Speed signal wire disconnected.

OTF-39

Ok...i have an interesting question for the members....

What will happen if the speed wire connecting to our ECu is disconncted?
More detail situation. Refer to attach Url. A RSM used get ride of speed limit cut by intercepting the speed wires connecting to ECU. so if RSM got unpluged, the cable will be disconnected as well....

Url: http://img182.imageshack.us/img182/1866/rsm8gm.png

So going back to the question, what will happen if this speeed wire is disconnected? Any sifu who can answer this?

as i know ur check engine manitor will blinking. but it not effect ur ecu performent.

For toyota,it will have an effect of ecu working conditions but have no effect on drivability,other makes i'm not sure,but should have effect.

if the car is equiped with TCL, EBD etc....will that get affected as well? since all are speed related functions....

Ok...i have an interesting question for the members....

What will happen if the speed wire connecting to our ECu is disconncted?
More detail situation. Refer to attach Url. A RSM used get ride of speed limit cut by intercepting the speed wires connecting to ECU. so if RSM got unpluged, the cable will be disconnected as well....

Url: http://img182.imageshack.us/img182/1866/rsm8gm.png

So going back to the question, what will happen if this speeed wire is disconnected? Any sifu who can answer this?

What car are you driving ?

If the speed wire that connecting to your ECU has disconnected you will either get inaccurate speedo reading from your analogue meter panel else you speedo meter may not run not running at all.

The pic that you attached doesn't apply to all car.

There are some car which need TWO speedo signal (one input/one output) to RSM to disable the speedcut (RSM capable of doing that). One would be from ECU and one would be from your speedo meter speed sensor.

Hope this answer your question.

If Speed sensor not connected, CEL will appear. In my case, the speed sensor wire is connected but speed sensor itself (located behind the speedo) is faulty (will only work if u whack the dashboard a couple of times), CEL appears and stayed on. No effect but I notice gear shifts not consistent (because mine is auto).

if u r driving GSR (i am...)... cut the speed wire.. then the ecu wont received and speed info... thus making the car... have no speed cut/limit.. as for the analogue speed meter... it is still working fine

CEL light is not affected... i can confirm that...

hahahah.... yup.... u sure know 1...

just trying to help thred starter.... since he didnt mention wat engine he using... or if L5 the power steering wil have some problem i guess...

my friend cut the speed sensor wire at l200 turbo with no prob and have no speed cut