4g15 mod

Those aren't original Jun Racing parts. Jun Racing doesn't make rotors for 4G1x cars.

Suggest you start with suspension and brake mods. Go shopping for GSR brakes (front and back) and make sure it comes with hand brake cables (or you can opt for brand new ones which is safer). Then get the GSR front 22mm ARB and the UltraRacing 19mm rear ARB bar. Guaranteed to make you drive faster. Whether you ARE faster or not is another story. :biggrin:

Then when budget permits, 15" lightweight rims + good tyres. If you're already on 15" rims, then just good tyres will do. Like Federal RSR 205/55/15 :biggrin:

After that suspension.

Then after you're happy with the suspension, go crazy with the engine. Finally do the exhaust.

That's what I thought after yesterday night. 1 hour of research and I can't find anything but that website.

So what you're saying is start with handling first eh? I'm assuming ARB means anti-roll bar. Which makes me wonder, why not Ultraracing for both front and rear?

Tyres will definitely come in due time. 008's look interesting. :driver:

Those aren't original Jun Racing parts. Jun Racing doesn't make rotors for 4G1x cars.

Suggest you start with suspension and brake mods. Go shopping for GSR brakes (front and back) and make sure it comes with hand brake cables (or you can opt for brand new ones which is safer). Then get the GSR front 22mm ARB and the UltraRacing 19mm rear ARB bar. Guaranteed to make you drive faster. Whether you ARE faster or not is another story. :biggrin:

Then when budget permits, 15" lightweight rims + good tyres. If you're already on 15" rims, then just good tyres will do. Like Federal RSR 205/55/15 :biggrin:

After that suspension.

Then after you're happy with the suspension, go crazy with the engine. Finally do the exhaust.

You really kena poisoned by the RS-R dy, but the size is 205/50R15 not 55.........hahhahhaha:biggrin:

That's what I thought after yesterday night. 1 hour of research and I can't find anything but that website.

So what you're saying is start with handling first eh? I'm assuming ARB means anti-roll bar. Which makes me wonder, why not Ultraracing for both front and rear?

Tyres will definitely come in due time. 008's look interesting. :driver:
Yes ARB = anti roll bar.

GSR because it's cheaper and equally thick compared to the UR one. But that's for the front. The rear ARB UR is the only one that has 19mm (there are other brands la, I'm talking about OEM parts).

I think I'll do handling first because I do take corners aggressively. I skidded on the turning from LDP to Penchala Link recently and thank goodness nothing happened to anything or anyone. :slug:
I also assume you're talking about Wira GSR brakes? Why not aftermarket though?

*edit edit*
How's the prices for the RSR? I'm personally considering the 002's.

I think I'll do handling first because I do take corners aggressively. I skidded on the turning from LDP to Penchala Link recently and thank goodness nothing happened to anything or anyone. :slug:
I also assume you're talking about Wira GSR brakes? Why not aftermarket though?

*edit edit*
How's the prices for the RSR? I'm personally considering the 002's.

Wira is Wira, GSR is GSR. GSR is Mitsubishi but they are plug and play for Wira. Aftermarket like those big brake kits and all - none make for Wira. Besides, GSR still clear with 15" rims. Big brake kits won't.

RSR prices 205/50/15 last time I boug 370 a piece I think.. or was it 470.. Need VR2turbo to help verify.

And RE002s are not on the same league as Federal RSR.

Wira is Wira, GSR is GSR. GSR is Mitsubishi but they are plug and play for Wira. Aftermarket like those big brake kits and all - none make for Wira. Besides, GSR still clear with 15" rims. Big brake kits won't.

RSR prices 205/50/15 last time I boug 370 a piece I think.. or was it 470.. Need VR2turbo to help verify.

I think is RM370 or around there. AD-08 was RM425 and RS-R was cheaper. RM470 can buy your 17" GT Asy 2 already....:biggrin:

Yup, RE-002 is UHP, RS-R is in extreme category. But then depends what he wants out of them.
Outright dry grip then RS-R. Road use with more comfort, probably better aquaplaning resistance then is RE-002

Oops. I thought the Wira 1.8 is called the GSR. About the brakes, I'm surprised there aren't aftermarket ones that cater for Wira, even if it's locally made, considering it's so common. Will visit chop shops for them 1.8 brakes then.

An additional question, is a TT necessary to prolong the lifespan of the engine?

Rm370 eh? I got quoted 340 each for RE002. Does the RS-R grip better in rain? Also, is it noisier than the 002?

Oops. I thought the Wira 1.8 is called the GSR. About the brakes, I'm surprised there aren't aftermarket ones that cater for Wira, even if it's locally made, considering it's so common. Will visit chop shops for them 1.8 brakes then.
Now about the RSR's vs. 002's. So you're saying RS-R's are on a higher league compared to the 002's?
An additional question, is a TT necessary to prolong the lifespan of the engine?

There are aftermarket brakes for the Wira, but aren't you asking about bigger brakes?
Aftermarket meaning same size disc rotor they do have, Better performance brakes pads also have.
But bigger brake like bigger disc rotor then is BBK already...:driver:

---------- Post added at 09:40 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:37 PM ----------

Rm370 eh? I got quoted 340 each for RE002. Does the RS-R grip better in rain? Also, is it noisier than the 002?

Is different category as mentioned above in my other post.
RS-R wet grip is good, but not heavy rain as pattern is like semi slick so aquaplaning resistance is not that good. Yes, should be more noisy....:smokin:

There are aftermarket brakes for the Wira, but aren't you asking about bigger brakes?
Aftermarket meaning same size disc rotor they do have, Better performance brakes pads also have.
But bigger brake like bigger disc rotor then is BBK already...:driver:

---------- Post added at 09:40 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:37 PM ----------

Is different category as mentioned above in my other post.
RS-R wet grip is good, but not heavy rain as pattern is like semi slick so aquaplaning resistance is not that good. Yes, should be more noisy....:smokin:

My bad. I was thinking of stuff like slotted rotors and the like instead of the stock solid ones.

As for the tyres... Now I'm unsure of what to get because I'm getting it for my daily drive. :rolleyes:

Ok before you get even more confused, here are the direct plug and play options you have for your Wira 1.5 :

1. Wira 1.6/1.8 brakes - slightly larger than the 1.5. But not by much. Don't bother.
2. GSR brakes - essentially one of the earliest models of the Mitsubishi Evos. Bigger piston and slightly larger calipers. Front and back are plug and play for Wira.
3. Evo 4-pot - needs some custom job to build a bracket to hold the caliper. Nice but expensive.
4. Aftermarket big brake kits - Almost all BBK need custom brackets to fit. You might be lucky to find one that's pnp but I doubt it. Wira is too outdated already, no one will make BBK for Wira since it's makes no financial sense to cater for a market that's too outdated.

My advice was to get GSR. GSR is not equal to 1.8 brakes.

Personally - for daily use and if you can find a better price, the RE002 is more than sufficient. In fact you probably can do well with just Achilles ATR Sport. But if you're looking for comfort more than performance the Hankook V12 Ventus is good enough. RE002 is a somewhat a LV amongst tyre brands. And personally if it's gonna cost me RM340 for RE002, I'd rather top it up and go for the RSR since grip in the dry is superbbbbbbbb. Wet grip is ok as long as you don't push it. I don't drive fast in the rain regardless of the tyre anyway. But RSR is noisy. Very noisy. Considering the contact patch is wider than other 15" tyres, it's not surprisingly noisy. 205/50/15 versus the usual 195/50/15 or 185/50/15

Ultimately it's your choice la. I could live with the noise, if you can't then go for something else.

My bad. I was thinking of stuff like slotted rotors and the like instead of the stock solid ones.

