Exhaust system for auto tranny

Uh.. Yewly - I didn't know your exhaust was so mixed up. The piping size is important as it affects the speed of the exhaust gases going out and how much scavenging you'll get. I suspect you'll do better if everything was standard 1.6" or everything was 2". Either way I think that mid long resonator has to go. 2" inlet from a 1.6" is too much la. You should get everything the same diameter in and out.

Ya, hell for me, I get into a wrong car, I hate the cvtc delay... killing my pick up... It is much better... If I had went into a suprima, fiesta or 208... Too bad my family fully support on japanese brand.

It was not my first car, but first step for me for car modding, and I had already spend a lot of wasted money.
Rm1550 on jian hang for a 2" piping + high flow cat + 2" mid box ( satisfied )
RM2800 on speedwork for hotbits suspension ( satisfied )
rm2200 on speedwork for hotbits full exhaust ( not happy ) they told me it was full SS!:bawling:
Rm900 on spedwork for open pod ( happy with the sound... And better top end I think:hmmmm:) better throttle response but low end loss because of it I think.
Rm400 for works drop in change to knn drop in ( regret of buying knn, it same with works )
Rm1xxx for sound proof ( best part )
Rm8xx for grounding kit ( friend diy for me with low cost and nice quality:proud: ) + vs ( change 4 times )
Rm450 for the firestorm.. ( it was totally rubbish after all. )
Still got a lot of other etc which is haven`t put into account

What I find out after all was this :
open pod was not only for manual, it usable for auto as well, just not good as manual tranny. Correct me if I`m wrong.

Impul suspension had the reason of selling rm2800.... really much comfort compare to after market suspension or spring...

Never trust in exhaust shop... plenty of them are just planning to cut my throat....

Stock engine are really hard to get high gain compare to force induction.

Almost all after market store like xxx racing, bla bla motorsport are simply bull shit as well... they just plug and play... and never tune and tested what they did...

---------- Post added at 01:07 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:03 AM ----------

I will start on balance back the mid section, thx for all the opinion, I will back to a shop in kajang, which he tell me he could look for 1.6 inlet mid box for me... So I could start with balance the piping first... and see what happen then only made decision on doing rear muffler.

i already got 220whp whooping from 120whp with that amount of money.. hahaha

---------- Post added at 07:41 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:37 AM ----------

lesson learned.. just let the stock engine untouched and enjoy the good fc. unless you want to BOT or transplant the engine. :burnout:

---------- Post added at 07:41 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:37 AM ----------

lesson learned.. just let the stock engine untouched and enjoy the good fc. unless you want to BOT or transplant the engine. :burnout:

Yup, I use almost same amount and got 200bhp transplant, plus suspension and brakes upgrade...:driver:

Uh.. Yewly - I didn't know your exhaust was so mixed up. The piping size is important as it affects the speed of the exhaust gases going out and how much scavenging you'll get. I suspect you'll do better if everything was standard 1.6" or everything was 2". Either way I think that mid long resonator has to go. 2" inlet from a 1.6" is too much la. You should get everything the same diameter in and out.

Erm, ya, I dunno the inlet size will effect the system.

---------- Post added at 08:59 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:56 AM ----------

I paid for the lesson, no pain no gain what

---------- Post added at 09:07 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:59 AM ----------

Yup, I use almost same amount and got 200bhp transplant, plus suspension and brakes upgrade...:driver:

Hmm.... Everyone have their sense on spending their money, I actually spend my money main reason to understand it, and to get some upgrade of course.
Soon I will go for the engine tuning part, for piston, acp, lcp, manifold and so on. But remain on na... I`m not really into force induction atm for this car.

This maybe can help you to estimate the piping diameter you'd need.
Exhaust Size Calculator
https://www.facebook.com/notes/1947...ize-and-exhaust-pipe-diameter/563111347061660

Based on the above, with the power of the Almera in more or less stock setup, you only need 1.6'-1.7' pipe all the way. Since you already have a 1.75' at the back and you'd want to have room to accommodate future power improvement of your engine, then like I said before, get replace the 2' mid section with a 1.75' one to make it the same with your rear muffler.

My suggestion since your into modding and you dont mind spending some money. Change your auto tranny to a manual tranny. Than only mod your exhaust to a 1.7 diameter to the least back pressure setup. Straight pipe+ straight flow exhaust. Not sure how much would it cost though if half cut.

Or change to this half cut.. not sure if its plug and play
http://m.mudah.my/list?q=almera+manual&ca=9_3_s&e=0&sa=&cg=1060&female_subcat=&o=0

This maybe can help you to estimate the piping diameter you'd need.
Exhaust Size Calculator
https://www.facebook.com/notes/1947...ize-and-exhaust-pipe-diameter/563111347061660

Based on the above, with the power of the Almera in more or less stock setup, you only need 1.6'-1.7' pipe all the way. Since you already have a 1.75' at the back and you'd want to have room to accommodate future power improvement of your engine, then like I said before, get replace the 2' mid section with a 1.75' one to make it the same with your rear muffler.

Hmm, I went for exhaust in kajang today, he tell me my mid box should inlet 1.6", it just look big at outside, and they suggest to change rear muffler to s-flow to get more back pressure, since I got no cat. I will double check soon for the inlet size =\

Actually, your Almera is light mod...for me I can have a better exhaust less than 1K if you know what you need to do..FOr me I only swap the headers, replace the stock mid box and swap out the stock S flow with a high flow S flow done....no need to add so many of those extra what what bullet or this and that....

Hmm.... Everyone have their sense on spending their money, I actually spend my money main reason to understand it, and to get some upgrade of course.
Soon I will go for the engine tuning part, for piston, acp, lcp, manifold and so on. But remain on na... I`m not really into force induction atm for this car.

Yup, I started out on NA too, but not so extensive mod like you. Spend a little here and there then found the improvement is a little here and there too. So decide to go forced induction and never looked back....:driver:

ermmm.. but this is the use of internet nowadays. google and research first to avoid being cheat or make mistakes. i took a whole week just to gather information about windows tinting film before i bought it a nearly months before i go through engine mods. i try to understand every pro and cons.

for n/a just for geli2 setup, maybe you can visit reputable exhaust shop such as Jaafar, Everco, Ah heng, Panjang or Xcess Work for full custom exhaust system. then add drop in / open pod filter. rm2-3k already ngam. add another rm1.5-2k for piggyback management. :burnout:

Yup, I started out on NA too, but not so extensive mod like you. Spend a little here and there then found the improvement is a little here and there too. So decide to go forced induction and never looked back....:driver:

maybe spending 2k sounds small to u, but i dint mod one by one, i actually chang the whole exhaust set, and it did not perfect, now i come to seek for guide to get better, so sory my small little na car was not enough to ask opinion for u.

---------- Post added at 03:43 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:39 PM ----------

Actually, your Almera is light mod...for me I can have a better exhaust less than 1K if you know what you need to do..FOr me I only swap the headers, replace the stock mid box and swap out the stock S flow with a high flow S flow done....no need to add so many of those extra what what bullet or this and that....

I know what u mean, but maybe u mistake, i did not put extra bullet or whatever, i just tried to replace mine to a correct inlet, which i seeking for guidance here how the inlet effect me and which size i should go to.

Hi bro, i'm driving a 1.5 auto swift here.. so far what i did to my ride is;

Simota carbon charger with custom air inlet
Rear muffler change to S-flow twin tail pipe
Plug cables change to NGK
Plugs change to Torque Master plugs (damn good stuffs)
Throttle controller (you must have wondering i'm drive by cable, can meh?)
Some grounding wires + power charger

I can say sometimes not say open pod no use is just you need to do something to match to your ride, unless the open pod is so called custom tuned to your engine with all the specs written.. But again, on dyno mostly the tuner will just WOT.. but in your case is different.. we need real life driving data (which that is not possible, unless there are tuning house do it for you) So it's also depends on what you want to gain.. you want low end? mid range? top end? Choose one.. then only add the rest bit by bit.. Lastly i think after some mods.. you need engine management(piggyback should be enough for mild tune)

Bro why not you use the rear muffler from impul? I see they only change the rear muffler.. there must be a reason why they not changing the whole system right?
http://paultan.org/2012/10/15/nissan-almera-tuned-by-impul-open-for-booking-etcm-also-announces-a-long-list-of-optional-kit/impul-almera-brochure-2-2/

Bro actually you can go to thailand forum, they started to play almera there and have much more accessories.. see their bodykit... (use google translator) :burnout:

http://www.thaialmeraclub.com/index.php?topic=17311.0

Hi bro, i'm driving a 1.5 auto swift here.. so far what i did to my ride is;

Simota carbon charger with custom air inlet
Rear muffler change to S-flow twin tail pipe
Plug cables change to NGK
Plugs change to Torque Master plugs (damn good stuffs)
Throttle controller (you must have wondering i'm drive by cable, can meh?)
Some grounding wires + power charger

I can say sometimes not say open pod no use is just you need to do something to match to your ride, unless the open pod is so called custom tuned to your engine with all the specs written.. But again, on dyno mostly the tuner will just WOT.. but in your case is different.. we need real life driving data (which that is not possible, unless there are tuning house do it for you) So it's also depends on what you want to gain.. you want low end? mid range? top end? Choose one.. then only add the rest bit by bit.. Lastly i think after some mods.. you need engine management(piggyback should be enough for mild tune)

Bro why not you use the rear muffler from impul? I see they only change the rear muffler.. there must be a reason why they not changing the whole system right?
Nissan Almera Tuned by Impul open for booking, ETCM also announces a long list of optional kit Image 136156

Bro actually you can go to thailand forum, they started to play almera there and have much more accessories.. see their bodykit... (use google translator) :burnout:

รวมขà¸à¸‡à¹à¸•่งเฉพาะ นิสสันà¸à¸±à¸¥à¹€à¸¡à¸£à¹ˆà¸² (ALMERA)ราคาถูà¸à¸—ี่สุด! à¸à¸§à¹ˆà¸² 60 รายà¸à¸²à¸£

Hmm.. thailand was using 1.2cc, its different from us, only exterior can taken from them, actually i did tried to plug back the oem air box, gain som low torque and fc but loss mid range and top end alot
I no idea with the impul muffler, but I personally doest feel like paying a rm1800 for a rear muffler
I using brisk silver pkug, and potent booster tc.
I had booking on tuning house for engine tuning include the haltech ecu, but that is 3 months later, I just want to have better for now

Newbie here...how do you guys know the best setup for each car?...does the GearBox types and car Cc plays a big part?

Any good shop can recommend? heheh

ermmm.. but this is the use of internet nowadays. google and research first to avoid being cheat or make mistakes. i took a whole week just to gather information about windows tinting film before i bought it a nearly months before i go through engine mods. i try to understand every pro and cons.

for n/a just for geli2 setup, maybe you can visit reputable exhaust shop such as Jaafar, Everco, Ah heng, Panjang or Xcess Work for full custom exhaust system. then add drop in / open pod filter. rm2-3k already ngam. add another rm1.5-2k for piggyback management. :burnout:

Yup, like bro. peeche mentioned google and research. Check into forums too, but don't do first then ask is too late.....:banghead:

---------- Post added at 08:28 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:23 AM ----------

maybe spending 2k sounds small to u, but i dint mod one by one, i actually chang the whole exhaust set, and it did not perfect, now i come to seek for guide to get better, so sory my small little na car was not enough to ask opinion for u.

Don't get me wrong. Spending 2k is a lot to me. What I mean is to mod and spend a certain amount I would want so results. I did NA mod many years ago and on forced induction already for 13 years. In fact many new cars are going FI too.....

Just fyi guys, I've met yewly. This young man quite car gila crazy and his Almera does look quite nice even though his GF pulling his ear long long because of the wing and bump suspension. :biggrin:

So he might be a newbie but he's open to learning and suggestions. So let's all poison him nicely with fair and square information.

Yewly, I think you misunderstood uncle vr2turbo's advice. The fella old mah (he is easily your fathers age) and to him the best way to do things is the 'final' way to do it, not slowly add this add that all the way. Terus BOT. But personally - I don't think your gb and engine will survive a BOT.

Sort out your piping first. Get all same diameter then do something about that midbox/resonator inlet size and outlet size. That thing is causing a massive traffic jam for the exhaust gases.

Just fyi guys, I've met yewly. This young man quite car gila crazy and his Almera does look quite nice even though his GF pulling his ear long long because of the wing and bump suspension. :biggrin:

So he might be a newbie but he's open to learning and suggestions. So let's all poison him nicely with fair and square information.

Yewly, I think you misunderstood uncle vr2turbo's advice. The fella old mah (he is easily your fathers age) and to him the best way to do things is the 'final' way to do it, not slowly add this add that all the way. Terus BOT. But personally - I don't think your gb and engine will survive a BOT.

Sort out your piping first. Get all same diameter then do something about that midbox/resonator inlet size and outlet size. That thing is causing a massive traffic jam for the exhaust gases.

BOT also cannot go all out mah! Any mod must be within the engine limits too. Mine was transplant, and even that I kept as standard transplant and not force it some more.
My friend did and blew two engines in the process.....:banghead:

ok now racun! go to exss work or jaafar fast fast.! bring big big money.. haha

Hmm, I went for exhaust in kajang today, he tell me my mid box should inlet 1.6", it just look big at outside, and they suggest to change rear muffler to s-flow to get more back pressure, since I got no cat. I will double check soon for the inlet size =\

You mean your current 2' mid section actually only has a 1.6' inner diameter??:hmmmm: Normally exhaust pipe thickness is about 1.5mm, so if a 2' outer pipe size, it should be almost 1.9' inner size diameter. If only 1.6 then the pipe thickness 5mm which is just too damn thick and surely very heavy!

Agreed, that mid box is one of a kind, bazooka :adore: