1jz E36 BMW frankensteining

The car you posted seems to be using stock ECU - it's not a problem. It's only a problem if you're using a standalone like me.
Some questions for you ..

* Which series of 1jz is your's? Non vvti?

* How much extra, can one squeeze by using a standalone as opposed to a standalone?

* Were there complications transferring ownership? I heard some owners of hybrid BMW JZ vehicles had "Tidak Boleh DiPindah Milik" on their grants. Did you have to use a runner?

Some questions for you ..

* Which series of 1jz is your's? Non vvti?

* How much extra, can one squeeze by using a standalone as opposed to a standalone?

* Were there complications transferring ownership? I heard some owners of hybrid BMW JZ vehicles had "Tidak Boleh DiPindah Milik" on their grants. Did you have to use a runner?

1. Non VVTI. There are two camps - one says VVTI has more power and the other says the non-VVTI is stronger overall. I just bought from the latter. I don't really care about either.

2. The reason why the previous owner had a standalone was because of the oversized injectors he was running and the massive turbo. Otherwise I honestly doubt you'll get anything more than 10% max. The 1JZ stock ECU isn't exactly conservative.

3. If the owners registration grant has that stamp "Tidak boleh dipindah milik' then you can pretty much forget about the transfer. Even with a runner it might not be possible or will be insanely expensive. Mine doesn't have that stamp and it was a very straightforward transfer. Previous owner brought the car to puspakom to get the "name transfer" 4-point check done (just remove tint) and then both owners go to JPJ to transfer name (not necessary to be both at the same time. Can be done 1 week apart max. I did this all myself without runner. I wasn't willing to pay their exorbitant fees

1. Non VVTI. There are two camps - one says VVTI has more power and the other says the non-VVTI is stronger overall. I just bought from the latter. I don't really care about either.
Not that familiar with these engines but from what I read, the vvti are newer & more expensive. Peak torque comes at lower 2400 rpm as opposed to 4800 rpm. Due to the complexities of vvti, they are however not that upgrade friendly. May be more appropriate for those opting for auto transmission. VVTI redlines at 7000 rpm while the non-vvti is 7500 rpm.

Found a nice read here > http://mywikimotors.com/toyota-1jz/

Btw, your purchase really perked my interest in this car. Trouble is I have to decide which & when of the my current vehicles to replace.

Not that familiar with these engines but from what I read, the vvti are newer & more expensive. Peak torque comes at lower 2400 rpm as opposed to 4800 rpm. Due to the complexities of vvti, they are however not that upgrade friendly. May be more appropriate for those opting for auto transmission. VVTI redlines at 7000 rpm while the non-vvti is 7500 rpm.

Found a nice read here > http://mywikimotors.com/toyota-1jz/

Btw, your purchase really perked my interest in this car. Trouble is I have to decide which & when of the my current vehicles to replace.

Nice link, thanks!

If you do purchase a BMW 1Jz, make sure it's newer than mine. I'm beginning to have trouble with interior bits and when I do find them, they are not cheap. Recommend E46 or newer.

why not buy e36 then start from scratch?:confused:

There's some rumors going around saying that toyota engine bmw swaps are no longer allowed or may end up with untransferrable car grants. And this whole conversion process is not cheap!

why not buy e36 then start from scratch?:confused:

There's some rumors going around saying that toyota engine bmw swaps are no longer allowed or may end up with untransferrable car grants. And this whole conversion process is not cheap!
Like what Izso said. There's a whole lot of pain (time, effort & money) to go through. Much easier to get something that's ready. Furthermore, you get to test drive before purchasing. Cant do that with a half-cut

Yaloh, like another friend debate whether to buy old mitsu and then transplant or buy one already done up.....:driver:

The car. The headache.

attachment.php

The transformation begins. But little did I know about the little surprises that's about to haunt me. But I had to change the tail lights - I hate smoked/tinted lights. Tail lights or whatever. Clear and original colour is the best.

attachment.php

Removed the carpet only to discover it was soaking wet. Damn it.. there was water seeping into the foot wells.

attachment.php

A relay with a exposed live was found.. WTF.. a major fire hazard. This was hidden under the floor carpet.

Live wire + carpet + water = seriously lucky I didn't burn the car down.

attachment.php

More exposed wires and shit. *Facepalm*

attachment.php

• IMG-6911.jpg
    IMG-6911.jpg
    123.2 KB · Views: 325
  • IMG-6912.jpg
    IMG-6912.jpg
    68.9 KB · Views: 335
  • IMG-6913.jpg
    IMG-6913.jpg
    71.4 KB · Views: 334
  • 001.jpg
    001.jpg
    340.4 KB · Views: 281
  • 002.jpg
    002.jpg
    261.9 KB · Views: 286
I hate smoked/tinted lights.

More exposed wires
Didnt this car used to be another color? Ha Ha, I was wondering if you will be doing anything about those smoked lights. I guess all converted cars need to be checked for these sort of wiring.

Removed the carpet only to discover it was soaking wet. Damn it.. there was water seeping into the foot wells.
Water came in from the outside or the aircond is leaking? I thought those tail lights are tinted and could be peeled off.

The fact that you're stripping the car's carpet and pulling off the upholstery. I dunno, maybe it would have made more sense to buy a chassis and swap a 1JZ in. As in, do it from scratch.

The fact that you're stripping the car's carpet and pulling off the upholstery..
Even if it's not water soaked, he will still pull the carpets to check the wiring. Not a hard job. Just getting intimate with his new found love

Didnt this car used to be another color? Ha Ha, I was wondering if you will be doing anything about those smoked lights. I guess all converted cars need to be checked for these sort of wiring.

Original color must be white, you can clearly see it already.

Old car, what to do, already expected to have many issues, especially for European cars and highly modded some more.
Rims & tires also are sticking out like that, doesn't look clean.

Water came in from the outside or the aircond is leaking? I thought those tail lights are tinted and could be peeled off.

It definitely wasn't aircon. And I didn't peel off the tint, I swapped out the tail lights.

The fact that you're stripping the car's carpet and pulling off the upholstery. I dunno, maybe it would have made more sense to buy a chassis and swap a 1JZ in. As in, do it from scratch.

Nah. Costing will cost more than the car + another 40k.

Even if it's not water soaked, he will still pull the carpets to check the wiring. Not a hard job. Just getting intimate with his new found love

And you're right. New found love and I'm just getting intimate with it. I need to know everything about the car.

Original color must be white, you can clearly see it already.

Original is silver.

love that e36 looks and cant see the IC up front..nice :burnout::driver:

looks like you're gonna spend some quality time with you beemer :love:

anyway, your plate number is visible ...

It definitely wasn't aircon. And I didn't peel off the tint, I swapped out the tail lights.

Nah. Costing will cost more than the car + another 40k.

And you're right. New found love and I'm just getting intimate with it. I need to know everything about the car.

Original is silver.

Btw should change rims also bro, not nice sticking out like that.