never be ASSURED of the HP gains" ---> MEANING you do not know the EXACT horsepower gains!!!! its custom at the end of the day!! read it... i never said you WONT GET GAINS...

i can go to jaafar and get a custom 2.5" on Monday... the guys mood damn good... he bends the pipes well... welding also good... i dyno and get +20whp.

on Wednesday... a fellow forummer goes and gets a custom 2.5" done as well... the guys mood is bad... pipes have slight mis-bend... welding isnt as good... its custom & theres bound to be human error... dyno and get +15whp...

YES! Both also got gains... but with custom setups...you cant be ASSURED of the HP gains... meaning you cant say FOR SURE what the gains are.

get it? i didnt so NO gains.

For bolt ons that you buy OFF THE SHELF and are MASS PRODUCED... there is QC....the factory will not release a part if it doesnt pass inspection. so you know for sure the materials used are good... the bends are all up to spec... and the outcome will be SIMILAR (+ - 10% depending on the health of your car).

why do you people keep harboring on the same point and misinterpreting it!!

:banghead::banghead::banghead:

-end-

back to the topic at hand... i know TODA headers will bolt straight up to my RM01A mid pipe... so thats why i'm wondering why the kiddracing wont.

is it because:

1. Length issue? Kidd racing not long enough?
2. Flange issue? The 2.5" flange wont bolt directly to 2.3" flange?
3. Fitment issue? Kiddracing since its a replica isnt 100% accurate on measurements?

Just need to identify the problem.

Also, Kiddracing exhaust comes with a "test pipe" to bolt onto the mid pipe. So why dont we modify the test pipe instead of the mid pipe?

Wow, i missed out on a lot of the hot debate. So freakin busy at work today!!

Maybe i'll just add a bit more... The 'branded' ones still have to work around certain regulations/industry practices like JASMA in Japan or some state laws in the US on emssion and noise or noise regulation in the UK (they have rules that cars only below a certain decible are allowed at trackdays... i've seen it myself while i was there). So I read somewhere (can't remember where)... in some ways these exhaust manufacturers have to kinda compromise on ultimate power gains when designing exhaust to meet these regulations and stuff, unless it states there "For race use only" and stuff like that la... which we use on our daily drivers without feeling any guilt at all actually...

So, since we are in kinda lawless Malaysia in this area, we can have our exhaust customed to as free flow and loud as we want... at the end of the day not everyone can afford or even if they could want to pay thousands and thousands for bits of metal and pipe, which gets spoilt by our bonggols and humps anyway... looking at the works of some local customiser is actually worth it...yes not all of them do good jobs, but there are really good ones also out there...

lol 'lawless MAlaysia'

btw, bearing in mind that Singapore has that exhaust emissions and decibel threshold regulations (and being citizens of lawless MAlaysia with loud K20As), will we be allowed into/fined on Sg roads if we praaang praaang and open vtec there, purely based on decible intensity or that we have decat-ted?

Or will the authorities cut us slack cos we re not Singaporean, and we can go in to Sg regardless of how loud our cars sound?

*YAWN*....since i dun own a DC5R i think i'll resign myself frm dis thread n go back n do MORE READING.....i'm just gonna confine myself w lotsa reading materials n not gonna listen 2 any opinions or experience frm whoever n just rely on wat i get frm reading.....
heck,i'm not gonna even ASK 4 any opinions or watsoever coz i m gonna get so much more accurate information frm just reading......
so,c u guys on trackday soon(is der gonna b any b4 Moto GP?).....
my nimkampoop el-cheapo exos "system" whc i can't even guesstimate wether i gained/loss hp coz it doesn't haf any QC wud like 2 "talk" 2 any branded w super QC exos SYSTEM.......
coz i came 2 dis set up frm asking ard n checking out fren's set-up + dyno results n i certainly din READ anythg dat inspired me w my set up...remember,mine's a set up..not a system..coz it ain't got any QC...
oh,dear....my dinner is cold....damn..now i hafta reheat it.....d heat in here sure ain't gonna help w heating up muh dinner...ciao...

=.=

shows how mature people on this forum are.

well if i could i would delete this thread because its ending up to be a "personal attack" thread.

again... people dont read and just pick and choose words so they can "attack" the author.

i never said anything about custom exhausts not being good. i even said they might have better gains compared to branded ones.

i value every single bit of advise people give... and my initial post was again answering your question of "why 2.3" then?"

again... if you people bother reading... i said "its about personal preference".

if you want to be an idiot about it... go ahead.

i just have one last thing to add since we're all being childish...

http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/1377/englishmotherfuker.png

learn some English! :rofl::rofl::rofl:

QC on branded exhaust does not assure long last lasting, better quality or better sounding exhaust. Got the toda cat back and had to go to Dino twice already to get the silencer "custom" re - welded already. Mind you, did less than 10k on the clock when that happened the 1st time. Initially thought the fibre was gone.Just 2 months ago it sounded like an RXZ with sand in the muffler again. Had to go back to our local trusty jawa in sunway to get it re - welded.I wrote to toda, they claim it was an installer defect. Spoke to Jacky, he said it must've been a manufacturer defect. QC my A$$!

Should've just gotten a custom setup and use a cap "ayam muffler". Would've cost 1/3 of the toda cat back and "tak sakit hati" if leaked or the silencer fell loose. Not trying to add gas to the flame, just sharing my experience:angel:

*YAWN*....since i dun own a DC5R i think i'll resign myself frm dis thread n go back n do MORE READING.....i'm just gonna confine myself w lotsa reading materials n not gonna listen 2 any opinions or experience frm whoever n just rely on wat i get frm reading.....
heck,i'm not gonna even ASK 4 any opinions or watsoever coz i m gonna get so much more accurate information frm just reading......
so,c u guys on trackday soon(is der gonna b any b4 Moto GP?).....
my nimkampoop el-cheapo exos "system" whc i can't even guesstimate wether i gained/loss hp coz it doesn't haf any QC wud like 2 "talk" 2 any branded w super QC exos SYSTEM.......
coz i came 2 dis set up frm asking ard n checking out fren's set-up + dyno results n i certainly din READ anythg dat inspired me w my set up...remember,mine's a set up..not a system..coz it ain't got any QC...
oh,dear....my dinner is cold....damn..now i hafta reheat it.....d heat in here sure ain't gonna help w heating up muh dinner...ciao...

*laugh*!!!:biggrin: