RM115k for new Proton R3 or Top Up for DC5

Now,abt d MME Neos not using d Campro engine,i can't comment on dat as i've never seen them.but i encountered a supposed R3 Gen2 track car in SIC b4.i duno wat's d spec n who was driving it but it was helluva fast!b it ard d corner or on d straights!cud these cars b using d race engine on d Proton Impian/Waja race cars entered 4 BTCC?they look awfully similiar 2 d Campro,no?

if im not mistaken that waja in btcc use perdana sei engine

not to compare but somehow in the same class car... Neo R3 LE/ Civic EK9 .. which one did u prefer???

hmm... no potential at all? if im not mistaken R3 won the 2008 mme and 2009 sepang 1000km race with a non cps neo. as for me, i do think this car got potential. just need a little bit more touch up and a good driver =D

p/s: even ae86 can beat mustang. good setup is the answer. hp?

I think you better get some "insider" info on the MME & 1K race first before hand....those cars have heavily modified chassis & engines.....its like comparing an R35 road car with a Super GT car....most of the other cars (honda/toyota,nissan) are amateur entries with small budget, R3 is a full factory sponsored team...:smokin:

this according to my friend that work at hotbits workshop in pj..he said proton built the rollcage for their satria neo at hotbits n my friend teams built it..he said the neo dont use campro engine at all..they use special order race engine from hungary..that why satria neo at 1000km race very fast compare to on the road satria neo...that what my friend said la. if he cheated me, ialso cheat u la..hahaha

i dont think the information is true as far as i know (when i got a private visit around proton warehouse) the engine was a campro but the parts have been extensively modified for race spec so it would be different from a normal on the road campro but other than that it is still campro and about the roll cage, from what i know proton made it themself just like those neo for the neo cup proton all build their race car in house and i doubt they will send it to hot bits ( im not sure for exactly but it will try to find out)

between a EK9 & a Neo RE LE?i'd choose d EK9 anytime.not becoz of d B16B's potential...simply coz a Neo is NOT comfortable @ all!not talking abt power,simply d comfort level.seat sucks.steering feel & response sucks.head room sucks.plastic quality sucks.i especially HATE d small kicimiau glove box!n very minimal cubby holes.dun shoot me.not totally a Honda fan or a Proton hater.but i m saying dis on a very neutral stand.i've driven both d manual & auto 1.6 H-Line Neo.wud like 2 try d CPS 1 day n hopefully dis R3 LE version too.

not to compare but somehow in the same class car... Neo R3 LE/ Civic EK9 .. which one did u prefer???

EK9 is a cult car very hard to compare. The R3 on the other hand..don`t know much about it but seems to be quite good. Have to weigh the pros and cons. With R3 you`re getting a new car and should be able to last longer. The EK9 just like all Civics in Malaysia is incredibly over priced and > 10 years old. Power wise I think clearly the EK9 rules and in terms of looks and overall build quality definately the EK. But disadvantage is the pricing and the age of the car. I would go for the EK9 but then I`ve always been a Vtec fan. It really depends how you`re looking at it.

Some people like new cars and you have to admit there is a big difference between buying something brand new and something which has probably been trashed by previous owners over the last 10 years or so. Both got their merits and the market would have factored this in when determining the vehicles pricing. Whether to go for EK9, R3 or DC5? At the end of the day only the person buying the car and paying the $$$ can decide which is best.

For tall (185cm) dark handsome guy like me.. Huhu.. neo is too small.. But I don't have issues of space - head/leg room in EKs, EGs or even EFs for that matter.. Honda again trumps in dis area..

minivan,
even a shorter thn u guy like me has serious problem w Neo's headroom..can't imagine wearing a helmet n bringing d car 2 track.....a fully lowered bucket seats will surely help tho.......
anyway,wud really like 2 know...any Neo R3 LE owners reading dis?put ur hands up!admit ur 1 of d owners..hehehehe

I'm 6ft...definitely can't move in...look like the dashboard above my tummy....while i drove mine dc5 having no problem with it..look cool cos just like sitting on the floor....

minivan,
even a shorter thn u guy like me has serious problem w Neo's headroom..can't imagine wearing a helmet n bringing d car 2 track.....a fully lowered bucket seats will surely help tho.......
anyway,wud really like 2 know...any Neo R3 LE owners reading dis?put ur hands up!admit ur 1 of d owners..hehehehe

Akuma,
I'm quite surprise with the front headroom issue, I had driven a std neo (not this LE) with helmet but encountered no problem. My height about 178cm. A friend of mine also about 185cm-190cm no problem with wearing a helmet :hmmmm:

aikksss???185cm oso no headroom problem?n whn u say std neo,meaning w d stock seats,right?duno man....i drive d 1.6M H-Line w.out d helmet oredy got headroom problem..really dun like d car ler.....but u can't deny d exterior is 1 of d best frm Proton thus far....

if its so prestige... with the lotus racing color... it should hv something like the Petronas E01 engine in it.... then it should be a real gem

eh,side track abit.ekcerly hor,wat happened 2 those EO1 engines?dis r d engines fitted into SGTi used by SIC ppl,right?all i heard is they r to expensive to produce.is dat d only reason y it din make it into production stage?ppl keep saying dis engine is damn powerfull!who drove w b4?

thx deacon,googled it n read abt it oredy.look REALLY nice!but w dat spec sheet,wat's d hype abt?
Max Horsepower: 204.3 PS @ 7300rpm
Max Torque: 203Nm @ 5300rpm
n it's being compared w d K20AR?d E01 is not even a mass produced unit yet,reliability in d real world untested.if Honda had it's way,i believe they can simply make 260ps frm d K20AR.d only interesting thg pointed out by d author is,d E01 does haf better torque characteristics.BUT,if an E01 n K20AR were tested side y side,i wonder whc engine will reach it's peak torque 1st?(5300rpm vs 7000rpm)
now,if only i can get my hand on 1 of those E01s,hehehhehehe

aikksss???185cm oso no headroom problem?n whn u say std neo,meaning w d stock seats,right?duno man....i drive d 1.6M H-Line w.out d helmet oredy got headroom problem..really dun like d car ler.....but u can't deny d exterior is 1 of d best frm Proton thus far....

Yup with the standard seat. I had a discussion just now...maybe it depends on the type of helmet. That time we used the sparco open face supplied by proton coz that time (for the duration of 3 years) I was doing the R&H development of the neo.