oil cooler for evo 3 engine

Most people fit ATF cooler since more need for it. Oil cooler probably need to check out performance shops

Sifu vr2turbo....Time for me to look around for it then:hmmmm::hmmmm:. Dont know got any that can fit in whatever space i have left at the bumper area.....Hmmmmm

Learn something new....Didnt know that manual no need Transmission Cooler......Shall go research why is it like that......:proud::proud:

Manual gear box the oil lube the gears and bearings. The clutch is separate and runs dry. ATF on the other hand have to circulate, into torque converter, all the clutch plates are submerge in the atf, a lot of valves, solenoid etc. inside.....Totally different.....:rolleyes:

Ahhhhhhh. I see. I get it. Manual box use splashing lubrication/hydrodynamic effects/centrifugal effects. Pretty cool how it works. Looks like a belt, but is actually the oil......

Gaining a lot of knowledge......:top:

Like i said lor, got ppl & sifus around like you that will share and teach and advise, then all is good lor....:top::top::top:

So back to topic....For a automatic 6-speed tiptronic and the car got mod (but lightly mod la), and dont always tekan and dont track....Need ATFC and EOC?? Which should be given priority to install and why??

Like i said lor, got ppl & sifus around like you that will share and teach and advise, then all is good lor....:top::top::top:

So back to topic....For a automatic 6-speed tiptronic and the car got mod (but lightly mod la), and dont always tekan and dont track....Need ATFC and EOC?? Which should be given priority to install and why??

You don't need an EOC. Think about it. Why would you normally need a EOC? Normal road driving no matter how aggressive will never heat engine oil to extreme extents like on track. Personally in my old Wira I've only ever seen 101 deg Celsius on normal driving on a hot day but on track I've seen it touch 140 and even 160 deg Celsius. Besides, optimum viscosity is achieved at 100 deg Celsius (actually lower depending on additives) so you want your engine to reach that temperature anyway. If you have a EOC, it'll just make it that much harder to warm up and non optimum viscosity means more wear and tear on your internals. It's minimum but during cold start would be very obvious.

ATFC depends on your cars original setup. The Myvi, Wira, Sylphy, Perdana all use this pathetic thin tube that's a part of the radiator as the ATFC. It's pretty much useless. Some cars like the Preve and the new Sylphy, new Teana come with a 3-4 row cooler which is usually good enough to keep the ATF from overheating. Some have 2 thick rows of piping that's a part of the radiator which also works to some extent.

So it depends on your car. You probably don't need as a general rule but it'll help if you did have it if stock is insufficient. I've overheated my gearboxes one time or another so I "need" a ATFC. Stupidcar on the other hand has never complained about an overheated GB so he probably doesn't need one. etc.

You don't need an EOC. Think about it. Why would you normally need a EOC? Normal road driving no matter how aggressive will never heat engine oil to extreme extents like on track. Personally in my old Wira I've only ever seen 101 deg Celsius on normal driving on a hot day but on track I've seen it touch 140 and even 160 deg Celsius. Besides, optimum viscosity is achieved at 100 deg Celsius (actually lower depending on additives) so you want your engine to reach that temperature anyway. If you have a EOC, it'll just make it that much harder to warm up and non optimum viscosity means more wear and tear on your internals. It's minimum but during cold start would be very obvious.

ATFC depends on your cars original setup. The Myvi, Wira, Sylphy, Perdana all use this pathetic thin tube that's a part of the radiator as the ATFC. It's pretty much useless. Some cars like the Preve and the new Sylphy, new Teana come with a 3-4 row cooler which is usually good enough to keep the ATF from overheating. Some have 2 thick rows of piping that's a part of the radiator which also works to some extent.

So it depends on your car. You probably don't need as a general rule but it'll help if you did have it if stock is insufficient. I've overheated my gearboxes one time or another so I "need" a ATFC. Stupidcar on the other hand has never complained about an overheated GB so he probably doesn't need one. etc.

Ahhhh....I see....Then i know what is need to get first....ATFC it is....My current one is the one that joins to the radiator like you mentioned....Thanks alot Izso.....

Bro. marv3 car got turbine mah! If he does run the heat could be very high.....:driver: But for auto car priority is ATF cooler....:rolleyes:

Yups. My ride has a small k03 turbine. It gets REALLY hot at times. So EOC kena kah?

i am also drive perdana with evo engine. u can felt the warm from engine..then i jack (putting nut) the hood to release the warm..hehehe
maybe out of topic but the issue is engine temp..hehe

i am also drive perdana with evo engine. u can felt the warm from engine..then i jack (putting nut) the hood to release the warm..hehehe
maybe out of topic but the issue is engine temp..hehe

You cool the engine, now on how to cool the engine oil......hhahahahhahahah:rofl:

---------- Post added at 08:35 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:34 AM ----------

Yups. My ride has a small k03 turbine. It gets REALLY hot at times. So EOC kena kah?

Mine stock already have the cooler, but mine is TD-05 snail....:smokin:

:sleep:

Stock turbine is so small cooler what la.

That's the same turbo as the Preve one. And unless you have a oil temp meter, how do you define what is "really hot" and what isn't?

---------- Post added at 09:22 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:20 AM ----------

Preve doesn't come with a oil cooler. It comes with a ATF cooler.

After hearing all your comments, i think ATFC is the first step......Time to look for some brands....Any good recomendations?

Whatever you can afford.

I believe everything car manufacturer put on have their functions.. if your car dont have it does not mean you dont need it..

from my experience... reasons might be ..

1.) the car manufacturer tested to run on stock car without no modification (and some with normal driving condition) and they discover the car can last without an cooler, so they did not put it on cause they will not expecting you people do serious modification and run it very hard which will increase the loads of the cars...

2.) save cost or got other method which cost effective enough to do the job.. example, according to proton CFE technical data, cfe block and head have been re-engineered to have different water passage to increase the cooling efficiency, and cfe have extra cooling during off and go situation where by water temp increase when engine shut off, cfe will have an electrical controlled water circulation system (kinda like turbo timer),when key is off, water still continue to cycle by the electric pump when engine is shut off to prevent water to heat up when engine is off for a while then you go back to drive it a moment later...

now personal experience & advice

1.) it is depending on your driving style and modification done... firstly must know what your engine is designed for.. my experience on previous honda b series, when NA , water and oil temp steady never over 95 for water and 100 for oil temp in heavy jam and high rev.... when turbocharged, the devil come.. water can come up to 102 in heavy jam and oil temp 115 (without oil cooler, thick aluminium radiator,low temp thermostat and low temp fan switch which kick in at 88 degree)... then installed oil cooler with thermostat adapter, oil temp 110 max on heavy jam, water temp stay below 98, if cruising will stay below 95 and oil temp below 100.. when in high speed where by oil pump and water pump work faster, wind stronger, oil temp stay between 90-95 and water temp will drop below 90 ..with this i believe you can judge how much differences of heat produced between NA and forced induction and how oil cooler can help....

2.) experience from my mechanic who do imprezza and evo a lot.. the different between imprezza and evo is cooling.. all evos come with oil cooler not to mention as well as VR4 .. in daily driving condition and hard driving condition, years after imprezza will suffer higher tendacy of bearing failure compare to evo since lack of oil cooler to cool down oil

3.) my personal experience, oil temp at 80 and 90 the difference that noticeable is blow by generation.. with same viscosity and same brand of oil in evo1-3 engine, 80 degree will have no noticeable blow by, 90, u can see minor oil fumes from oil catch tank.. i personally dont know why but seems like oil start to heat and vapourised at 90 degree huh? and we know increase in blow by also increase in crank case pressure which is no good...

4.) i have seen dragster or those want to have cooling of their engine oil without installing oil cooler in their e1-3 engine using gsr 1.8T water cooler .. there is a thick sandwich adapter which run water to cool oil, you can try to source it out and use it.... even b16b and b18c type R have it and i believe might be working on your car too with minor mods, try it out..

dunno answer the questions or not but cheers:nurse::biggrin: