[WTA]the recommended engine oil for 4age20v

it is the trademark sound of 20v lah.... tektektek..... diesel sudah mai....:thefinger:

i use mobil 1 fully synthetic engine oil..
until now still doesn't need to top up
but the will sound like diesel engine when the engine is hot..
is it tappet sound?
but if it is valve clearance, for sure it will sound like that while engine is cold..
and, do u know which shop sell shim for this engine and how much it would cost?

seems like most 20V have the sound especially Silvertop, maybe already near expires.
Mine also had the sound, as long it keep running without problem, you can make any
noise.

muzhaffar, how long you using the Mobil 1? the way you drive? it's very concern me
coz I need to topup, reverse situation when using Toyota Semi.

seems like most 20V have the sound especially Silvertop, maybe already near expires.
Mine also had the sound, as long it keep running without problem, you can make any
noise.

muzhaffar, how long you using the Mobil 1? the way you drive? it's very concern me

actually, i just bough that car about 1 month.already travel over 5k km
since i change the engine oil, i never top up and the level of the engine oil never reduce lower than 3/4..

ya mobil 1 is good...
shell helix also not bad.
but i'm using Idemitsu though.

actually, i just bough that car about 1 month.already travel over 5k km
since i change the engine oil, i never top up and the level of the engine oil never reduce lower than 3/4..

as long as u not over the mileage,u dont need to refill the lubricant..i never top up engine oil for my car untill last month forgot to change and suddenly it evaporate..huh.

noise.

maintain semi-syn is good enough. probably your piston rings or oil seal are showing sigh of ageing, & can't take full syn as they used to be. i've been using semi syn for the past few years and never once i need to top up. the sound you mentioned, it doesn't matter if silver or blktop, it sure there as long you use the stock intake pulley. change to aftermarket pulley, advance it, and not only you eliminate the sound but probably can increase the performance too.

yea...if take good care of the ride...never need to top up even using full syn....
as for the sound, as i mentioned earlier, change to aftermarket pulley n take away the vvt pulley, no more tek tek or diesel sound, power all the way..and fc going up up n away....

u mean change the VVT pulley (intake pulley) only.??..never heard before

owh
so, it sound of the pulley..if take away the intake pulley, there is no vvt anymore
and fuel consumption sure high
b4 this, last owner put racing cam inside the engine..
idling is worse..
i ask him to change to standard one..also put back original air cleaner instead of trumpet..
so loud suction sound..
just want a smooth and silent ride..

I think the driving pattern does make a difference in engine oil consumption. If you drive like pijak semut, then the oil level probably won't drop but if you whack the the engine like nobody's bzness, then the oil level will drop; I'm talking about Mobil 1. Of course, this is only my humble opinion from the observation being a Mobil 1 user for the past 10 yrs.

owh
so, it sound of the pulley..if take away the intake pulley, there is no vvt anymore
and fuel consumption sure high
b4 this, last owner put racing cam inside the engine..
idling is worse..
i ask him to change to standard one..also put back original air cleaner instead of trumpet..
so loud suction sound..
just want a smooth and silent ride..

yup.it will disable vvt..normally people just change exzhaust pulley not intake pulley.some change both pulley with hi cam(more effective)

Bro jackisblack,
how much is the motul 6100 price ?

Bump: Bro jackisblack,
how much is the motul 6100 price ?

i've tested shell helix semi syn,mobil semi syn and Q8 semi syn,of all that i prefer the Q8 coz the engine feels lighter and more responsive...:burnout:
and regarding the vvt pulley,not necessary will increase ur fuel consumption,depends how u tune it,i chge both my pulley to adjustable and the car now save more fuel:proud:
juz my 20 baht,dun shoot if wrong...

i've tested shell helix semi syn,mobil semi syn and Q8 semi syn,of all that i prefer the Q8 coz the engine feels lighter and more responsive...:burnout:
and regarding the vvt pulley,not necessary will increase ur fuel consumption,depends how u tune it,i chge both my pulley to adjustable and the car now save more fuel:proud:
juz my 20 baht,dun shoot if wrong...

fuh yo... changed adjustable pulley. tat y ur car so powerfull hahahahha

Q8 oil 10/40W .. i use it.. very good.. so far very good ,...

fuh yo... changed adjustable pulley. tat y ur car so powerfull hahahahha

Q8 oil 10/40W .. i use it.. very good.. so far very good ,...

aiya,bro KHWONG,my car no powerful lah,powderfull got lah...:biggrin:
yup,the Q8 10/40W oil is not bad lah,been using it since i've transplant the engine,til now never need to top up...:proud: