Painting brake calipers

heheh i think i infulence alot of people to spray /paint their calipers....might want to do a meet up with painted brake calipers member hehehehe

anyway i am thinking of spraying my rims...to gold ..where can i do it,. which is good and reasonable......i can diy but i need a good clear/liquer for the last layer...

Mine one is original small caliper...don't know nice or not :huh:

i think those gloss paint that used for ur gate n fence will melt in high temp. it will cause the paint to drip onto ur rims bro! Dont use that!

Sifus, just a few Qs b4 i start my DIY project :D

1. When we clean the calipers before we spray paint it, can wash with normal car wash soap? Will it spoil the rubber seal of the piston?

2. During paint, any part on the caliper eg: especially the mouth conecting to brake hose, need to cover? (Assuming already remove caliper from car)

3. Can spray inner part of the caliper? (to prevent corrosion) Or just spray outer can edi?

Million thx. :itsme:

Sifus, just a few Qs b4 i start my DIY project :D

1. When we clean the calipers before we spray paint it, can wash with normal car wash soap? Will it spoil the rubber seal of the piston?

2. During paint, any part on the caliper eg: especially the mouth conecting to brake hose, need to cover? (Assuming already remove caliper from car)

3. Can spray inner part of the caliper? (to prevent corrosion) Or just spray outer can edi?

Million thx. :itsme:

Hi , as for me..I did not remove the calipers before I paint it..I just use dish washer to clean the brake calipers with metal brush..I just paint every section that i could reach..

thx bro :D

Ard how many cans needed?
Anyone did a full spray can help :P Thx

Erm , I did not use spray..I use paint that came in tins..Then use a small brush and paint the calipers..

paint the caliper is another option..but need more patience,maybe.

Then which would produce better finishing bro? Spraying or brushing?

And for the so called "heat resistant paint" how to determine its actually heat resistant? Any recommended brands? Thx:driver: wanna DIY mine asap :biggrin:

Then which would produce better finishing bro? Spraying or brushing?

And for the so called "heat resistant paint" how to determine its actually heat resistant? Any recommended brands? Thx:driver: wanna DIY mine asap :biggrin:

I guess spraying will have a better finishing..smoother..but from what i brushed , the finishing is considered smooth to me..Erm , the paint that i use to paint my calipers are ( Hammerite , Red Engine Lacquer , Protective Coating For Use On Liquid Cooled Engines , Temperature Resistant to 150 degree celcius and etc..It cost me RM27..The smallest tin I could get..

paint the caliper is another option..but need more patience,maybe.

Erm , about painting..It stated "Quick Drying" , how quick , I have no idea..What I did was , while and after I painted the calipers..I place a fan to blow it..Assuming it will dry faster..I think it took me 3 hours , 6pm to 8pm to dry..How I determine the dryness is by touching the paint by it stickyness..

looseand,
did u get some shots of ur diy project?
:stupid:

Erm , can view it ?

Sry , having real problem with photobucket..it will appear another picture..

Bump: th_PC270026.jpg

wow..
cool!
nicely done looseand!
so u take out d caliper to spray, then put it back..?
isnt there any settings on the brake that we need to take note??

Nice DIY bro looseand:adore:

Secret remedy plz :biggrin:

wow..
cool!
nicely done looseand!
so u take out d caliper to spray, then put it back..?
isnt there any settings on the brake that we need to take note??

Thanks thanks , Sorry for the late reply..Haha , secret remedy would be nothing..There is no secret remedy ( Kung Fu Panda Movie )..I did not remove the calipers..just paint on it..About settings , I am not too sure..sorry