Which engine oil to use? *AE92*

bro TKS,

since i can sense bro tks is another toyota owner here comes a detail info bout my car.

My situation for the past & current :

For all the while im driving, i had been using Penzoil 20w-50 till now. petrol from ron95 shell to ron97. things happened like this, during the period use ron97, when high rev/ step harder on my pedal there comes white smokes and petrol smell. so i assume that uncomplete combustion. And now, I switched to Ron95 Petronas. No white smoke at all. Things that reli get on my nerve is the FC, 1 full tank can only go max 300. Yes, its ori engine no mod at all. can bro gimme more advises ? And oh ya, few days back i jsut changed my engine oil, using Euro Oil if not mistaken.

Thanks alot !

you're in the toyota forums...i think we all are toyota owners... :biggrin:

are you still pressing hard/high revving when on RON95? hehe...since you didn't mention... :tongue: not too sure of the white smoke when switching fuels...nothing comes to mind that can cause that. If anything RON97 will allow you to run higher ig. timing, but its its quite a hassle if you're switching back and forth. I remember older non electronic toyota distributors had a little knob on the side of it to quickly adjust if you switched fuels, but the 4A wont have it...

your AE92 is running the original 4A-F right? as far as your FC goes i think your carb probably needs a cleanup & retune. While the engine will run half a million kilometers, I don't think the tiny sensitive jets in the carb will! Many products out there, you can try DIY flush out your carb first and work from there. Do your have any starting / idling problems?

nowadays hardly rev edi. but my rev max oso go till 4500 rpm tats it. thats when im in hurry or rushing. i think so im using 4A-F, its the original engine. err yea, u mean the distributor right? perhaps can workout from there too. umm oh ya, what kind of flushing and clean up? engine flush? i saw one at tyre shop. Err its a STOP OIL Engine Flush. not reli sure its reli work or not but neva try. btw i neva back to ron97 anymore. currently running on ron95 Petronas, once a while Caltex ron95. which is my fav petrol but limited to due limited Caltex Petrol Station in Klang. 1 more thing my car still running on carburator :/

noooooooooo! not engine flush! please don't...if you're confident and know what you're up to, go get a bottle of CRC carb/choke cleaner. empty the whole can for the cleaning process, don't stinge. :biggrin: don't forget the float chamber too. 10~15 minute process that can't harm, plus the cleaner only costs RM2x from your friendly neighborhood parts store.

As far as fuels go, i trust: Shell, caltex, esso/mobil. petronas & bhp always feel crummy, not to mention makes my GZE knock. WTH....... :banghead:

I don't think there's anything wrong with engine flush solution if it is from a good brand like STP. The procedure is to follow the instructions to the letter. Don't go adding your own steps to the process. Personally, I don't know if it really helps. It doesn't hurt, i suppose, except your wallet.

A good fuel system clean can certainly helps. Helps clean out the gunk and stuff. Since it is carburated, a good tune-up of the carb can do wonders. Even better, a complete overhaul. That step is only recommended if you can find a tech who really knows his way around a carb.

Good luck.

err wat is CRC carb/choke cleaner? im reli noob at this. if u say to choke the carburator, my foreman once a while will use WD-40 to choke the carburator. and oh ya, float chamber = carburator? one last thing which is, morning i've take a look under the bonet, my foreman installed a vacuum quite some time ago. its for better FC and power woooor~. i duno its reli help or not. So.. wat bros think?

http://www.crcmalaysia.com/malaysia.htm its a brand of products. lube, degreaser, etc.

vacuum thingy? mini turbo or whatever they're called...? not worth whatever you paid for it. Rather spend the time & money getting your carb set-up right. Take it out & monitor your consumption again.

float chamber: think of your carb as a toilet. the float chamber is where the water (fuel) is kept for use when flushing (sprayed to power the engine). haha :biggrin:

btw, what's your mechanic trying to achieve by spraying WD-40 into your carb? WD-40 is a lubricant/penetrating oil, not a cleaner. yes, it while it may have some sorta cleaning properties, its not for carb cleaning!

Cheers....

hoho looks like i din ask wrong person edi. thanks alot sifu ! so, the CRC i just need to spray the thing called float chamber ( under my filter thingy there? correct me if im wrong please.), and take off the vacuum thingy and monitor my FC. is that correct sifu?

And ya..err where can i get the CRC cleaner ah?

please, i'm no sifu...just a fellow petrolhead. :biggrin: there are many others here who are more knowledgeable than me.

tell you what. are you from KL? check ur PM inbox. :burnout:

first of all, I need to say BIG BIG thank you to bro TKS. Without him, i think i still stuck in my own world wandering whats goin on with my car. Well, he took the trouble to meet me up although raining then drive off to USJ area. Things started when he pop up the hud. saw some 'facinating' things there, and i have to say with his Three Bond product, it SERIOUSLY helped me. clear off my carb, helped me re-tune the timing, and much much more. And who says good service must come with face smashing bill? Services from bro TKS, i have to admit he is real GOOD !

two thumbs UP for HIM !

:embarassed: glad to be of service...do monitor your FC and let me know...

cheers!

My oil??? Whatever left by the rich guys from my friend's workshop. Those rich guys serviced their car in the workshop do not care the oil balance left in the pack. After the work is completed, after paying, they just go and ignore a few hundred mililitres. After a few days later and atfer a bunch of rich customer later, the pack is full..... So, the poor feasts with the crumbs from the elite, collecting whatever left. Sometimes Helix Ultra, sometimes Mobil 1, if lucky Motul RACE 300V, if not so lucky Helix HX-7..... Don't be sad... it is free after all....

TKS, maybe you could share with us what you did for howy. Always like to know what the problem was. Also what is that 3 Bond thing? By the way, Happy Chinese New Year to you and everybody on ZTH. Kong Si Fatt Chai!!!