As for the tyres... Now I'm unsure of what to get because I'm getting it for my daily drive. :rolleyes:

I thought the 1.5 already have ventilated disc, only the 1.3 is solid. Yes, have slotted/ cross drilled disc, but to me not much difference unless you want to track the car. Better off changing to better brake pads. Daily use can try Trestor Blue Advantage, but be warned that they dust like mad for my car. But bro. stupidcar mentioned his does not dust that much....hahhahaha:biggrin:

What tyre size you using, before I suggest some models....:smokin:

---------- Post added at 07:55 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:45 AM ----------

My advice was to get GSR. GSR is not equal to 1.8 brakes.

Personally - for daily use and if you can find a better price, the RE002 is more than sufficient. In fact you probably can do well with just Achilles ATR Sport. But if you're looking for comfort more than performance the Hankook V12 Ventus is good enough. RE002 is a somewhat a LV amongst tyre brands. And personally if it's gonna cost me RM340 for RE002, I'd rather top it up and go for the RSR since grip in the dry is superbbbbbbbb. Wet grip is ok as long as you don't push it. I don't drive fast in the rain regardless of the tyre anyway. But RSR is noisy. Very noisy. Considering the contact patch is wider than other 15" tyres, it's not surprisingly noisy. 205/50/15 versus the usual 195/50/15 or 185/50/15

Ultimately it's your choice la. I could live with the noise, if you can't then go for something else.

Get the GSR brakes as recommended by bro. Izso will improve the brakes much more.

185/50R15? Usual is 195/50R15, 195/55R15 and 185/55R15. Actually 185/55R15 also less, but have not come across 185/50R15....:smokin:

@Izso
I'm honestly just a bit worried about RS-R's wet grip considering I may have to do some wet pushing especially when I'm rushing for appointments and stuff. I'd need to check my tyre dimensions too. That being said, can 205/50/15 fit on 198/50/15 rims?
I'd look into the GSR brakes then. Thanks for the clarification.

@vr2
All I saw on my rotor is just one solid block, no vents whatsoever. Perhaps it is time to change rotors?
Maybe I'll just get a GSR set, like sifu Izso recommended.
I don't complain much about brake dust. My front wheel is already covered in it. Will get back on tyre size!

@Izso
I'm honestly just a bit worried about RS-R's wet grip considering I may have to do some wet pushing especially when I'm rushing for appointments and stuff. I'd need to check my tyre dimensions too. That being said, can 205/50/15 fit on 198/50/15 rims?
I'd look into the GSR brakes then. Thanks for the clarification.

@vr2
All I saw on my rotor is just one solid block, no vents whatsoever. Perhaps it is time to change rotors?
Maybe I'll just get a GSR set, like sifu Izso recommended.
I don't complain much about brake dust. My front wheel is already covered in it. Will get back on tyre size!

The vent is in the center, meaning in between. Slotted and cross drilled can see from the side.

Eh. My bad. Then yes it is vented.

*edit edit*
I have confirmed that I'm running on 195/55/15's! Both front and rear. :biggrin:

ha! ha! I knew that you will miss the center vents....:biggrin:

195/55R15 for daily drive can go for Michelin PS3, around RM230 to 260 depends where you source them. Hankook V12 Evo, or Evo 2 now is another choice....:driver:

ha! ha! I knew that you will miss the center vents....:biggrin:

195/55R15 for daily drive can go for Michelin PS3, around RM230 to 260 depends where you source them. Hankook V12 Evo, or Evo 2 now is another choice....:driver:

The shop I went to recommended me PS3 too, though he said PS3 doesn't have the kind of grip as RE002. And then... There's the RSR. :confused:

You worried about water grip - Eagle F1 Goodyear. The ultimate water tyre but dry it's so-so only. RE002 in another thread someone had feedback saying it's a stiff tyre. So it'll be noisy and bumpy. But they said water grip is good. Then again no matter how good a tyre is, water will always defeat it, just a matter of how deep the water is.

