Guys, oil survey.....

xxxx

ok, i thinking of trying new engine n gearbox oil....

wat do u guys recommend? pls recommend any brand tat u've tried n tested.... budget = doesn't matters

n pls let me know which brand u guys r using....

thanks!

engine oil.....

pls state at least...

Brand?

normal/ semi or fully synthetic?

5/40? 10/40? 15/40? 5/50?

gearbox oil....

brand?

honda mtf ultra?

motul ff lsd2?

redline?

comments?

thanks again!

I'm using fuchs 5/40 synthetic... so so lah.. don't think it any difference from Pennzoil 10/40 normal I used previously.

So after this, I'm sticking to pennzoil, but I change regularlylah.. every 5K.

Gear oil.. honda mtf.. whatever the oil, sure got wear and tear punya. :P

Summore, no lsd for me, so don't bother about the gear oil brand too much.

try use Q8 Semi oil 10/40......very good.....currently using it......
the price is RM85+,can buy at Eneos....
and add one more tufoil in it...then u can feel the different....

what does tufoil do? something like X1-r?? has anyone tried X1-r yet?
gear oil use motul lsd....engine oil Q8 quite good lah.....but of coz if got higher budget go for motul fully synth or any other branded fully synth ones......

shiro,
the pennzoil is semi or fully syn? n how much is it?

grex_r,

the hks is turbo racing wor....kl here seling for rm99....
i've read hks website, there's a special engine oil for NA engines....it's called the super NA racing i think.....

coltrain,
how much is the tufoil?

is fully synthetic oil suitable for our vtec engine?
i heard tat the thinner the better? true or false? that means 5/40 better than 10/40?

hehe.. it's normal oil.. very cheap.. cheaper than what most people can get since I can get it at a special price, one of my relatives has a spareparts shop...

I'm just trying out synthetics now after my engine transplant last 1 month and 1/2, but the price is a killer if you change your oil regularly.. (since I drive a lot, usually 10K is within a month but this month not doing much travelling, and I'm not the type to check engine oil regularly, so I just change every 5K, regardless of how the oil looks like, or the oil level... Just say I don't touch the dipstick very often. :P (previously using the D16)

Kinda depends lah.. like my friend say.. use racing engine oil will make the engine feel smoother, but you'll experience more wear as the mileage accumulates, since the oil is very thin.

Use semi oso okay, if you do a lot of town driving..

Use synthetic if you drive your car hard, or tend to stretch oil changes.

For me, since I change my engine oil regularly, even a regular oil will do... as long as it's of the correct weight/thickness.

Of course, lastability is better with synthetics, but when you have a B18C and a B20B block in your storeroom, suddenly lastability is not an issue anymore... ROFL!

i see....thanks for the info...

my car is seldom driven....more like a weekend car....a sunday car...hehe

but planning to do some hard stuffs later.....tat's y asking for opinions....

wat do u guys suggest?

got quoted yesterday...

honda vtec lev normal rm5+

honda vtec lev semi sync rm7+

honda vtec lev fully sync rm140.

prices for 4 liters.

lex, use this oil.... made from londang, kelantan... kekekekke

sure powderfull....

formax.jpg

formaxmadein.jpg

hahahaha....wat the old fashion tok, bout the thickness of the OIL...ahahahaa:_:

use Q8 or Motul sure won't let u down lah, plus add some Tufoil or some X1-R things into it, sure can get more protection loo....:_:

hattech-v said:
buy x1-r can get deanna yusof or not aaa? hehe...

yes use Q8...
i got few for sale...

can, as long as u really really loaded....:_:

u got Q8 for sell or for Sales..???

hattech-v said:
i'm seelling it... big discount for u jin... kekeekeke...

ok, PM me the best price u can giv me....5w30& 10w40...all semi:X-:

i've tried on my car as listed below.....not abit different .........

Engine Oil

1. motul 15w40 semi synthetic engine oil = RM100
2. hi rev 15w50 semi synthetic engine oil = RM79
3. mobil 10w40 semi synthetic engine oil = RM85
4. sharlu 20w50 mineral based engine oil = RM45
5. Q8 10w40 semi synthetic engine oil = RM85
6. Shell helix 15w50 mineral based engine oil = RM52

gear Box Oil for LSD

1. Redline 75w90 = RM55/1 litre
2. Castrol LX90 = RM70/4 litre
3. Motul 75w90 FF type 2 = RM110/litre (like shit after 5000km feel very hard to shift gear from 3rd to 4th and from 4th to 5th gear)
4. Motul 75w140 fully synthetic = RM120/litre the best ever

long last, at least 40k km....save u'r money la abang!!!!!!

bely bely smooth when shifting from 1st to 5th gear!!!!!!!