let us know how it works out for you. if got dyno charts even better!
sure you can always go with custom setups. you probably pay less, and get the most hp out of them as well...
but again...its back to personal preference...
you can always go to the tailor and have a pair of pants TAILORED to your body shape and cutting.... but why do people pay good money for branded goods? quality maybe? material maybe? design maybe? all the above?
with custom setups you can never be ASSURED of the HP gains (i've even heard freak stories of HP loss)... and more importantly (to me especially)... the final sound the exhaust produces... just like when you go to the tailor... he can take ALL your measurements, and do ALL the drawings... but how sure are you the final product will fit perfectly and you'll like how it looks?
with bolt on catbacks like the RM01A or TODA or whatever... the sound clips on youtube are abundant. so you know EXACTLY what you're getting... which is important to me.
i'm not someone with hundreds of thousands of dollars to throw into "trial & error"... so at the end of the day... i'd rather be assured with what im getting before purchasing it.
most reputable exhaust makers produce catback systems in 2.36" piping size... it might not make the MOST power... but i'm assured that there will be gains...
i've gotten +15WHP from an AEM V2 intake and a RM01A catback. I spent RM2k to get both...
sure you can probably get a similar setup done locally for RM1,200... and even have 2.5" exhaust piping.... but to each his own i say.... i'm happy with my power gains.... and even happier that i got EXACTLY what i paid for...
you seems very confident with your reply.. and sorry to say that i have to disagree on your "with custom setups you can never be ASSURED of the HP gains (i've even heard freak stories of HP loss)... and more importantly (to me especially)... the final sound the exhaust produces... just like when you go to the tailor... he can take ALL your measurements, and do ALL the drawings... but how sure are you the final product will fit perfectly and you'll like how it looks?" statement.
just so you know most of the peeps here were running on aftermarket exhaust system when they first got their car. as time goes by and thru research plus 'trial and error', the aftermarket exhaust systems offer limited gains as compared to the customized system. Why? Coz it's proven on the dyno. minivan's K24 EP3, subcon ex-DC5, prasath's 250whp DC5, akuma's 200whp B16B CR-X, WAFS' semi track ready DC5, GTI7470 DC5, hasukyo's 220whp DC5 and few others are known to be using customized exhaust system and the power gains are definitely better than what they have used before. I am using 2.3" APEXi N1 system and I gained +10whp for a RM100 job - removal of the midbox. and yet I know soon enough I will throw this and get a bigger pipings simply coz it will give me more power. Oh yeah, I've never actually heard someone loses power with custom exhaust system..unless that someone uses kancil piping size or 4" inch on a stock motor..so it's kinda vague.
So yes, it's all up to individual preference on what they want but your reply just showed how 'green' your point of view is by saying that "custom setups you can never be ASSURED of the HP gains". Perhaps you need to learn to digest and analyze information around you before coming out with the statement. just so u know people in this forum are mostly in their late 20s and early 30s, they have come a longgg way in this 'modification' scene to give their thoughtful opinions. experience speak for itself. :)
By the way you don't go to the tailor to ask them to do things that dont fit you. you go to the tailor to create something for yourself that others don't offer. :)

:eviltongue: