Shift Light from RSM

udengfahlawi

has anyone done it before?...it's written in the RSM manual that we can use the RSM to send signal to light up an (external) Shift Light, but hafta be wired thru a Relay....i just want to know what type of relay since it is not mentioned in the manual tho....

udeng, no need to be so troublesome. get pivot shift lamp from me, just plug & play. haha.......

but need to get signal from ecu or behind meter right?? if from rsm, use something like the usb cable only right???

udeng, no need to be so troublesome. get pivot shift lamp from me, just plug & play. haha.......

with RSM easier to set mah....and supposedly more accurate also....just set the rpm numbers, it'll send signal to light up the shift lite, via a 12VDC relay lah....no need to rev high2 then press button....

but need to get signal from ecu or behind meter right?? if from rsm, use something like the usb cable only right???

no...the signal cable is provided...to be attached to the side of the RSM....so i'm keen of using all the features that it supposed to come with ler.....

for more accurate gear changes maybe...??hehehe:D

shift lite for decoration purpose laa....car not fast then must decorate ler...hopefully can win auto salon ler....

i agree with you la udeng... same with me here, slow car, only can do decoration in car.... later can become christmas tree

u got the cable ke udeng?? the head is like usb head right?? if your project on, tell me more.

if i'm not wrong u don't need to use relay, cause the signal comes with power, few volts so u only need to find lamp or l.e.d that uses that amount of voltage..... if jadik tell me k

if not for gear changes...then good luck on ur decoration...
hopefully u can win auto salon...

what is the best rpm range to change gear.... at peak of power or at peak of torque??

you shift after the peak.
The torque peak is such that at the two sides of the peak, torque is still a lot.
So if your gear coverage is from 6-8K, then peak should be around the centre of that.

if your gear coverage is from 7-9, obviously peak should be higher as well, and around the centre of 7-9K.

If torque peak is at the point where the gear engages (i.e. around 6K or so), shifting at 8K into that zone, possibly will get wheelspin, so not really travelling faster.

The torque peak is such that at the two sides of the peak, torque is still a lot.
So if your gear coverage is from 6-8K, then peak should be around the centre of that.

if your gear coverage is from 7-9, obviously peak should be higher as well, and around the centre of 7-9K.

If torque peak is at the point where the gear engages (i.e. around 6K or so), shifting at 8K into that zone, possibly will get wheelspin, so not really travelling faster.

quite true. no wonder la when i change gear from 1st to 2nd and 2nd to 3rd always got wheel spin. changing gear at the wrong rpm..... that's why always lost during larian amal.... thank you shiro...

what u mean by gear coverage?? i still catch no ball :confused:

which model of rsm are you using?

the black kaler one....here's what i found in the net:

Optional RPM Output
Activates output at desired RPM level.

Example: If the RPM is set to 7500 rpm, activated 12v device is then activated when rpm exceeds 7500 rpm.

Uses: Activate a shift light, nitrous oxide, etc.

Wires to use: White (Rv0)

CAUTION: The RPM output wire is a switching ground. You must use a relay with a seperate 12v power source.

udeng,change ur rsm to HKS type 1...got mcm-mcm here...

HKS’ Turbo Timer Type-1 is a full featured Turbo Timer that combines all the features of the Turbo Timer Type-0 with added monitoring and metering functions such as RPM, time to speed/distance, peak hold & warning features and a stopwatch for lap times. Unique to the Type-1 is that its metering and displays are in MPH and SAE standard readings. Ex. 0 to 60 MPH, 60 foot, 1/8 mile & 1/8 mile times with trap speeds in MPH. -> Black Timer is US spec, silver timer is JDM spec readings.