Pity Drexchan's Wira got stolen. He had a pretty interesting intake setup with his open pod being in his bumper and super long runners. Awesome pickup throughout the rev ranges.

Start by deciding on a budget. Then can correspond easily.

Assuming you have an unlimited budget and want to retain the 3-speed auto like what I did, this is what you can do :

1. PNP the head. Get a spare head to do this and fully skim max until 1.5mm left (to allow for one more skim). Get the intake ports grooved and get the Singh groove done too. Google these two up.

2. Forged 77mm CP Pistons and conrods. If you can't afford this then CPS 77mm pistons taken from the Saga 1.6. Cheap pistons. Pair it with the 4G18 Waja crankshaft. Fitting these pistons will require you to overbore the block cylinders to fit so take this opportunity to fit in strong sleeves.

3. Get oversized valves, grind fit them then get the Power Lynz done. (Look it up in Google)

4. Oversize the injectors to 180cc and install a good fuel pressure regulator.

5. Change to the Proton CFE radiator. It's thicker and bigger than stock and it's pnp for Wira autos. Consider changing to a high speed fan too.

6. Change to a low temp thermostat and install a water temp and oil temp meter.

7. Balance all engine components like the crankshaft + lightened crank pulley + torque convertor (as one piece) and lighten everything.

8. Install a mild billet cam shaft + adjustable cam pulley. Don't go for regrind and forget about overly aggressive high cam shafts.

9. I have PTFE sheets which you can cut and use as a gasket for your intake manifold to the cylinder head - keeps the manifold cool therefore the air inside cool too.

10. Swap out your entire exhaust. 4-2-1 headers, flexible joint, resonator or high flow catcon then a proper s-flow rear muffler all piping 2". Wrap your header with titanium exhaust wrap (easier to work with than fiberglass) or consider ceramic coating it. Mild white steel piping is enough.

11. Swap out front and rear brakes to GSR brakes and add a brake stopper kit for stock servo. I didn't want "stop/go" brakes so I used stock servo which was more than enough for me. GSR calipers will comfortably fit in 15" rims and are bigger than stock brakes. Get good brake pads like Ferodo / EBC / Trestor Blue advantage / etc. Get good steel braided brake hoses.

12. Add 22mm front ARB and 19mm rear ARB. Add room bar, front tower strut (4pt), rear tower strut (2pt), side bars and fender bars.

13. Consider fully adjustable suspension like the BC Racing h/l/s/h with 6k front and 4k rear springs. Or Koni yellow + Eibach prokit.

14. Install a ATF cooler and use good SPIII oil like those from Redline or Motul. Otherwise stick with Mitsubishi Diaqueen SPIII.

15. Upgrade your ignition coil to MSD (if no budget keep it stock) and change the plug cables to something more higher output like MSD cables or the BSI ones I was on and pair it with long lasting spark plugs like the Iridiums.

16. Lastly, lightweight 15" rims plus good tyres is very useful. You'd be surprised how much better FC you'll get just with rims alone. Less effort to move, less effort to stop and no need to brake in corners :biggrin:

Oh ya last upgrade that does nothing to improve your car whatsoever - tint. Sure makes driving the car a lot nicer. Once you've done all that then you'd have everything I ever had in my car. Except for the manual GB. That was the last thing did.

can pm me if u require item # 5 :rofl:

The shop I went to recommended me PS3 too, though he said PS3 doesn't have the kind of grip as RE002. And then... There's the RSR. :confused:

In 2013, in most test by UK tyre review, the PS3 have been in the top 5 most of the time...

---------- Post added at 07:49 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:48 PM ----------

You worried about water grip - Eagle F1 Goodyear. The ultimate water tyre but dry it's so-so only. RE002 in another thread someone had feedback saying it's a stiff tyre. So it'll be noisy and bumpy. But they said water grip is good. Then again no matter how good a tyre is, water will always defeat it, just a matter of how deep the water is.

If referring to F1 Asy2 don't have in 15"....:biggrin: