Ignition tuning class 101

DonaldTan

Dear All Sifu,

Can anyone share any light on how to tune IGNITION? Tuning FUEL is quite easy with WIDEBAND but how does one tune IGNITION?

DonDon

few things , feeling , hearing , knock detector and of cos dyno to see gain n drops
according to a sifu tuner in sunway named kenji

i think i meant when not on the dyno ...
sorry if mistaken.

btw anyone know who sells a knock detector ?

Ignition timing adjustment is a little bit tricky and the most crucial part to generate more power for the engine.
It's depend how do you want to tune it. Ignition distributor advance? Standalone ECU? ......
The max power gain is advance until the engine pigging and retard back by 2-3 degree after you reach that max level. It's very much depend on the experience too.

the best bet would be on dyno... view the torque graph carefully with every change of ignition timing. too advance or retard will loose torque... set the best timing for the highest torque curve from the dyno read out. of course when you achieve best torque for the rpm range naturally your power will increase too. there is no need for knock monitor if you have a dyno.. because good torque power is an indication that the engine is in it's optimum settings.

on the road tuning ignition timing, it's all about sexperience and feeling...:stupid:

er... if you guys dun mind, i would like to share mine.... but pls dun flame if im not doing it right. its just my method and for the time being havent blown my engine yet.

im using e manage ultimate on my 1jz. and i monitor my knock via my 2 knock sensor.(i din use water compensation nor intake temp). i will first try my best to do a 11.8afr reading on full boost(on dynojet wideband and export them out via note file). then i will play around with my timing and datalog every run.(on the road) .i will try to add in timing across the map untill i see knock. slight knock at around 33%. then i will add in fuel and bring them down to 11.6afr and observ if they do anything good. if yess then good. if not, i will take out 2 degree. normally it will eliminate knock straight away.but i will try lean them back to 11.8afr and observ again. if knock is not there, then u are done. if theres still slight knock at 13-16% i will ignore them as well (reason being is i normally tune during day time and hot evening) during my night sprint, the knock will dissapear and in some occasion i mix in either toluen,methanol or octane boosters to compensate for the very slight knock. and so far... even at 33% knock shown in my laptop, there arent any audible sound yet. but to be on the save side better keep it low or dun let it appear at all. im not sure how accurate my knock sensor is but so far tis is d only gadget i have for my guideline

good explanation from renxun......! "just gv wat the engine need to produce power" awalys remind yourself.............and "no knock,no power":rofl:

That is what I call IGNITION TUNING CLASS 101. Now anyone wanna give some practical tips? I need someone to show me how this is done on my car with EMANAGE.

DonDon