Carburetor Section

hi guys, long time not in here, hw ur all carb doing? :biggrin:

I need opinion from you all, especially uncle fstrader.

My engine 4G91, 1800cc (don't ask about the cc :biggrin:)
Twin weber DCOE 40
Choke/Venturi 36
Main jet 170
Air corrector 200
272 cam
peak power start at about 7K rpm

The problem is, below 4K rpm already too rich but it is lean starting 6K rpm, pinging like hell, try retard distributor also no use.

Need opinion, is it DCOE 40 still sufficient in my setup or I need to upgrade to 45?

Or to get MSD ignition to get the fuel burn better at low rpm, so I can tune the carb to more rich?

aduiii....

i have to cari balik all my drawings :hmmmm:

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b30/FredFST/image006.gif

Anyone tried fitting an open port for a carb? I saw someone did it.. I just bought a CAI kit so I was thinking of fitting one on mine..

You mean open pod air filters ar? Just go custom an intake manifold that fits onto your carbs then put the filter lah...

As for the CAI why not just put the hose straight to the carbs? They work as well what haha :rofl:

Lol, i did that, fit the CAI into the intake for the carb inlet, but the stupid designs that 4G1X's have is that the hot air from the header also is ported into the intake. so that means i got hot/cold hahaha! but not a problem anymore tomorrow, changing my header and going to wrap it with thermal wrapping :)

The hot air goes INTO the carb or around? My nissan also has a hose from the header to the carb, but I read somewhere the design is to heat the fuel or something.

In the end I threw the hose away anyway :driver:. No difference in driving haha :rofl:

its call thermostatic air intake or something...its purpose is to improve engine performance and driveability when the engine is cold...heats up the intake air during cold engine operation...thus, run on a leaner air-fuel mixture during warm up...

aiyo,my car more worst...the engine was non-crossflow 1...my carb was sucking hot air all the time...:biggrin:

LittleWhiteWagon:
bai,me still newbie in the field la~~~

how was ur GA16???alrdy weber-ed it???:driver:

You mean open pod air filters ar? Just go custom an intake manifold that fits onto your carbs then put the filter lah...

As for the CAI why not just put the hose straight to the carbs? They work as well what haha :rofl:

it was actually for the other regions that have cold weathers. but what use is hot air to us? thats why the COLD AIR INTAKE exists :proud:

Soooo modest lah you, this attitude also must follow from you haha :biggrin:

Belum lagi boss! Lack of money now so not yet, but im still saving slowly but surely :rofl:

Dont worry, once i've started doing the weber i'll put a thread specifically for it... Hows your kambing?

kairigi:
bro,fyi...it only functioning during cold starting...it won't suck any hot air frm the exhaust manifold after the engine reach its operating temp.

LittleWhiteWagon:
lol...im telling the truth ma~~~

oic...kayuh pelahan2...hehe

yea..weber powered GA16!!!

my kamben eh...sihat and baik2 belaka...kekeke

aduiii....

i have to cari balik all my drawings :hmmmm:

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b30/FredFST/image006.gif

heheh...this kinda similar to my mikuni phh40...hehehe..thanks bro..hehehe..free to tune 4 totle carb eh ???hehehe..buat pinjam bro skit...

ae101rulez:
if compare both mikuni phh40 & weber DCOE...mikuni phh40 tuning wise much easier then weber DCOE...DCOE to many parts...rumit sgt~~~hehe