JB New Section........ Part 4.....

Electrical fires can happen anytime..

By the way, How much would a small fire extinguisher for the car cost?
Also out of curiosity.. Would it be safe to keep it in the car under the hot sun for long periods of time? Cause last time i did experience a air freshener can exploding in my car due the heat.
Thanks.

frank...
yeah....i mean tap to ECU grounding pin....
our ECU got a few grounding pin de ma.....

basil....
i tot u love to read news???
always see u posting up news...
didnt u read before gen2 n neo caught fire???
those r fairly new n stock car wei!!!!
dun tell me ur benz(replica) is much better than proton.....
all bullshit....
wahahahaha

i really dun hav fire extingusher in my car wor.....
for me...
no point putting in the boot area la....
should put at somewhere reachable (meaning somewhere near driver seat)....
just my 2-sen....

Car will only caught fire mainly due to wiring issue. Of course there is still some others cause like fuel vapour and static sparks but mostly main culprit was from electrical wiring.

Some like i mentioned before, too many tapping connection in single wired, loose connection (hence create spark) or wire deteriot.

Most common fault i see was lose connection and overload. For example, installer A will use this cable for speedmeter. Thn installer B will use the same cable for turbo timer thn installer C will use the same cable for something else. Here you already overdrawn the power from what the wire design to hold for. Hence as time goes by, the insulation of the cable will melted due to heat and once the naked cable core touch any metal will create sparks. Several small mini sparks will then create fires.

As for loose connection, the same example apply. Only that installer B and C doesnt know the same cable was used by Vendor A, and he pull the cable to reach result the previous connection came out or loose. They normally twist both cable together thn tap with cable tape which is not strong enough and installer B and C doesnt know that. Its normal for installer to use the cable which its eaiser to find or use.

each cable can only hold this much of ampere current draw if you're not aware. Try to use batt jumper cable which is small thn jump start a bigger batt, hold it long enough and you can feel the cable how hot it will become. Some even cant be touch at all. Hence you see normally those batt shop jumper cable is diff from those petrol kiosk selling. Those are welding cable and the core was very fine type hence result better current flow and heat resist.

This is the very same reason why grounding will improve car performance in certain manner. As stock grounding is only sufficient to cater for stock application, adding more items will only strained them even more. Providing extra grounding and shorter path will improve electronic sensor signal more accurate/fast and reduce interference
hence result improvement in several area. With signal manage to reach ecu more accurately and faster, ecu will able to react faster hence more responsive engine. If you have those gadgets, the reading will be more accurate as less interference.

Side track, Calvin, this is why i emphasis and spent so much on those grounding cables that i gave it to you.

fire extingusher, if you read the spec, you will know what is the heat torelance of it. Else those fire fighter will be exposing their live to more danger or bring bomb around instead of saving life.

Very simple, you light up a lighter, spray your air freshner to it and see what happen. Do the samething to fire extingusher

calvin,
stock car doesnt means no risk. U won't know how well is the assembly line do. Those risk wont come immideatly but its a time bomb. So those incident, we won't know how good is the wiring connection and also, who else can verify or confirm those owner didnt even add amp or change HU?

look at grounding cable at our ECU pin and i will know how WELL can they handle extra strain. Is that really so hard to provide a new grouding point?

cal i really dunno wor tat neo n gen2 can explode or caught fire tat easy.............man no wonder keon sold it off n say good bye to his club member coz scare later all explode 2gather gather wahahahahaha.....................but then about the benz hor i would say ofcourse is way much alot better than proton wahahaha :rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl: see price also will know liow lar wahahahahah :rofl::rofl::rofl::thefinger::thefinger::thefinger::thefinger:..........I really have to agree wit u about the alocation of the fire extingusher............need to be able to reach easily................fire fighting equal fighting time............................

cocky kao kao sial!!!!
ur car worth 100k or 200k or 300k or even more???
proton oso hav a car priced at around ur car price ler...
can i say dat car is better than urs???
chiu.....shallow....

frank....
thankiu v v much for the grounding.....
as for the timer grounding point...
i'll go check it out later la....
dun wanna tap at this current wire as edi used by emanage.....

well cal my car is at lower price is due to AP lor..........else is sure 100k++ lor wahahahhah.............wat i shallow..............can u compare a 1.5 car vs 2.0 car..........cannot rite...............eg can i take yr car compare wit EVO3 or higher no right wahahaha................. if cannot then where is yr point whahahah...........:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

fire extingusher, if you read the spec, you will know what is the heat torelance of it. Else those fire fighter will be exposing their live to more danger or bring bomb around instead of saving life.

Very simple, you light up a lighter, spray your air freshner to it and see what happen. Do the samething to fire extingusher

Thanks for the explanation, it makes perfect sense.. :)

i intend to get one fire extinguisher for my caldina.. last time dun have for neo.

-.-
how much can that thing cost. You have money to buy such a big car but no money to buy such a small thing for safety.

good morning!!!!

keon...
well said man!!!
wahahahaha....

well guys....
i settled the a/f issue.....
the tapping of wiring all no prob...
end up ask ah dee to change a O2 sensor...
viola.....
cruising a/f around 14.4+-...
but 1 prob....
when full throttle....it will go till 10....
i know lesser number = richer la....
n when full throttle more fuel go in, which make sense to b rich....
but then got so rich ma???
then if i rev till around 5-6k rpm n lift off (gear still engage)....
a/f go all the way till 20 wor.....
i know cannot depend 100% on this pen timer.....
just wanna know should i leave it like dat...
or should i try another O2 sensor....???
since ah dee there got plenty.....
wahahahahahaha

oh frank....
ur old engine....
kaboom edi!!!!!

Got money to buy the small thing lah..
But if we do a Bulk buy then it will be cheaper for everyone right?
Which will help those who have a tight budget to also have one mah..

mr cool val...
i suggest u go n find out how much the mini-spray-can-like fire extingusher cost first....
then ask urself how much cheaper can get if buy in bulk....
n then ask urself again....
how many qty oni considered as bulk purchase???
10??
20??
50??
100??
1000???

calvin,

the reading is normal.

When full throttle at higher RPMs, aroudn 3.5k onwards, your AF ratio will decrease due to more fuel is needed to cool down the combustion chamber to avoid knocking and also other reasons. That's why when you do dyno, your AF ratio sure go down at higher RPMs.

When you lift off, even at low RPMs, say 3k rpm also will have the 20.0 coz you are using the engine to slow down your car and thus less fuel is given to the engine which give rise to the high AF ratio.

Last but not least, the Apexi turbo timer AF reading is not accurate at all. Don't rely on it too much. Use it to see whether your car is operating normally. If you see some big deviation/difference than you use to see, then you have to be careful and find out why.

chows. I go Kpower hantu...

wah.. long time nvr use this word liao.. hahaha.....

mr cool val...
i suggest u go n find out how much the mini-spray-can-like fire extingusher cost first....
then ask urself how much cheaper can get if buy in bulk....
n then ask urself again....
how many qty oni considered as bulk purchase???
10??
20??
50??
100??
1000???

Well said cal..........last time spend money like water didnt wan to bulk buy now is a trend to jio others to buy in bulk izzit............KNS.............but anyway thanks but no thanks for being concern for other ppl pocket............This is the bloody 1st time ever Mr Cool val giving concern for ppls lar.........but in actual fact just ask for fun i think (still remember u say this "Aiya fuck it to the forum ppl lar")